No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Stables Lodge

4Visit Wales Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
HOLYHEAD ROAD , BETWS-Y-COED, LL24 0AY
Stables Lodge is 4star graded guest accommodation in the heart of the stunning village of Betws-y-Coed. All 18 modern rooms are located on one floor for easy access, have en-suite bath and shower, hospitality trays, flatscreen TV's with over 50 Freeview channels, double glazing and central heating. Additional amenities include; lift, designated disabled room, bike storage & jetwash and for all you all-weather walkers a warm & toasty Drying room to dry out your drenched clothing! Located next to the famous Royal Oak Hotel and Stables Bar both provide a choice of eating venues, Wi-Fi and regular entertainment nights.

Picture of The Stables Lodge, BETWS-Y-COED at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too hot for us
Room was as you would expect in the line of any Lodge type room, banging doors etc, the only problem we had was the heat in the room, turned the radiator off but the high Tog rated Duvet was too much and resulted in very restless nights. Don't know why hotels don't put 2 layers of Duvet so you can choose ,I have stayed in some that have, with a sheet and Double layer Duvet on top. Spoilt what would have been a lovely break.
The chose of Food in the Hotel was good and Breakfast was OK. Some staff were a bit miserable but most very friendly.
The room had some good touches like the Bed lights with a reading spotlight and the mirror in the bathroom, which was heated in the middle so as to demist, also had a dim light which stayed on and meant you didn't have to put the main on during the night, good ideas.

Reviewed by
Robin S

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beds need to be bigger
Room clean and tidy, only wish the beds were bigger, and the mattresses were not so hard.

Reviewed by
Kim H

From British Virgin Islands
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value...Great place...
The room was just what we we expecting.Clean,plenty of space,bathroom was big as well.Everything was modern looking and the paint work and decor were of a good standard.We didn't eat there for dinner or breakfast as we knew two places that provided good quality food in the village.We intend to stay again when we are up there next.Well done to the Stables.Excellent.

Reviewed by
Ian Gordon

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Snowdonretreat
Excellent accommodation and breakfast.Ideal base for Snowdon

Reviewed by
Andrew G

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Stayed here a few years ago and think it has definitely improved. Centrally located in betws y coed, it is an ideal base for touring north Wales. The accommodation is on a room only basis but you can order breakfast at the Royal Oak hotel next door. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

Reviewed by
K Ryan

From Ammanford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place!
Dont look any further if you want a fab location, clean rooms and good customer service.
We had breakfast at the Royal Oak and I had the nicest scrambled eggs ever!! We also had an evening meal in the Grill Room and that was also top notch. I would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
denise f

From Skelmersdale, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked hotel for one night as a surprise for my partners Birthday, as it had been recommended by a friend. Great location in the centre of the town. Easy free parking, which is a bonus, as it was extremely busy in high season. Staff very helpful and friendly. Check in was easy. Our room was very clean, and although it was not huge, it had everything we needed., only downside was we both found the mattress really hard. We ate our evening meal in the stables bar. It was extremely busy, but we were served promptly, the food was very good, and huge portions, great value for money. We had breakfast in the Grill, again very friendly staff, and a delicious cooked breakfast. All in all a nice place to stay and use as a base to explore this beautiful area of Wales. We felt the accomadation and food, whilst not fancy, offered great value for money, and are happy to recommend it.

Reviewed by
Kate C

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't expect to have an undisturbed morning
An ok place but I have stayed on more than one occasion and every time the cleaners will be knocking on the door at about 8.30 and walking in before you have chance to speak. Also there was somebody's dirty socks left on bedroom floor. Location is perfect and bar downstairs is very good.

Reviewed by
ARRON B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good accomadation,spotlessly clean and value for money,situated right in the heart of the village.

Reviewed by
Michael M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really lovely hotel very central to the village.. rooms were good and the food was amazing excellent value for money..would definitely stay there again .

Reviewed by
Carol M

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next