No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
17-19 Horse Fair , Banbury, OX16 0AN
Situated close to Banbury Cross itself, The Whately is set in its own beautiful gardens. The cast of Jane Austen's Pride & Prejudice got into character easily during their stay here while filming the TV series in the surrounding area, taking inspiration from the stunning scenery all around. Hidden staircases, priest holes and the resident friendly ghost of Father Bernard are famously part of the charm of this 17th Century treasure. A good starting point for exploring the Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwick Castle and Oxford.Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

refreshments
Thought the room could have a tray to store the kettle, mugs and tea bags etc
Re breakfast - although a lovely meal we felt that it should be included in price of the room. Most people want breakfast - a good start to the day

Reviewed by
D Gwyther

From Kilgetty, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room and very helpful staff on Reception. Breakfast hot food had been standing for some
considerable time and not hot. This was 8-30am

Reviewed by
D Cooke

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good stay, would recommend.
Lovely hotel centrally placed in Banbury close to all amenities. Staff were helpful and accommodating, sorting us out with a twin room on request at late notice. The new wing is tastefully decorated and feels upmarket and although the bath/shower seemed to have been forgotten in the upgrade it was perfectly fine and delivered a nice hot shower. My only slight issues are that I asked for a sandwich in the evening and because there was a wedding on it was not really up to the standard implied by the price! Secondly, breakfast might have been nice included in the room price, but mainly because I was a little hungover. I would definitely return.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us. I am very happy to read how helpful the team were and am pleased to see that you liked the decoration in some of our newly refurbished rooms but understand that the bathrooms have not been done yet. I am sorry to hear that the sandwich served was not up to standard and I sincerely apologise for this. We do offer breakfast inclusive rates as well as room only depending on how the booking is made. Altogether though I am very pleased that you would definitely stay with us and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Michael Williams General Manager

Reviewed by
Nik B

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel wasn't good value for money the rooms
Were in desperate need of decoration

Reviewed by
G doyle

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We just wanted an overnight stay. It was very good. Only the room was too warm and there was not a way to cool it.

Reviewed by
Roger Smith

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Haven of Rest.
What a lovely way to end a hot and tiring journey. We found the Mercure Hotel easily in the centre of Banbury, it was easy to park and we entered a refreshingly cool and quiet atmosphere. We ordered sandwiches and a cold drink and we were served quickly in the green and shady garden which could have been in the middle of the countryside. Our room was unpretentious but very comfortable, with everything we needed, including an immaculate bathroom, and we had a good night's sleep. We had a full English breakfast well cooked (enough to keep us going until the evening) although we could have chosen a lighter meal. The staff were helpful, but not intrusive, and we left in a cool car which we had parked in the shade in the hotel car park. It was a wonderful start for our holiday! Thank you, to all the staff who made our visit so enjoyable!

Reviewed by
Alan Brown

From Hampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whateley Hall
Very pleasant hotel

Reviewed by
Philip W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful building but needs refurbishing
Room was large enough, but it had inadequate lighting, an uncomfortable bed, seedy furnishings, and worst of all, a bad odor. It smelled as though the cleaning staff had used strong cleaning chemicals with the purpose of masking the musty and damp mildew and mold tinged smell of the room. We had to keep the windows wide open to get fresh air circulating in the room. (This was in July, don't know what we would have done during cold months). The carpet needed replacing, the window drapes where old and dirty, and the bathroom tiles had seen better days. I worried during that night that the electrical wiring was so old that there might be a fire.
The public areas of this tudor era hotel appeared to retain much of the original architectural features and charm. However, the decor and furnishings were cheap, worn, and desperately in need of replacement with quality furnishings more appropriate for the period of the building. I would love to see what a talented designer could do with this property. It has so much potential.
I especially loved the paneling in the bar - very attractive room.
It seemed that this hotel is the spot where locals come to through parties. Both weekday nights that we were there, a loud party was being held in a public room very near our hotel room. These parties went on pretty late into the evening.
Garden space was large and had potential, but was not well tended.
The staff was very helpful and kind.

Reviewed by
Alice Z

From USA
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Having stayed here in the past, some time ago I must admit, I was very disappointed with the hotel. I don't know if one is penalised for booking via Laterooms when the rooms are allocated. Our room had a view of the wall of the cinema next door. It was a very hot night and with the window open the cinema's air conditioning unit could be heard all night. There was only one bedside lamp which was so dim that you could not read by it. The main room light was similarly dim. There seems to be a little too much energy saving going on, I am glad it was not winter. There was no bottled water, something I would expect at the room price. Sadly for a hotel in a historic building there was only a folder in the reception area informing guests of the history of the hotel and town, there was no area information in the room at all. The restaurant and bar seemed pretty empty and lacking in atmosphere so we went out. On the one evening we thought we would have a drink in the garden a loud party was going on in the function room below our room, with the accompanying 'music' spilling out of the doors and windows. The service at breakfast was poor and the fried eggs on the buffet looked like rubber. Tables were not cleared and therefore not laid when guests arrived for breakfast. This was particularly bad on the Saturday morning when there was obviously a wedding reception on later in the day and more attention was paid to laying tables for that, leaving our waiter to search all over for cutlery. We will not be back.

Reviewed by
Chris C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night business stay

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next