No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald The Swan's Nest Hotel

4AA Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
Bridgetown , Stratford upon Avon, CV37 7LT
The Swans Nest dates back to the late 17th century and overlooks the River Avon, it is one of the earliest brick houses built in the Stratford area. The Hotel was refurbished in 2008 and further enhanced by the opening of an independent restaurant "Le Bistrot Pierre", now an extremely popular dining venue.

It is perfectly located for an afternoon boating trip, or a leisurely stroll along the banks of the Avon before heading to the theatre, just a five minute walk away. Shakespeare's Birthplace and other attractions, are within walking distance. Further attractions nearby include the largest butterfly farm in the UK, Warwick Castle, Kenilworth Castle, Royal Leamington Spa and of course the centre of Stratford with its bustling restaurants, tea houses and boutique shopping.

Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Picture of Macdonald The Swan's Nest Hotel, Stratford upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic weekend...
Had a fantastic time, staff very friendly and helpful. Received a free upgrade to an executive suite on arrival. Very nice surprise :-)

Reviewed by
Grahame B

From KENDAL, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little overprice
The room was fine, but I think it's expensive. I have to ask 3 times for the toast. In the afternoon we try to have some coffee with cakes, but the waiter didn't understand it

Reviewed by
Julieta A

From Wembley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for the price. Room excellent and staff very warm and efficient. Food at Bistro Pierre was great - dinner was nice
Breakfast at BP a really lovely treat.

Reviewed by
Tim Hollingdale

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite perfect
Our executive room was well appointed but surprisingly cramped particiarly in the bathroom, and rather noisy until midnight on Saturday being over the Bistro. Breakfast on Monday was a disaster - only one waitress serving. She was excellent but inevitably the meal was not a relaxing experience.

Reviewed by
Paddy Germain

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Hotel ideally located within walking distance of town centre and scenic waterways.Exterior decor looked rough and dirty giving a false impression as to what the hotel is like.Room clean and tidy although the bathroom was small and cramped.Reception service good.Breakfast was ok the service was poor staff seemed in awe of a person called James and ignored all other customers.All in all a good location and an ok hotel.

Reviewed by
M Owen

From Dolgellau, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Swan's Nest
Very good location for the RSC theatre.room and bed very good. The corridors in the hotel need a revamp .Did have to pay 5 pounds to park which I resented .

Reviewed by
A Gregory

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday weekend
Very helpful staff, especially given how busy the hotel was when we arrived on Saturday afternoon. The room was fine-very clean and a pleasant outlook. The highlight of the hotel was the breakfast on Sunday morning-excellent scrambled eggs and the most delicious black pudding I've ever tasted-moist and spicy and from Stornoway in Scotland. Very friendly and helpful service throughout our stay.
Excellent location in Stratford-6-7 minute walk to the Swan Theatre where we went on Saturday night.

Reviewed by
Tim Heavisides

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All that I could ask for and more.
I was very impressed with the hotel we booked one night with late rooms and two night direct with the hotel ( late rooms put their price up by £10 whilist I was researching my opption. Anyway, the hotel kept as in the same room despite having two seperate bookings. We had two night in an upgraded room. The hotel is lovely and central and veryhandly for the RSC.

Reviewed by
S Robson

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the whole we enjoyed our stay at The Swans Nest, most of the staff were friendly and the food was good. A couple of negatives. the main areas were looking a bit tired. The reception/lounge needed a hoover under the furniture over by the bar/tourist information area. That said we would stay here again, very convenient location.

Reviewed by
Graham R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel - really quite at night considering the size of the hotel which was good. The food in the restaurant & breakfast were excellent & good value for money

Reviewed by
Lisa S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next