No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon, Shakespeare Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Chapel Street,Stratford-Upon-Avon,Warwickshire , Stratford upon Avon, CV37 6ER
The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel is located right in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon.

As soon as you approach the Hotel, you know your are about to experience something special. With its black and white gabled façade, this is one of Stratford-upon-Avon's most famous Tudor buildings, with history dating back to 1637.

Each of the 78 bedrooms are individually named and have their own character.

The Othello's Brasserie has picked up an impressive AA rosette and is the perfect place to enjoy lunch or dinner. Guests can also enjoy items from the new bar menu, in the traditional Quill Bar and Lounge which has relaxed seating and roaring open fires in the winter months.

The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel offers complimentary, fibre optic WIFI to guests in all bedrooms and public areas.

Car parking is available on site at a cost of £10.00 overnight, however spaces are limited and subject to availability.Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.

Our staff at the hotel speak various languages including English, Spanish, Mandarin, Italian, French and Dutch.
Picture of Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon, Shakespeare Hotel, Stratford upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Location, Lovely Hotel
The Shakespeare is charming, centrally located, and steps away from the RSC.

Reviewed by
Christine G

From North Hollywood, USA
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mercure Hotel
The hotel room was freezing. We arrived just before 4pm and complained, and were told heating didn't come on until 4.30. It didn't improve and when we returned after the Theatre, was bitterly cold. We went straight to bed, endured a very lightweight summer-quality duvet and shivered until we decided to ring to ask for more bedding. No reply at all, though 24 hours service was claimed. In the morning we complained and were graciously offered 30% off the bill, which was acceptable - but in no way compensated for a miserable virtually sleepless night.

Reviewed by
Helen Taylor

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely spacious room, good value for money

Reviewed by
Linda G

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Theatre Hotel
Discounted room rate is about right for the quality of the hotel. Very pleasant accommodation. Car park a little small - was full. Excellent location for theatre - right in the middle of the town.

Reviewed by
Valerie B

From Cardiff, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is in a lovely old building - it is very central, and extremely convenient for the RSC.
We enjoyed our stay - the hotel had accommodated my request for different types of bedding on each of the twin beds and the staff we friendly.
The slightly lower scored for service and quality were because the room was a bit tired - chipped and damaged paint on the top of the cupboard in the room, and missing door knob on one of the nightstands - not major issues but not what I'd expect from a hotel of this quality and cost.
Service - the hotel seemed somewhat short-staffed in the bar / lobby area. All the staff seemed very friendly and helpful, but understaffing meant the service was slow - empty glasses were left on tables for a long time, there were long queues at the bar when we came back for a post-theatre drink, and having had coffee etc before going out, we ended up going to the bar to ask to pay, as 1.5 hours after ordering and receiving our drinks, we had not had a bill.
There was a wedding party at the hotel while we were there and it seemed as though the hotel had perhaps not put on extra staff to cope with the extra guests.

Reviewed by
Marjorie T

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My family's stay at the Shakespeare Mercure
This was a most pleasent expereince and a very good hotel to stay. Reception was most efficient and firendlly, the rooms were clean and spacious and the ensuite facilities excellent. The great thing is the atmospheric surroundings and the decor and painting which evoked memories of a b-gone era combining history and elegance. We went to see Richard 11 and the stay in this great hotel complemented the experience wonderfully.

Reviewed by
Alan Lawson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Theatre Visit
Very central and convenient for theatre. Having to pay for guest parking always leaves a bad taste. Rooms and corridors tired and a little worn. Dim lighting. One room at the top of the stairs noisy with large gap under door. Odd to have garlic flavoured sausage with traditional breakfast.

Reviewed by
H Lewis

From Porthcawl, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Richard II stay
Lovely hotel, really quirky and lots of space. All the rooms have different names as well as numbers, so as were on a Shakspeare trip this was particularly apt! The hotel is right in the centre of everything, a stone's throw from the RSC theatres, shops and restaurants and not far from the station. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we felt extremely welcome. The beds were comfy and the bathroom spotless. The barman was exceptionally helpful and the reception staff were lovely. If I had to pick a down side, some areas such as corridor carpets are a little worn, but with a hotel like this, the character of it is so important it fits in and I personally wouldn't want to see it modernised to the point of being boring.

Reviewed by
Claire N

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect location
a great central location next to lots of lovely restaurants and wine bars. parking on site although you have to pay £10 per night extra for this

Reviewed by
a brown

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok
Room was ok but a little tired, in retrospect I should have asked for one of the more updated rooms at the rear of the hotel. £10 to park is a cheek especially when we weren't even there 24 hours. Staff were pleasant though.

Reviewed by
Jane M

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next