No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald The Randolph Hotel

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Beaumont Street , Oxford, OX1 2LN
The five star Macdonald Randolph Hotel is the only hotel of its kind situated in the heart of the City of Oxford, opposite the famous Ashmolean museum. The Randolph Hotel is renowned for impeccable service and its traditional values bestowing each guest with a memorable stay.

The Randolph offers 151 en-suite bedrooms, all of which have been designed to provide luxurious comfort and sensational style that each guest deserves. All bedrooms feature satellite television, mini-bar, tea and coffee making facilities and modern access points. For pure splendour, choose one of the Randolph’s deluxe suites, each with breath taking views of Oxford and luxury bathroom accessories. For that extra special occasion, our Four Poster room offers a delightful environment for you to relax in. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms. On site car parking is available at 28.50 GBP per night, pre-booking is essential at the time of booking.

The famous Randolph Afternoon Tea is served daily in the Drawing Room and will be sure to turn every bite into a mouthwatering delight, with a fine selection of homemade scones, cakes and sandwiches. After a busy day of work or pleasure, the famous Morse Bar provides the perfect environment to unwind, over a glass or two of their exquisite cocktails. For the ultimate in fine cuisine, look no further than the 2AA rosette awarded Randolph Restaurant, where the Maitre ‘D will wow you with his extensive culinary knowledge and flambé skills.

The Spa at The Randolph is a unique haven of tranquility hidden away in the hotels cellar. With its lantern lit walkway meandering down to four treatment rooms, aroma steam rooms, bio and rock saunas, ice fountain, hydrotherapy Jacuzzi and mini gym, you wouldn’t believe that you were relaxing under the busy City of Oxford.

The Randolph hotel is seamlessly in tune with the needs of the modern world, offering wedding, business and commercial services with a choice of 6 conference and banqueting suites, accommodating up to 300 guests. A prestigious venue and impeccable support services combine to make it the perfect choice for any event.
Picture of Macdonald The Randolph  Hotel, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lacking the personal touch
This was an ok experience- a solid clean and efficient hotel. however, compared to other hotels in this bracket, it really lacked the personal touch. all my encounters with staff were very perfunctory and cold. The joy of staying in this sort of hotel is the personal touch, so as a single traveller for business i felt that this was an important feature i missed in my stay.

Reviewed by
katie f

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

randolph,oxford.
The Randolph is an iconic hotel in a superb position in the centre of Oxford.We were, however, very disappointed with our stay in terms of value for money. Food and drink were absurdly expensive, and we felt the whole deal was aimed at the American market where money is not an issue. Our room which was fairly basic, was stiflingly hot at night. The shower didn't work efficiently - no consistent hot water. The view was out over the back yard. Altogether at half price it was very disappointing. At full price cause for serious complaint. There was even plastic sheeting on the floor by the lift on the fourth floor for no apparent reason. The staff were ,however, helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
John Streeting

From Axminster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Location for Central Oxford
Hotel was good, but only one slow lift working for guests and staff due to renovation of the other one. Very clean, staff pleasant. Breakfast OK, but fried egg not basted with crispy frill around the edge.


Reviewed by
Martin H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
I enjoyed my brief stay at the Randolph very much, whetting my appetite for a longer stay in future. Just a little underwhelmed by the dated T.V. in the room but the brevity of my occupation meant this was not a major issue.

Reviewed by
J Davies

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Meh..
For £289 a room, you'd expect a docking station that worked with iPhone 5s first of all.
Staff were a little robotic for my liking, prefer a little more of a personality from hotel staff not just reading from a cue card, cardboard approach. Makes it all feel a little superficial and bland.
Bar staff were competent and knowledgeable but was hard to engage them, as I suppose is what it's supposed to be like. The whole experience was a little cold and insipid. Could have done with transport from arrival on the floor we were staying on as room was miles away. View was poor. Car parking is an extra as is everything else! If Ryanair did hotels, this is probably what it would be like. On the flip side, good location. Errors were made, car park charge only levied when settling the bill, refund was given. Well done Daniel! You're an asset.

Reviewed by
T Marlow

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Elegant Comfort at the Randolph
The Randolph offers elegant comfort entirely appropriate to the location.

Reviewed by
Graeme Bowen

From Cowes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Randolph hotel
Nice enough hotel. Good service and the staff remembered your name but I do think it is living on past glories.

Reviewed by
W Cooper

From Bedlington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Have seen better days
I arrived at 2:50pm on the day of my booking and was told unceremoniously that my room was not ready until after 4pm. No explanation was given as to why it was not ready by the supposed time of 2pm, according to the terms of booking. It was suggested to me that I come back after an Oxford tour by which time the room should be ready. I told the reception this was not acceptable. I did not need an Oxford tour: I know Oxford very well and given that I landed the UK at 6am that morning, all I care was a bed. It was then suggested to me that I should upgrade to a suite at an additional cost of £90. This was truly outrageous! Why should I be paying for the inability of the hotel to get its act together before the stipulated time? It was only after I showed clear dissatisfaction (and I did not appreciate the fact that I even have to try hard to register that fact - clearly they were not apologetic at all) that I was finally offered a complimentary drink at the bar. Of course I still have to wait till 4pm; tired and exhausted. Looking back the staff seemed to be rather annoyed that I was making a fuss. This led me to think that delays of this type is not uncommon ! Very disappointed indeed from a hotel supposedly of such repute. Randolph has truly seen better days!

Reviewed by
Jessie F

From Hong Kong
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Living on past glories
The Randolph has the best location in Oxford but it does not match the standards you would expect from somewhere this expensive. No specific complaints, just a sense that the place is a bit shabby, a bit amateurish and very much about surface snob appeal with a certain level of incompetence and cutting of corners when you get under the skin. This was an expensive night away for us and we wanted it to be perfect. It wasn't, from the rabbit warren interior (we went up and down stairs, along corridors and ended up completely lost the first time in search for our room) to the huge cost of little items like drinks at the bar, to staff at breakfast getting our order wrong: nothing fatal but the whole idea of 5 star service is perfection. What would they do without the abiding popularity of Inspector Morse?

Reviewed by
Simon Harries

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Little dissappointed at the star rating for this hotel, have been to several 5 star hotels with by far superior service, staff, i didn't think were very engaging and didn't feel one bit special.
No areas for smoking apart from standing on the front doorstep with the doormen, which I am sure the hotel would have preferred we didn't, but there was literally nowhere else to go, we had no choice.
But on the whole a comfortable hotel, near absolutely everything,

Reviewed by
Christine B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next