No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
17-19 Horse Fair , Banbury, OX16 0AN
Situated close to Banbury Cross itself, The Whately is set in its own beautiful gardens. The cast of Jane Austen's Pride & Prejudice got into character easily during their stay here while filming the TV series in the surrounding area, taking inspiration from the stunning scenery all around. Hidden staircases, priest holes and the resident friendly ghost of Father Bernard are famously part of the charm of this 17th Century treasure. A good starting point for exploring the Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwick Castle and Oxford.Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whateley Hall
Very pleasant hotel

Reviewed by
Philip W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful building but needs refurbishing
Room was large enough, but it had inadequate lighting, an uncomfortable bed, seedy furnishings, and worst of all, a bad odor. It smelled as though the cleaning staff had used strong cleaning chemicals with the purpose of masking the musty and damp mildew and mold tinged smell of the room. We had to keep the windows wide open to get fresh air circulating in the room. (This was in July, don't know what we would have done during cold months). The carpet needed replacing, the window drapes where old and dirty, and the bathroom tiles had seen better days. I worried during that night that the electrical wiring was so old that there might be a fire.
The public areas of this tudor era hotel appeared to retain much of the original architectural features and charm. However, the decor and furnishings were cheap, worn, and desperately in need of replacement with quality furnishings more appropriate for the period of the building. I would love to see what a talented designer could do with this property. It has so much potential.
I especially loved the paneling in the bar - very attractive room.
It seemed that this hotel is the spot where locals come to through parties. Both weekday nights that we were there, a loud party was being held in a public room very near our hotel room. These parties went on pretty late into the evening.
Garden space was large and had potential, but was not well tended.
The staff was very helpful and kind.

Reviewed by
Alice Z

From USA
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Having stayed here in the past, some time ago I must admit, I was very disappointed with the hotel. I don't know if one is penalised for booking via Laterooms when the rooms are allocated. Our room had a view of the wall of the cinema next door. It was a very hot night and with the window open the cinema's air conditioning unit could be heard all night. There was only one bedside lamp which was so dim that you could not read by it. The main room light was similarly dim. There seems to be a little too much energy saving going on, I am glad it was not winter. There was no bottled water, something I would expect at the room price. Sadly for a hotel in a historic building there was only a folder in the reception area informing guests of the history of the hotel and town, there was no area information in the room at all. The restaurant and bar seemed pretty empty and lacking in atmosphere so we went out. On the one evening we thought we would have a drink in the garden a loud party was going on in the function room below our room, with the accompanying 'music' spilling out of the doors and windows. The service at breakfast was poor and the fried eggs on the buffet looked like rubber. Tables were not cleared and therefore not laid when guests arrived for breakfast. This was particularly bad on the Saturday morning when there was obviously a wedding reception on later in the day and more attention was paid to laying tables for that, leaving our waiter to search all over for cutlery. We will not be back.

Reviewed by
Chris C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night business stay

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel in town
The choice of places to stay in Banbury are very slim but for the price you can't really go wrong with this one. The staff are very professional and highly motivated to help you with anything.
Room was very clean and spacious, the décor and furnishings were perhaps a little tired but it added to the character of the building.
All in all a very nice stay.

Reviewed by
Luke T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room at rear of hotel, no views, dirty net curtains, unable to open 1 window so room very hot.

Reviewed by
D Norris

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
A very good quality hotel with a period feel. Very nicely appointed with facilities and an excellent location.

Reviewed by
Melanie M

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely comfortable hotel with excellent service

Reviewed by
Carol H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky hotel in centre of town
Historical frontage with charming original features - not so much in the modern extension.
Large car park at back of hotel (useful as parking charges apply every day in central part of town) and very attractice large garden, Buffet breakfast was £10 a head but very satisfactory. Room was clean and comfortable with reasonable sized bathroom. Staff were very friendly though service could be a bit slow from bar late in evening as had to phone through to notify them when wanted. Bar prices very reasonable but not so much for afternoon sandwiches.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us. I am happy read that you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast and accommodation. I take on board your comments regarding the bar service and will look to address this. Once again many thanks and I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back to Mercure Whately Hall in the future. Kind Regards, Michael Williams, General Manager

Reviewed by
James M

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night escape
Good little bolthole, escaping the madness of Cities

Reviewed by
Jacqui p

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next