No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
17-19 Horse Fair , Banbury, OX16 0AN
Situated close to Banbury Cross itself, The Whately is set in its own beautiful gardens. The cast of Jane Austen's Pride & Prejudice got into character easily during their stay here while filming the TV series in the surrounding area, taking inspiration from the stunning scenery all around. Hidden staircases, priest holes and the resident friendly ghost of Father Bernard are famously part of the charm of this 17th Century treasure. A good starting point for exploring the Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwick Castle and Oxford.Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night business stay

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel in town
The choice of places to stay in Banbury are very slim but for the price you can't really go wrong with this one. The staff are very professional and highly motivated to help you with anything.
Room was very clean and spacious, the décor and furnishings were perhaps a little tired but it added to the character of the building.
All in all a very nice stay.

Reviewed by
Luke T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room at rear of hotel, no views, dirty net curtains, unable to open 1 window so room very hot.

Reviewed by
D Norris

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
A very good quality hotel with a period feel. Very nicely appointed with facilities and an excellent location.

Reviewed by
Melanie M

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely comfortable hotel with excellent service

Reviewed by
Carol H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky hotel in centre of town
Historical frontage with charming original features - not so much in the modern extension.
Large car park at back of hotel (useful as parking charges apply every day in central part of town) and very attractice large garden, Buffet breakfast was £10 a head but very satisfactory. Room was clean and comfortable with reasonable sized bathroom. Staff were very friendly though service could be a bit slow from bar late in evening as had to phone through to notify them when wanted. Bar prices very reasonable but not so much for afternoon sandwiches.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us. I am happy read that you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast and accommodation. I take on board your comments regarding the bar service and will look to address this. Once again many thanks and I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back to Mercure Whately Hall in the future. Kind Regards, Michael Williams, General Manager

Reviewed by
James M

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night escape
Good little bolthole, escaping the madness of Cities

Reviewed by
Jacqui p

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ride a cock horse
Prefect accommodation for me.Friendly staff.both young girls on reception articulate and polite.excellent breakfast .new layout big improvement in dining hall.pleasant bar area and a comfortable room in the old wing.

Reviewed by
Trevor Jones

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel. little things to make it epic.
Overall the hotel was great. The staff, all of them brilliant. The room service let down the overall experience. However we would go back.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for you review of our hotel. I am pleased to read you thought the hotel was great and in particular your kind comments about the team. I am, however, disappointed to read that your room service experience let us down, I am really sorry to read that. It is good to know that despite that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to Mercure Whately Hall in the future. Once again many thanks, Kind Regards, Michael Williams, General Manager

Reviewed by
Heath Clarke

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were disappointed to hear that the dining room was hosting a function that evening so we looked for an alternative. Later another receptionist suggested we could eat in the foyer area and gave us a menu. We decided to eat elsewhere where it was conventional. We asked the price of breakfast and on being told it was £20 we eat elsewhere for that meal too.

Reviewed by
Judith T

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next