No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald The Randolph Hotel

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Beaumont Street , Oxford, OX1 2LN
The five star Macdonald Randolph Hotel is the only hotel of its kind situated in the heart of the City of Oxford, opposite the famous Ashmolean museum. The Randolph Hotel is renowned for impeccable service and its traditional values bestowing each guest with a memorable stay.

The Randolph offers 151 en-suite bedrooms, all of which have been designed to provide luxurious comfort and sensational style that each guest deserves. All bedrooms feature satellite television, mini-bar, tea and coffee making facilities and modern access points. For pure splendour, choose one of the Randolph’s deluxe suites, each with breath taking views of Oxford and luxury bathroom accessories. For that extra special occasion, our Four Poster room offers a delightful environment for you to relax in. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms. On site car parking is available at 28.50 GBP per night, pre-booking is essential at the time of booking.

The famous Randolph Afternoon Tea is served daily in the Drawing Room and will be sure to turn every bite into a mouthwatering delight, with a fine selection of homemade scones, cakes and sandwiches. After a busy day of work or pleasure, the famous Morse Bar provides the perfect environment to unwind, over a glass or two of their exquisite cocktails. For the ultimate in fine cuisine, look no further than the 2AA rosette awarded Randolph Restaurant, where the Maitre ‘D will wow you with his extensive culinary knowledge and flambé skills.

The Spa at The Randolph is a unique haven of tranquility hidden away in the hotels cellar. With its lantern lit walkway meandering down to four treatment rooms, aroma steam rooms, bio and rock saunas, ice fountain, hydrotherapy Jacuzzi and mini gym, you wouldn’t believe that you were relaxing under the busy City of Oxford.

The Randolph hotel is seamlessly in tune with the needs of the modern world, offering wedding, business and commercial services with a choice of 6 conference and banqueting suites, accommodating up to 300 guests. A prestigious venue and impeccable support services combine to make it the perfect choice for any event.
Picture of Macdonald The Randolph  Hotel, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Thank you

Reviewed by
Gill B

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, shame you have to pay extra for parking and spa
Spa and gym was extremely small. Not worth £15 per person
Also parking was
Very expensive £26 for 1 day, also took valet a while to collect car, would have been quicker to get it myself.
Hotel was was very good quality and staff were very nice - good customer service
Hotel is in a very central location, close to shopping and restaurants

Reviewed by
J Stobart

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at the Randolph
Myself and my husband had a wonderful time at this hotel. The location is perfect for strolling around the beautiful city of Oxford. Our room was spacious and clean with plenty of character. The service at this hotel is excellent and the staff made us feel very welcome. We had pre dinner drinks in the Morse bar which is very atmospheric - the cocktails are fabulous! We also took afternoon tea at the hotel. This room is lovely and cozy with fabulous views of the Ashmolean museum opposite - a perfect place for afternoon tea. Overall, we highly recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Tom D

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not stay in Room 258
Room 258 is right next door to the chamber maids storeroom and it can be really nosiy where they are moving cupboards and putting stuff on shelves. Did explain this to the receptiionist as the headboard in the room moves.
I was woken up early morning where they had started their rounds...

Reviewed by
Lianne Ascott

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old fashioned values
The Randolph is in the hub of the City. In our bedroom there was always a genteel quietness. The only problem encountered was when it rained, the roof leaked rainwater into the bedroom and bathroom. Staff couldn't have been more helpful or apologetic.

Reviewed by
Sue Roberts

From Chipping Campden, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab stay
A wonderful welcome set the standard and this continued for our entire stay with everyone being extremely helpful and accommodating. Locations was perfect and would thoroughly recommend this hotel for that special occasion stay.

Reviewed by
S Giggle

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we went for our golden wedding annivesary and thought the service was excellent

Reviewed by
G Davis

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oxford enthusiast
The room was. Excellent. The dinner menu was pathetically small in choice. The bar has very overpriced drinks as has the dinner wine list. For a 5 star hotel the dinner menu was unacceptable . I am not surprised that the restaurant was al
Most empty!

Reviewed by
Jack S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel lives on reputation but doesn't live up to it. Overall very Disappointed
Hotel looked tierd in places.
Reception staff very helpful also Concierge . Very rude French barman who didn't make eye contact with his Customers. Argued with my Husband when told his beer was not quite cold.
Spa was left untidy in the changing area, i had to remove dirty towels and robes from the changing cubicles before getting changed. Complimentary Flip flops looked well worn, although sanitized.
Very disappointed by this Hotel for a five star, over rated i think.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Randolph Oxford
The atmosphere in the hotel, the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff is excellent. The food is to die for especially after a drink in the very cosy bar. The only slight downside is that the standard room (such as we had) is not really worthy of a hotel of this class.

Reviewed by
Colin C

From Tenterden, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next