No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
HOLYHEAD ROAD , BETWS-Y-COED, LL24 0AY
The Royal Oak Hotel is a three star historic former coaching inn surrounded by woodland, boasting a prime location at the Gateway to Snowdonia village of Betws-y-Coed. The rooms have been designed to incorporate the heritage of the hotel alongside contemporary luxury. Some have Jacuzzi bathrooms and ornate four-poster or sleigh beds. All rooms have Wi-Fi access and flatscreen TVs with over 50 Freeview channels. The award winning Llugwy River Restaurant has been recently redesigned and the inspiration for the menu comes from the seasonality of the local produce Wales has to offer. Alternative dining is found in the relaxed atmosphere of the Grill Bar with hearty breakfasts, daily specials and fabulous Welsh Cream Teas!

Picture of The Royal Oak Hotel, BETWS-Y-COED at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We really enjoyed our visit to The Royal Oak Hotel although we were only booked in for one night on a Friday, as we were travelling through Wales, which we love! The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the food was very good. The only criticism we had was that our bedroom was directly above The Stables Bar and there was a duo playing guitars, and singing very loudly and not sounding very much in tune. However, they did not carry on much later than 10.30 pm and it would not put us off visiting The Royal Oak again. We would just ensure that we were well away from The Stables Bar!!

Reviewed by
M Bailey

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite expensive but great location and staff very efficient.
Mostly fine, although room not serviced brilliantly and very mean with one hot chocolate and shower soaps not replenished. One day we didn't even think the room hade been serviced at all and it had, apparently!
Staff at reception great and very efficient.

Reviewed by
S Durkin

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place lovely friendly staff
Realy nice place good food lovely staff and lovely room .

Reviewed by
Tracy f

From stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor
peeling wallpaper on staircase breakfast day 1 raw sausage order on scrambelled egg only but served with salmon day2 ham & eggs served cold boiled ham & fried eggs

Reviewed by
chris c

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Treat for the wife
Very enjoyable stay. Excellent room, staff could not do enough for us. No unexpected extras on the bill.

Reviewed by
MICHAEL HICKS

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overview
Staff were very friendly and helpful and quickly got into the swing of things. Comfortable and relaxed.

Reviewed by
Nick Holmes

From Ingatestone, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We got an upgrade!
When we arrived at the hotel the receptionist told me we had been upgraded from the standard room to the deluxe room (possibly because we were staying 5 nights). We were thrilled and the room was beautiful. The staff were all very friendly. We did not eat in the main restaurant but ate three times in the grill restaurant and the food was excellent. I would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
A Shepherd

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Receptionists
We will not return as the people at the desk were unfriendly and liked to gossip with each other while dealing with us.
The attitude of the first people you meet when entering a new hotel is of paramount importance.
When paying a (quite large) bill on checking out, a customer needs serious attention and a certain formality.

Reviewed by
s ingall

From Tetbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Honeymoon Return
Thirty four years since we spend our honeymoon and still the most romantic place to stay.

Reviewed by
L Lock

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.