No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon, Shakespeare Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Chapel Street,Stratford-Upon-Avon,Warwickshire , Stratford upon Avon, CV37 6ER
The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel is located right in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon.

As soon as you approach the Hotel, you know your are about to experience something special. With its black and white gabled façade, this is one of Stratford-upon-Avon's most famous Tudor buildings, with history dating back to 1637.

Each of the 78 bedrooms are individually named and have their own character.

The Othello's Brasserie has picked up an impressive AA rosette and is the perfect place to enjoy lunch or dinner. Guests can also enjoy items from the new bar menu, in the traditional Quill Bar and Lounge which has relaxed seating and roaring open fires in the winter months.

The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel offers complimentary, fibre optic WIFI to guests in all bedrooms and public areas.

Car parking is available on site at a cost of £10.00 overnight, however spaces are limited and subject to availability.Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.

Our staff at the hotel speak various languages including English, Spanish, Mandarin, Italian, French and Dutch.
Picture of Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon, Shakespeare Hotel, Stratford upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A tudor gem
Set in the heart of Stratford this hotel is ideal for relaxing around the town, theatre visits and eating out. First class service, where the staff are polite and helpful. The building is a great Tudor gem.

Reviewed by
Peter Barnard

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception not always at hand and bar the same

Reviewed by
ann l

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Fantastic location, brilliant staff and lovely clean room with a very comfortable bed and plenty of extras such at ironing board and iron. The rate was quite expensive, especially as it was room only and the shower temperature did not alter from uncomfortably hot. The named rooms was a nice touch but it would have been good to have had extra information in the room about the character it is named after.

Reviewed by
E Slater

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
A comfortable hotel in a great location

Reviewed by
John W

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
J Mitchell

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be better
Lovely hotel with lots of character but be aware the building is old and lots of short stairways. Room was clean, comfortable and pleasant to be in. In the centre of town and a few minutes walk to the theatre. Car parking is limited for spaces which are charged at £10 per night. Large cars will find it a squeeze.
The welcome if you can call it that was strange. Little was said other than to have us sign in and our credit card was then charged immediately and a receipt given. I was then asked to produce the card (credit or debit) again which seemed strange. I then assumed the receipt was therefore for payment and my booking credit card had not been used. I decided to pay by debit card as we were now in the hotel. I inserted the debit card and was then informed that as I was using a debit card I would be charged £25, the balance of which if not wholly spent , would be refunded but it could take 10-15 days to do so. My credit card had in fact been debited. This was to be an extra payment. on account.
Needless to say, offended, I withdrew the card and we spent not a penny in the hotel throughout the stay. Throughout we not told of the whereabouts of the bar or at what time dinner was served or the whereabouts of the restaurant.. A small thing perhaps but it sets one off on the wrong foot. A warm welcome would be a better hotel policy for the otherwise pleasant and polite hotel staff..

Reviewed by
chris s

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for exploring Stratford & Shakespeare
Loved the Afternoon Tea - plenty for 2 (or even 3!)

Reviewed by
Linda R

From Paignton, Canada
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely recommend!
The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was great. Would definitely stay there again!

Reviewed by
Rosie B

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful
Lovely historic break with excellent service.

Reviewed by
A Jones

From Glasgow, Scotland
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel is in keeping with the Lovely Town. The room was spacious & of good quality.

Reviewed by
J Harding

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next