Reviews - Macdonald Swan Hotel


Keswick Road, Grasmere, Ambleside, LA22 9RF

Price From 160.85 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

75% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • P Wilkinson

  • November 2015

Macdonald Swan Hotel

Lakes escape.


  • November 2015

Just spot on.

By just spot on I do not mean they have just managed perfection.

L mean there is no more they can achieve. Every time I stay here I rely on their high standards and am never disappointed. Well done, the hotel is comfy and modern , to suit the hotels age. Food is good quality , flavoursome , well presented. The staff are friendly, capable,professional and on !

  • Susan B

  • April 2015

Tired and Dated Accommodation

Stayed a this hotel previously, so decided to visit again.

Big change. Hotel needs a total revamp, room ok bathroom cramped. Noisy dogs barking during the night and unable to get a bar snack during the evening, told the staff were too busy. Service poor, staff in dinning room did not know what they were doing.

  • teresa s

  • March 2015

Beautiful view from our room

Friendly and helpful receptionist.

Enjoyed bar meal of fish and chips with 15% off for early bird.Lovely fireside lounges to relax in. The bedroom had 2 small armchairs and a coffee table so we could sit with our tea and take in the stunning view. A very large comfy bed and cosy room added to our very pleasant stay in this quaint old hotel.

  • J Dutton

  • December 2014

Wonderful hotel - not stayed here for 40 years - No cracks or wrinkles in all those years.

Very nice nothing to fault - definitely on agenda again - no waiting another 40 years!!

  • M Atkinson

  • November 2014

Expensive Bar!

Everything about the MacDonald swan hotel Ambleside was excellent, except the bar Bill.

the Walkers Bar was closed due to refurbishment, we had to sit in the lounge and order drinks from the waiter. £16.20 for 2 drinks is outrageous. I have contacted Customer services and they have not bothered to return my email.

  • M Brook

  • October 2014

A very good choice of hotel

In the restaurant both breakfast & dinner were first class, compliments to a very good chef the staff were very busy and provided a good service The position of the hotel is excellent there are many walks which can be done without taking the car also a regular bus service stops opposite.

The garden is beautifully kept. We would stay here again

  • d ashley

  • September 2014

Superbly located quiet retreat!

Location of The Swan is superb, giving easy access to Grasmere, Windermere, Ambleside & Bowness and on main route up to Keswick, so perfect spot to stay.

MacDonalds give a good quality standard of hotels that you can rely on, and The Swan certainly provided comfortable accommodation for our overnight stay - parking facilities, clean bedroom with all the necessaries, lounge and bar areas. . Dined here in the evening, the restaurant being full ( what better recommendation than that . ) we were in the bar area, but a lovely atmosphere and the food was first-class, as was breakfast the following morning. Good choice, well-cooked and delicious Cumbrian breakfast, which satisfied us for the rest of the day. Service was faultless, pleasant and friendly as were the reception staff. All round a success, would certainly stay here again.

  • Richard Rubie

  • September 2014

a wonderful stay

Most excellent stay

  • S Murray

  • August 2014

Grasmere trip

The hot is tired and by not worth the room rate.

Breakrast and dinner was poor and overpriced