No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald The Swan's Nest Hotel

4AA Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
Bridgetown , Stratford upon Avon, CV37 7LT
The Swans Nest dates back to the late 17th century and overlooks the River Avon, it is one of the earliest brick houses built in the Stratford area. The Hotel was refurbished in 2008 and further enhanced by the opening of an independent restaurant "Le Bistrot Pierre", now an extremely popular dining venue.

It is perfectly located for an afternoon boating trip, or a leisurely stroll along the banks of the Avon before heading to the theatre, just a five minute walk away. Shakespeare's Birthplace and other attractions, are within walking distance. Further attractions nearby include the largest butterfly farm in the UK, Warwick Castle, Kenilworth Castle, Royal Leamington Spa and of course the centre of Stratford with its bustling restaurants, tea houses and boutique shopping.

Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Picture of Macdonald The Swan's Nest Hotel, Stratford upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Away
Great location for dinner and a visit to theatre. Out in the annex of the hotel but still a lovely room. Breakfast excellent and staff efficient and very courteous.

Reviewed by
Anna w

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Best thing about this hotel is the location! Within 5 minutes walking distance to the theatre and restaurants along Lamb Street. Rooms are a little dated and need a little TLC, in particular the area of damp patch in our room. Acoustic insulation between rooms left a little to be desired, we were woken up early by residents upstairs as they simply walked around the room (squeaky floor). Nice breakfast in the in-house Pierre restaurant. Hotel was OK for a one or two night stay but we would probably look for an alternative option if we return to Stratford Upon Avon.

Reviewed by
Alan Rowlands

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

spur of the moment twixmas break
My error in inadvertently arriving a day later than booked was handled with good grace and without fuss. Rooms were comfortable and well equipped. Public areas were a bit cold bit it is an old building and it was literally freezing outside!

Reviewed by
g noon

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
We enjoy the shay, the room was large and relaxing, room service very good, would look forward to shay again

Reviewed by
Martin Eales

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

post christmas mini break

Reviewed by
s sharratt

From Coventry, Royaume-Uni
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas 2014 at The Swan's Nest Stratford Upon Avon
The room and facilities were excellent,the staff polite and friendly and both my wife and myself would recommend staying here to all.The Christmas Meal at Le Bistrot de Pierre and service,in the Hotel, were amazingly excellent,as were all of the staff that we may have encountered.The whole experience was superb and we would readily book again.Thank you,from reception through to departure after the three night stay,we were treated with the utmost courtesy and thank you all so much.Sincerely,Mr and Mrs Brian Playdon

Reviewed by
Brian Playdon

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

christmas break at stratford upon avon
i must say that the swans nest hotel was the best hotel we have stayed in, the location was perfect, the room exceeded our expectations, i loved the winged chair by the window overlooking the garden, the staff were so friendly and ever so helpful, we would stay there again, thanks for making our stay so warm and cosy.

Reviewed by
beverley r

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal and central.
Good accommodation. Excellent reception staff. Bar employees tended too be too young & inexperienced. The bar manager, instead of supervising the bar, seemed to be more intent on assisting the restaurant staff.

Reviewed by
Michael W

From Banstead, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay; very good service.

Reviewed by
Graham Cotter

From Yelverton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, but a few hiccups!
The hotel is in a fantastic location across the river facing the Royal Shakespeare Company's theatre and within easy walking distances of some great places to eat. Our rooms were comfortable with modern, walk in showers, and quiet. The 40% off rate for two of our three nights was great value, including breakfast.
The hiccups are the bar and breakfast. The bar is too small with insufficient seating and too few staff. Tables were left uncleared and we quickly gave up on trying to get pre and post dinner drinks and went elsewhere instead. Breakfast is served in the Bistrot Pierre Restaurant where the staff were very pleasant, but run off their feet - again too few staff - which meant having to constantly ask for missing spoons, butter and refills of coffee. The buffet breakfast having to be situated one morning in the main foyer opposite Reception due to the high number of guest, was far from ideal.
So, would we stay again? Yes, because of the great location, but the bar and breakfast arrangements mean it falls well short of it's 4 star rating.

Reviewed by
Keith P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next