No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald The Swan's Nest Hotel

4AA Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
Bridgetown , Stratford upon Avon, CV37 7LT
The Swans Nest dates back to the late 17th century and overlooks the River Avon, it is one of the earliest brick houses built in the Stratford area. The Hotel was refurbished in 2008 and further enhanced by the opening of an independent restaurant "Le Bistrot Pierre", now an extremely popular dining venue.

It is perfectly located for an afternoon boating trip, or a leisurely stroll along the banks of the Avon before heading to the theatre, just a five minute walk away. Shakespeare's Birthplace and other attractions, are within walking distance. Further attractions nearby include the largest butterfly farm in the UK, Warwick Castle, Kenilworth Castle, Royal Leamington Spa and of course the centre of Stratford with its bustling restaurants, tea houses and boutique shopping.

Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Picture of Macdonald The Swan's Nest Hotel, Stratford upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Swan's Nest
Very good location for the RSC theatre.room and bed very good. The corridors in the hotel need a revamp .Did have to pay 5 pounds to park which I resented .

Reviewed by
A Gregory

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday weekend
Very helpful staff, especially given how busy the hotel was when we arrived on Saturday afternoon. The room was fine-very clean and a pleasant outlook. The highlight of the hotel was the breakfast on Sunday morning-excellent scrambled eggs and the most delicious black pudding I've ever tasted-moist and spicy and from Stornoway in Scotland. Very friendly and helpful service throughout our stay.
Excellent location in Stratford-6-7 minute walk to the Swan Theatre where we went on Saturday night.

Reviewed by
Tim Heavisides

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All that I could ask for and more.
I was very impressed with the hotel we booked one night with late rooms and two night direct with the hotel ( late rooms put their price up by £10 whilist I was researching my opption. Anyway, the hotel kept as in the same room despite having two seperate bookings. We had two night in an upgraded room. The hotel is lovely and central and veryhandly for the RSC.

Reviewed by
S Robson

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the whole we enjoyed our stay at The Swans Nest, most of the staff were friendly and the food was good. A couple of negatives. the main areas were looking a bit tired. The reception/lounge needed a hoover under the furniture over by the bar/tourist information area. That said we would stay here again, very convenient location.

Reviewed by
Graham R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel - really quite at night considering the size of the hotel which was good. The food in the restaurant & breakfast were excellent & good value for money

Reviewed by
Lisa S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Rooms
We arrived for a one night stay and were told we had been upgraded, a very nice surprise. The room we had was a suite and apart from the very large bed was furnished with settee, armchairs and coffee table. An excellent nights sleep.
A minor issue was that the breakfast was a bit of a hurried affair, the hotel had been very full and although the food was fine, we had to ask for several items including bowls for cereal, spoons, brown sauce, sugar. The service was a little lax.

Reviewed by
J Dyhouse

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location, easy walk across the river to the theatre and town and good on site parking. Staff friendly and very helpful, we stayed in an executive room which was really nice and spacious with good facilities, including a mini fridge which was welcome as the weather was really great during our stay meaning we could chill water/drinks. Lovely quiet atmosphere, even when busy. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Angela S

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay close to the river
Nice Hotel well situated for walks by river.
Customer service a little slow but got there in the end.
Would be happy to return.

Reviewed by
stephen b

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent - will certainly go back

Reviewed by
Ralph Mitchell

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't have ssked for better
Couldn't have asked for better, Stratford fabulous place to be and the hotel couldn't have been more central, would defiantly stay again

Reviewed by
Anne Park

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next