Reviews - Macdonald The Randolph Hotel

5

Beaumont Street, Oxford, OX1 2LN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (41)

66% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • T Marlow

  • November 2014

Meh..

For £289 a room, you'd expect a docking station that worked with iPhone 5s first of all.

Staff were a little robotic for my liking, prefer a little more of a personality from hotel staff not just reading from a cue card, cardboard approach. Makes it all feel a little superficial and bland. Bar staff were competent and knowledgeable but was hard to engage them, as I suppose is what it's supposed to be like. The whole experience was a little cold and insipid. Could have done with transport from arrival on the floor we were staying on as room was miles away. View was poor. Car parking is an extra as is everything else. If Ryanair did hotels, this is probably what it would be like. On the flip side, good location. Errors were made, car park charge only levied when settling the bill, refund was given. Well done Daniel. You're an asset.

  • H Lassen

  • November 2014

Fabulous

Macdonald The Randolph Hotel was a fabulous experience.

And all the money worth. Definitely a place we will love to come back to.

  • Graeme Bowen

  • October 2014

Elegant Comfort at the Randolph

The Randolph offers elegant comfort entirely appropriate to the location.

  • W Cooper

  • October 2014

Randolph hotel

Nice enough hotel.

Good service and the staff remembered your name but I do think it is living on past glories.

  • Jessie F

  • October 2014

Have seen better days

I arrived at 2:50pm on the day of my booking and was told unceremoniously that my room was not ready until after 4pm.

No explanation was given as to why it was not ready by the supposed time of 2pm, according to the terms of booking. It was suggested to me that I come back after an Oxford tour by which time the room should be ready. I told the reception this was not acceptable. I did not need an Oxford tour: I know Oxford very well and given that I landed the UK at 6am that morning, all I care was a bed. It was then suggested to me that I should upgrade to a suite at an additional cost of £90. This was truly outrageous. Why should I be paying for the inability of the hotel to get its act together before the stipulated time. It was only after I showed clear dissatisfaction (and I did not appreciate the fact that I even have to try hard to register that fact - clearly they were not apologetic at all) that I was finally offered a complimentary drink at the bar. Of course I still have to wait till 4pm; tired and exhausted. Looking back the staff seemed to be rather annoyed that I was making a fuss. This led me to think that delays of this type is not uncommon . Very disappointed indeed from a hotel supposedly of such repute. Randolph has truly seen better days!

  • Simon Harries

  • October 2014

Living on past glories

The Randolph has the best location in Oxford but it does not match the standards you would expect from somewhere this expensive.

No specific complaints, just a sense that the place is a bit shabby, a bit amateurish and very much about surface snob appeal with a certain level of incompetence and cutting of corners when you get under the skin. This was an expensive night away for us and we wanted it to be perfect. It wasn't, from the rabbit warren interior (we went up and down stairs, along corridors and ended up completely lost the first time in search for our room) to the huge cost of little items like drinks at the bar, to staff at breakfast getting our order wrong: nothing fatal but the whole idea of 5 star service is perfection. What would they do without the abiding popularity of Inspector Morse?

  • Christine B

  • October 2014

A Little dissappointed at the star rating for this hotel, have been to several 5 star hotels with by far superior service, staff, i didn't think were very engaging and didn't feel one bit special.

No areas for smoking apart from standing on the front doorstep with the doormen, which I am sure the hotel would have preferred we didn't, but there was literally nowhere else to go, we had no choice. But on the whole a comfortable hotel, near absolutely everything,

  • Helen Bown

  • September 2014

Excellent in every way except oft the fire alarm going off in error at 01.15 am.

  • j dale

  • August 2014

couple from Cheshire

Spend much of my life in hotel s due to work and this was one of the best in the UK loved the staff and the service

  • John K Preston

  • August 2014

Our first stay in the Randolph

This is the best hotel with lots of nostalgia for us as we are keen Morse fans and this was the only place to stay whilst visiting Oxford.