You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Old Waverley Hotel

3

43 Princes Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2BY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (148)

90% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Ken Morris

  • September 2016

In the heart of the city.

Ideal hotel for all city centre events and excursions.

Right opposite the train and bus stations so ideal for all connections. Pricing as expected for city centre in August but worth it. No onsite parking but Qpark a 5 minute walk with discounted fees.

  • Karen Baxter

  • August 2016

Great location

The Old Waverley can be easily found on Princess street just a few minutes walk from Waverley train station.

It has a lovely relaxed wee lounge/bar serving high teas. Breakfast buffet available and extras can be ordered. This stay I was with my teenage daughter so we had a small twin room, this was fine for our wee trip but we have stayed here before and experienced much larger rooms and their family rooms too are an excellent size. Rates for hotel are very reasonable for Edinburgh and hotel has everything close by for whatever your stay may be for.

  • L Fraser

  • July 2016

A great hotel

An excellent location (very close to the station) spacious and clean rooms plus accommodating and welcoming staff - would definitely recommend and stay again!

  • Valerie B

  • July 2016

Convenient for Waverley Station, Princes Street and Rabbie's Tours

Traditional building, with traditional presentation and standards.

Room a little dated. Shame about the stairs at the entrance, as I could not see an alternative for the less able - though there was a lift from the first floor to upper floors. Only the bar menu tried, and we were disappointed that they had sold out of their home-made pies by mid evening. No flexibility at all on any of the options, so that we were refused a portion of chips with our revised order. Seemed strange, when the restaurant was in full operation. Breafast really needs to start earler than 8am, except maybe on a Sunday. Lots of guests like us went in at 7.45, and made a start on the juice and cereal stand, at least. This hotel's proximity to station and tours will regularly mean that guests will have an enforced early start.

  • Martin Farr

  • July 2016

Convenient

Noisy, if on the Princes Street-facing rooms, but for my puposes - a brief overnight stay - highly convenient: two minutes' walk from Waverley, good price, good quality room, friendly staff, secure left luggage facilities.

  • P Gordon

  • July 2016

Old Waverley Hotel

Excellent couldn't fault it, lovely staff clean room and a great time there.

  • Stuart F

  • July 2016

Very poor service

We have stayed at this hotel in the past and had a great stay.

On our first night we ordered some drinks from room service and when they arrived the waiter managed to spill two bottles of of tonic water on the carpet. An accident that shouldn't have happened.

On our last night we were due to meet friends at 8pm so booked a table in the restaurant for 6pm. After placing our order with the waitress we endured a long wait for the meal to be delivered to our table. (at 6.45 I asked our waitress how much longer the food would be and was told the steaks take time to cook). Our taxi arrived at 7.35 before we had time to eat out dessert which had been ordered but not delivered to the table. We were the only table in the restaurant so they could not say they were busy. I spoke with the duty manager on my return who more or less shrugged his shoulders. We won't be back.

  • G Richards

  • June 2016

Central Edinburgh Hotel

As one would expect of a large impersonal organisation.

  • J Charlton

  • May 2016

won't stay again

For the price, the accommodation was ok.

Room was warm and clean, bathroom spotless. Excellent view from 5th floor. Decorated pleasantly. Central position, good breakfast. Reception staff a bit off hand. Akward entryway through two very heavy glass doors and up a flight of stairs.

  • T Cunningham

  • March 2016

Quaint lovely old hotel in the heart of the city

We enjoyed our stay, the service was good, the room adequate and the place was just right.

The only down side was its single glazed windows and it was a bit noisy with young folk walking along Princess Street at 2am making a racket and the city comes alive around 7am onwards. The hotel needs double glazing, sound proofing.