No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald The Randolph Hotel

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Beaumont Street , Oxford, OX1 2LN
The five star Macdonald Randolph Hotel is the only hotel of its kind situated in the heart of the City of Oxford, opposite the famous Ashmolean museum. The Randolph Hotel is renowned for impeccable service and its traditional values bestowing each guest with a memorable stay.

The Randolph offers 151 en-suite bedrooms, all of which have been designed to provide luxurious comfort and sensational style that each guest deserves. All bedrooms feature satellite television, mini-bar, tea and coffee making facilities and modern access points. For pure splendour, choose one of the Randolph’s deluxe suites, each with breath taking views of Oxford and luxury bathroom accessories. For that extra special occasion, our Four Poster room offers a delightful environment for you to relax in. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms. On site car parking is available at 28.50 GBP per night, pre-booking is essential at the time of booking.

The famous Randolph Afternoon Tea is served daily in the Drawing Room and will be sure to turn every bite into a mouthwatering delight, with a fine selection of homemade scones, cakes and sandwiches. After a busy day of work or pleasure, the famous Morse Bar provides the perfect environment to unwind, over a glass or two of their exquisite cocktails. For the ultimate in fine cuisine, look no further than the 2AA rosette awarded Randolph Restaurant, where the Maitre ‘D will wow you with his extensive culinary knowledge and flambé skills.

The Spa at The Randolph is a unique haven of tranquility hidden away in the hotels cellar. With its lantern lit walkway meandering down to four treatment rooms, aroma steam rooms, bio and rock saunas, ice fountain, hydrotherapy Jacuzzi and mini gym, you wouldn’t believe that you were relaxing under the busy City of Oxford.

The Randolph hotel is seamlessly in tune with the needs of the modern world, offering wedding, business and commercial services with a choice of 6 conference and banqueting suites, accommodating up to 300 guests. A prestigious venue and impeccable support services combine to make it the perfect choice for any event.
Picture of Macdonald The Randolph  Hotel, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in every way except oft the fire alarm going off in error at 01.15 am.

Reviewed by
Helen Bown

From Ferndown, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

couple from Cheshire
Spend much of my life in hotel s due to work and this was one of the best in the UK loved the staff and the service

Reviewed by
j dale

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our first stay in the Randolph
This is the best hotel with lots of nostalgia for us as we are keen Morse fans and this was the only place to stay whilst visiting Oxford.

Reviewed by
John K Preston

From Middlewich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel in Oxford
From the moment we walked in the door to the moment we left the entire experience was second to none. Friendly, efficient and a joy to deal with, the staff were excellent

Reviewed by
Anthony P

From Shirley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Randolph

Reviewed by
jennifer crome

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First visit to Oxford
Fantastic hotel. Morse Bar brilliant. Room excellent. Breakfast well worth having. Visit marred by gratuity added without asking. Since the hotel very pricey I think it's inappropriate to assume guests are all affluent.

Reviewed by
J L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a mid-range 4 star hotel at best. We asked to move room as ours was poky, with PVC windows and a view of a bare courtyard. Everything about it felt mean. Second room was an improvement. Breakfast service was dreadful, and we had to send the food back because it was undercooked. Restaurant staff simply could not cope with the number of guests. To add to this, Internet signal in both rooms was intermittent, and a wake-up call we ordered didn't happen. This is not what you expect from a 5 star hotel-especially one which is top-end expensive. The only thing that came near to a 5 star rating was the hotel's location. A huge let-down.

Reviewed by
Jayne B

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay in june 2014
Very beautiful hotel full of friendly and very helpful staff. The air conditioning was not working in our room so I called down, within minutes a member of staff was at the door, changed some settings and asked us to monitor, called back to check and all was well. Shortly after it stopped working again so we asked to move, very quick to show us another room and when I asked to move to it, they decided to upgrade us instead to a deluxe room where they knew the AC worked correctly, amazing surprise.
Had some delicious cocktails from the bar in the evening. Very nice breakfast made with good quality ingredients. Some nice touches in the hotel. Very happy and loved our stay. If I visit Oxford again, I know where to stay.

Reviewed by
Thomas Heath

From West Byfleet, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not up to 5* standard

Reviewed by
A Richardson

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well located central hotel

Reviewed by
J Hicks

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next