You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Macdonald The Swan's Nest Hotel

3

Bridgetown, Stratford upon Avon, CV37 7LT

Price From 179.54 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (56)

73% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • m webber

  • May 2016

Macdonald The Swan's Nest Hotel

Lovely hotel, great room with a great big comfy bed.

Staff were helpful and attentive. Only had breakfast at the hotel but it was very good. Would we go back. Definitely.

  • mary E

  • March 2016

Fabulous Birthday Weekend

Wonderful welcoming, informative friendly reception staff.

I had previously emailed for high, quiet room and they fulfilled my request as we heard nothing whatsoever in our stay. The room was well furnished, very clean and warm.The bed was extremely comfortable but even though we asked for extra pillows, they gave no head support, far too flat with insufficient filling - our only minor complaint. Lovely touch that you could ring for ice and fresh milk (no charge). The Bear bar in the hotel was fabulous on Saturday night with one of the best entertainers we have seen here or abroad. Stratford is a beautiful busy place and was made extra special by our stay at the Swans Nest hotel.Note, they give you a free parking permit for your stay that wasn't mentioned when booking. Thank you all for my great birthday weekend.

  • J Wade-Fell

  • January 2016

Quiet, very comfortable stay

Room was very comfortable , clean and quiet.

A lovely, relaxing stay.

  • Ross Williams

  • January 2016

Complaint about Xmas period stay

Sadly our Xmas stay here was ruined by the fact that as we found when we checked in but sadly not before as they didnt tell us, the bar and restaurant were fully booked on Xmas day and closed Xmas day night, so we were left with nowhere to eat for 24 hrs, totally unacceptable situation.

I cant believe a hotel would not make provision for its guests. Worst Xmas ever, wife hardly stopped crying from Xmas eve onwards.

  • s smith

  • November 2015

Good location pleasant staff clean hotel

Good location , don't recall seeing the carpark charge when booked

Clean rooms and very pleasant staff

  • M Woodward

  • October 2015

delightful stay

Stayed in room 68

Beautiful room however the noise from the kitchen air con unit made for an uncomfortable sleep

  • Gail F

  • September 2015

Unsuitable

We stayed in room 67 which was classed as an Executive Double Room, for one night only.

We arrived just in time for the dinner in the Bistro for which I had reserved a table. The room was above a very noisy kitchen and air con unit or fridge as the noise went on all night. There was a coffee machine in the room with coffee next to it but no cups. When I went to have a shower there was only one hand towel and one bath towel. When I complained on check-out the lady said the cups were in the cupboard under the television and the towels would be in the wardrobe, how ridiculous.!!. The room was very hot but we could not open the windows as it was so noisy. She apologised about the noise and took some money off the bill. How on earth can you class a noisy room like that as an executive room. My understanding of Executive means much better than that. The food in the bistro was lovely.

  • Robert W

  • September 2015

Room was fine, good location, etc as other reviewers have said.

Breakfast service excellent despite the hotel being very busy. I thought it was a bit off that the LateRooms listing specifically mentions on-site parking, but fails to mention that it costs £5 a day. Also the hotel puts an arbitrary £3 "card handling fee" on credit card payments. (In my case the "non-refundable prepayment" was never charged to the credit card details given to LateRooms, and the hotel waited to charge me on check-out and demand a debit card). Even most corner shops manage to waive card charges if you spend more than a fiver. I'd expect better from a national hotel chain!

  • T Parkes

  • September 2015

Sub-standard room, service and food

The room had a patch of damp in the corner, a loose light fitting next to the bed and the telephone did not work (not great when my wife was ill so we were hoping for room service).

Additionally, the decor and bathroom were not what I expected for £140 per night. The hotel was busy due to Stratford races taking place that weekend, hence my 1 hour wait for food - made worse by the fact that the deserts were bought up with the mains. By the time we had attempted to eat the steak - which was swimming in grease and very tough, the toffee pudding had gone cold and the ice cream had melted. At this point it was nearly 10pm and we had gone past hungry so just called it a night. I must say that the staff were very nice upon checkout the next morning but it couldn't make up for a very poor experience. I wouldn't go there again.

  • Sandra C

  • August 2015

Short break in Stratford

Great location being not in the town centre yet just across the river from the theatre and restaurants.

Hotel staff were very attentive and helpful. We arrived earlier than normal check-in and as our room was not ready, they swapped us to one that was. Lovely breakfast - my partner was pleased to see Kippers as a menu choice. Would definitely consider staying here again.