You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel

4

Chapel Street, STRATFORD UPON AVON, CV37 6ER

Price From 195.39 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (26)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • H Hickson

  • August 2016

Another Disappointing Stay at a Mercure Hotel

I am not a natural complainer but I do think that Mercure is becoming complacent about its hotels in busy tourist cities.

We were disappointed to find we had been allocated a room in an annexe (there was no indication of this when booking) and that the ongoing repairs to the building's windows meant that workmen were outside our ground floor room operating a scissor lift right in front of our window. This afforded us no privacy and meant that we couldn't open the windows when needed. The provision of a bath was appreciated, but having to remove the previous occupant's hairs from the taps was an unpleasant experience. (Photo available on request.)

The full English breakfast was only mediocre - what is it with hotels and bacon. Why can't it be properly grilled instead of being served with uncooked fat. It's not rocket science.

  • Darren C

  • May 2016

Shakespeare Hotel

Excellent and comfortable accommodation

  • Audrey H

  • May 2016

Suggested improvements

Friendly staff and helpful.

Good quality breakfasts but not very hot. Great location in centre of town. Toilet paper in room thin, hard and poor quality. Previous occupant's "scum" a few inches from top of bath. Towel rail right next to toilet - hygiene issue. Coffee etc not replenished/ missing on arrival and during stay. Towels not tidied up when/if room was cleaned each morning.

  • Steven R

  • April 2016

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel

A good central location in the middle of town, means it's easy access to pretty much anywhere.

The old style façade also add to making the hotel attractive and unique. Customer service wise, the hotel was pretty standard, nothing to make you think of this experience over other hotels - as the cost of the hotel rooms are relatively expensive, I feel you end up paying for the look and feel of the hotel rather than the customer experience.

  • V GANNON

  • January 2016

Relaxing stay

Really enjoyed my two night stay

Receptionist very helpful and found me the ideal room close to the lift

  • j boulton

  • June 2015

whitsun break

We have stayed at this hotel before so we were expecting the same quality as before roomwise but sadly found the size and quality disappointing especially for the price we paid.

  • Y Cheung

  • April 2015

Good service

This hotel is in a charming old building with quaint features.

We were welcomed by staff in front desk and had a smooth check in, although we were told our room was not ready initially aNd subsequently offered a 'welcome drink' in the bar. On finding there was no hot water, the lady we spoke to made a tireless effort to ensure we had access to a hot shower and moved us to another room. Great service and much appreciated. Enjoyed our stay here and the rooms had lovely features too. Each one was different which was a nice touch for a hotel that was part of a chain.

  • Mike T

  • April 2015

Back again

Been back and for to this hotel 20 years plus.

Nice room in the Garrick wing - quiet .Comfy bed and good size bathroom with plenty of closet/storage as staying a few days Peaceful hotel very central with good eateries around. Only 1 real comment this time in that bar closed . Not sure why. Normally a few people in there but empty. Front desk staff all seem to have changed but very friendly. Will stay again.

  • K Guest

  • February 2015

Shakephere

Value for money hotel nice old decor, staff pleasant but breakfast awful, waiting 30 mins for coffee.

  • R Cairns

  • January 2015

Don't stay in Room 122!

There was a constant roaring in the room like air conditioning or extraction.

It was suggested that it was the kitchen vent. We were given a much smaller third floor room instead but had to move our own things at 10 45 pm. At breakfast we ordered two porridges: after three reminders (the chef is rushed off his feet) only one bowl appeared of thick glutinous porridge, barely warm. On my booking printout it stated that "Daphne" had guaranteed us a disabled parking space. She had no knowledge of this. Very pleasant indeed, she seemed to be looking after the place on her own.