Reviews - Macdonald The Swan's Nest Hotel


Bridgetown, Stratford upon Avon, CV37 7LT

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (68)

74% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Gail F

  • September 2015


We stayed in room 67 which was classed as an Executive Double Room, for one night only.

We arrived just in time for the dinner in the Bistro for which I had reserved a table. The room was above a very noisy kitchen and air con unit or fridge as the noise went on all night. There was a coffee machine in the room with coffee next to it but no cups. When I went to have a shower there was only one hand towel and one bath towel. When I complained on check-out the lady said the cups were in the cupboard under the television and the towels would be in the wardrobe, how ridiculous.!!. The room was very hot but we could not open the windows as it was so noisy. She apologised about the noise and took some money off the bill. How on earth can you class a noisy room like that as an executive room. My understanding of Executive means much better than that. The food in the bistro was lovely.

  • Robert W

  • September 2015

Room was fine, good location, etc as other reviewers have said.

Breakfast service excellent despite the hotel being very busy. I thought it was a bit off that the LateRooms listing specifically mentions on-site parking, but fails to mention that it costs £5 a day. Also the hotel puts an arbitrary £3 "card handling fee" on credit card payments. (In my case the "non-refundable prepayment" was never charged to the credit card details given to LateRooms, and the hotel waited to charge me on check-out and demand a debit card). Even most corner shops manage to waive card charges if you spend more than a fiver. I'd expect better from a national hotel chain!

  • T Parkes

  • September 2015

Sub-standard room, service and food

The room had a patch of damp in the corner, a loose light fitting next to the bed and the telephone did not work (not great when my wife was ill so we were hoping for room service).

Additionally, the decor and bathroom were not what I expected for £140 per night. The hotel was busy due to Stratford races taking place that weekend, hence my 1 hour wait for food - made worse by the fact that the deserts were bought up with the mains. By the time we had attempted to eat the steak - which was swimming in grease and very tough, the toffee pudding had gone cold and the ice cream had melted. At this point it was nearly 10pm and we had gone past hungry so just called it a night. I must say that the staff were very nice upon checkout the next morning but it couldn't make up for a very poor experience. I wouldn't go there again.

  • Sandra C

  • August 2015

Short break in Stratford

Great location being not in the town centre yet just across the river from the theatre and restaurants.

Hotel staff were very attentive and helpful. We arrived earlier than normal check-in and as our room was not ready, they swapped us to one that was. Lovely breakfast - my partner was pleased to see Kippers as a menu choice. Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Kerry H

  • August 2015

Theatre weekend.

Super stay at the Swan's Nest.

Theatre and Stratford central a lovely SHORT walk away over the foot bridge. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Parking available. Room very clean, spacious and good facilities. A very good nights sleep on an excellent bed. Will try the Bistro next time as menu looked dreamy. Breakfast was tasty and a good selection. Left happy relaxed and full!

  • Peter Clark

  • July 2015

Reasonable Hotel

Very expensive for what it was.

Reception staff were very good. Room was a little tired but we were in the older part of the hotel. The window didn't close properly and the air con was very noisy. That said the shower was excellent as was the comfortable bed. Breakfast, normally the highlight of a hotel stay, was very average. Not the best quality ingredients and the black pudding was burnt. It seemed an average hotel at a premium price. I guess you pay for the waterside location. Be warned that the car park is also doubles as a public pay and display and so it can be difficult to find a space if you arrive, as we did, in mid afternoon.

  • Simon K

  • June 2015

Stratford Anniversary

Premium price, poor service, room clean and serviceable but public areas dated and tatty .

  • Debbie W

  • May 2015

Deb's stay

We were disappointed with the dated interior of the room and a few items such as the milk jug and sink were not clean.

We thought the food in the Bear restaurant was superb and we ate there on the Sunday night and Monday lunchtime. The service on Monday was very poor though and the bar staff were not ready for the start of the lunchtime period. We were only sent 1 part of our food order and had to wait 20 mins for the rest to be brought to us.

  • Joanne C

  • April 2015

Anniversary weekend

Nicely decorated and furnished, the bed was huge and very comfortable.

View wasn't the greatest as the windows opened onto the roof. And at night we had to listen to the entertainment downstairs whether we wanted to or not. Breakfast was ok although there didn't seem a lot of organisation, the staff were just approaching tables at random and there was no continuity in the service. The cooked breakfast was tasty but it certainly wasn't worth the additional £15.00 each we paid for it. The Swans nest is a nice enough hotel however it does not justify the prices it is charging. We have stayed in better establishments and have paid a lot less. We would not choose to return.

  • Francis G

  • April 2015

Very poor quality. Hotel is very tired. Not terribly clean

This hotel is quite tired, not terribly clean and certainly not value for money.

We were given an upgraded room, but the room actually looks over a roof and is overlooked by other rooms. We arrived at about 5:00pm and on our way to our room we passed a substantial amount of uncleared plates of food which were clearly the remains of a lunch time buffet, all left in a narrow corridor space. I took a photo of this which I will email to Clearly this hotel is poorly managed. The only reason why I believe the hotel is popular is because of its location, being close to the river and the theatre.