No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon, Shakespeare Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Chapel Street,Stratford-Upon-Avon,Warwickshire , Stratford upon Avon, CV37 6ER
The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel is located right in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon.

As soon as you approach the Hotel, you know your are about to experience something special. With its black and white gabled façade, this is one of Stratford-upon-Avon's most famous Tudor buildings, with history dating back to 1637.

Each of the 78 bedrooms are individually named and have their own character.

The Othello's Brasserie has picked up an impressive AA rosette and is the perfect place to enjoy lunch or dinner. Guests can also enjoy items from the new bar menu, in the traditional Quill Bar and Lounge which has relaxed seating and roaring open fires in the winter months.

The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel offers complimentary, fibre optic WIFI to guests in all bedrooms and public areas.

Car parking is available on site at a cost of £10.00 overnight, however spaces are limited and subject to availability.Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.

Our staff at the hotel speak various languages including English, Spanish, Mandarin, Italian, French and Dutch.
Picture of Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon, Shakespeare Hotel, Stratford upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Check In
We struggled to find the entrance to the hotel as there is a sign around the corner saying reception- very confusing and needs moving!
Diasappointed that we were unable to park in the hotel car park (at an additional cost of £10!) but were given good clear instructions how to get to NCP car park.
Breakfast on both days was excellent,efficient staff and great service.
Needed another receptionist on Sun morning as busy checkout.
Fabulous location,lovely building,amazing hanging baskets out the front.
Great the you get free wi - fi for 24 hrs.
Would def stay again,you just need to be aware of the car parking situation as right in the centre of town.

Reviewed by
Jo H

From Petworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Historic Stratford in a Hotel
This hotel is situated in the centre of Stratford within walking distance of the towns attractions, shops, cafes, bars etc and provides a fantastic base for exploring the history of the area. Staff at the hotel were courteous and helpful at all times but there didn't seem to be enough of them on the first night (Friday) as there was no-one to serve at the bar due to them dealing with another customer for a very long time (30 mins to an hour). Otherwise, the hotel was run very well and the staff could not do enough to make your stay and enjoyable one. Immediately next door is the Marco Pierre White New York Italian restaurant that myself and my partner visited for his birthday. The excellent staff made the evening very special and of course the food was very professionally presented and tasted delicious. All in all this was a brilliant stay in a calming and visually stunning place and the service in Stratford in general is of a very high standard.

Reviewed by
Rosaleen M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Hotel lovely and quaint right in the centre of town and an ideal base to explore everything.
our room was nice but quite small and the bed was too soft and sank a bit in the middle but it's all down to choice - some people prefer that.
The room was on the second floor and very peaceful so that helped a restful sleep.
Facilities were ok.
Really pleasant staff and helpful in pointing out where to go and provided a map which helped us.
All in all a very romantic weekend away and I loved the town and the river.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Twin room one night stay
Our twin room was perfect for a couple. The room was clean but on arrival it smelt a bit musty. The room was however cosy and comfortable and the bathroom was fab. The breakfast offer was not the best based on the cost of the room, the bacon was fatty, and all foods kept running low but were replenished. I would stay again despite the hot breakfast offer

Reviewed by
R Baker

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor customer service
The hotel is in a great location but unfortunately the front desk staff are lacking knowledge they are almost robotic! When I asked where was the nearest place was to park my car as my mother was in a wheel chair (she was in front of them at the front desk) the answer was Hotel Parking £10 or NCP Parking £4 round the corner. They failed to tell me about the disabled parking at the rear of the hotel it was later that housekeeping informed me of this while helping my mother to her room.
The staff at the front desk where always hiding behind the curtain.

Reviewed by
Karen F

From Leeds, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly front of house team,
Room 207 could do with a window in bedroom not just bathroom which opens as it did get a little too hot in there at night .

Reviewed by
Jayne M

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful yet dark
The room was lovely, but very dark (the small window faced another building). - we were in Macbeth

Reviewed by
Suzanne H

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A tudor gem
Set in the heart of Stratford this hotel is ideal for relaxing around the town, theatre visits and eating out. First class service, where the staff are polite and helpful. The building is a great Tudor gem.

Reviewed by
Peter Barnard

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception not always at hand and bar the same

Reviewed by
ann l

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Fantastic location, brilliant staff and lovely clean room with a very comfortable bed and plenty of extras such at ironing board and iron. The rate was quite expensive, especially as it was room only and the shower temperature did not alter from uncomfortably hot. The named rooms was a nice touch but it would have been good to have had extra information in the room about the character it is named after.

Reviewed by
E Slater

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next