No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
17 - 19 Horse Fair, Banbury Cross, BANBURY, OX16 0AN
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall is a characterful 17th Century 3 star hotel in central Banbury. It retains many original features and has 69 en-suite bedrooms. There are beautifully manicured gardens at the rear of the hotel and we are great venue for meetings, wedding receptions or family events up to 120 guests. You can enjoy sophisticated dining in our gorgeous oak panelled Swifts restaurant or relax in the comfort of Hornton's Bar. The hotel offers free parking and WiFi throughout for guests.
Picture of Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, BANBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic central location
Hotel was great but booked a double room and was put in a twin.

Reviewed by
R Mather

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay
Very nice warm hotel. The suite was very nice indeed.
Would stay again.
Steve

Reviewed by
S Brodie

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

second visit
A much improved service and accommodation this time. Last time we stayed we used supermarket vouchers to pay, coincidence?

Reviewed by
V Martin

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

refreshments
Thought the room could have a tray to store the kettle, mugs and tea bags etc
Re breakfast - although a lovely meal we felt that it should be included in price of the room. Most people want breakfast - a good start to the day

Reviewed by
D Gwyther

From Kilgetty, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room and very helpful staff on Reception. Breakfast hot food had been standing for some
considerable time and not hot. This was 8-30am

Reviewed by
D Cooke

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good stay, would recommend.
Lovely hotel centrally placed in Banbury close to all amenities. Staff were helpful and accommodating, sorting us out with a twin room on request at late notice. The new wing is tastefully decorated and feels upmarket and although the bath/shower seemed to have been forgotten in the upgrade it was perfectly fine and delivered a nice hot shower. My only slight issues are that I asked for a sandwich in the evening and because there was a wedding on it was not really up to the standard implied by the price! Secondly, breakfast might have been nice included in the room price, but mainly because I was a little hungover. I would definitely return.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us. I am very happy to read how helpful the team were and am pleased to see that you liked the decoration in some of our newly refurbished rooms but understand that the bathrooms have not been done yet. I am sorry to hear that the sandwich served was not up to standard and I sincerely apologise for this. We do offer breakfast inclusive rates as well as room only depending on how the booking is made. Altogether though I am very pleased that you would definitely stay with us and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Michael Williams General Manager

Reviewed by
Nik B

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel wasn't good value for money the rooms
Were in desperate need of decoration

Reviewed by
G doyle

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We just wanted an overnight stay. It was very good. Only the room was too warm and there was not a way to cool it.

Reviewed by
Roger Smith

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Haven of Rest.
What a lovely way to end a hot and tiring journey. We found the Mercure Hotel easily in the centre of Banbury, it was easy to park and we entered a refreshingly cool and quiet atmosphere. We ordered sandwiches and a cold drink and we were served quickly in the green and shady garden which could have been in the middle of the countryside. Our room was unpretentious but very comfortable, with everything we needed, including an immaculate bathroom, and we had a good night's sleep. We had a full English breakfast well cooked (enough to keep us going until the evening) although we could have chosen a lighter meal. The staff were helpful, but not intrusive, and we left in a cool car which we had parked in the shade in the hotel car park. It was a wonderful start for our holiday! Thank you, to all the staff who made our visit so enjoyable!

Reviewed by
Alan Brown

From Hampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whateley Hall
Very pleasant hotel

Reviewed by
Philip W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next