No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald The Swan's Nest Hotel

4AA Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
Bridgetown , Stratford upon Avon, CV37 7LT
The Swans Nest dates back to the late 17th century and overlooks the River Avon, it is one of the earliest brick houses built in the Stratford area. The Hotel was refurbished in 2008 and further enhanced by the opening of an independent restaurant "Le Bistrot Pierre", now an extremely popular dining venue.

It is perfectly located for an afternoon boating trip, or a leisurely stroll along the banks of the Avon before heading to the theatre, just a five minute walk away. Shakespeare's Birthplace and other attractions, are within walking distance. Further attractions nearby include the largest butterfly farm in the UK, Warwick Castle, Kenilworth Castle, Royal Leamington Spa and of course the centre of Stratford with its bustling restaurants, tea houses and boutique shopping.

Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Picture of Macdonald The Swan's Nest Hotel, Stratford upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
Fantastic location for RST. Short stroll over footbridge. Very comfortable room and easy parking.

Reviewed by
K Jackson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

super short break
Booked a cheap 2 night break and got a good quality hotel booking .Room was well sized and well fitted out , good tea facilities, bottled water,toiletries,fridge,press,iron and board and a superb double length shower. Table and chairs good.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Restaurant run by a third party was very good both for evening meal and breakfast.

Reviewed by
Matthew W

From Hook, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location great room and good service
We stay away on business and pleasure on a regular basis and we found our experience at the hotel surpassed many other hotels with higher ratings and prices in the Stratford area. We had a great room, service was faultless and the hotel bar was excellent. We will be staying again

Reviewed by
Karl Weston

From Brixham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beds
Our only disappointment was the bed in our room, which had the noisiest mattress we have ever slept on, creaking loudly every time we turned over. A slightly softer mattress would have made the stay perfect.

Reviewed by
Tracey D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break at Stratford
The Swan's Nest is probably short of the usual MacDonald standard. It has no leisure facilities contained within it, although these facilities are available nearby. Hotel, is in a good position close to the River Avon with a Bistrot Pierre restaurant.
Quite good accommodation for a short break.

Reviewed by
Adrian J

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Great location. Breakfast service let it down, too slow, wrong items came and waited far too long for the toast, it actually arrived when we had finished!! Staff very friendly and approachable.

Reviewed by
Linda Russell

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location shame about the noise
The hotel is in an excellent location and could hardly be bettered for walking into town and with some river views. The room was as expected for the price in terms of equipment but was let down badly by the poor sound proofing. From both sides it was possible to hear every movement of fellow guest and also hear their conversations. No they were not shouting it was just that bad.
Breakfast on day one was good sadly day two went awry as there were not enough staff to deal with the weekend influx and the buffet remained unserviced for ages and simple things like coffee had to be chased three times.

Reviewed by
Colin L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Really good all round hotel and good service plus super location

Reviewed by
William Stone

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic weekend...
Had a fantastic time, staff very friendly and helpful. Received a free upgrade to an executive suite on arrival. Very nice surprise :-)

Reviewed by
Grahame B

From KENDAL, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel though larger than expected.In a great position ,within 5 mins. of attractions but far enough to be quiet. only had breakfast in hotel which was excellent. The bar was a lively place on Saturday night with more than just hotel guests which gave for good mixed atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Sandra P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next