You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

4

Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3DF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (57)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Smith

  • April 2016

Great location

Right in the centre of bowness

  • G Collier

  • January 2016

Winter break in a spa at the lake district

  • L Inman

  • November 2015

Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Expensive and poor evening meal

  • Steven A

  • November 2015

Nice but expensive

The hotel was very nice overlooking Lake Windermere but the pool facilities are not great and there was the added expense for parking (£10 a day) which they don't mention till you are there.

  • Ian Jackson

  • October 2015

Fantastic upgrade on arrival really comfy bed great location and good quality food very helpful professional staff

  • a webb

  • October 2015

25th wedding anniversary

a fantastic hotel, staff so helpful & friendly a real relaxing 1 night break

  • I Wallace

  • October 2015

great getaway

Fantastic hotel and location ,most helpful staff,lake view a must

  • karen b

  • September 2015

Fabulous room, location of hotel and lovely relaxed atmosphere

Lovely hotel.

Ideal location for all aspects of Bowness. Parked the car and did not need it until departure . All staff pleasant and helpful but unfortunately, the restaurant needs a little more organisation on the service offered. On 2 occasions when eating in the restaurant, we had cause to point out that we had been "forgotten" and had to wait extensively for orders taken to served. If you intend to use the Spa, I would suggest you book treatments before you go. Very difficult to get appointments, but did manage to get a cancellation. The treatment was excellent and well worth changing our days plans for.

  • Beverley W

  • August 2015

Disappointment

Overpriced even in high season!!!!.

For 2 people we paid almost £400 for 1 room, 1 night, and breakfast. The deluxe room was advertised as spacious. It certainly was not. We asked for twin beds. We were given a double bed that separated. To be fair the shower was good and the views were of the garden and Lake. However, everybody sitting in the garden could see right into the room so there was absolutely no privacy. The food was excellent but of course the lunches and dinners are extra. In short it was a lot of money for a room that we could only access from 4.00 through to 11.00 AM ( 19 hours) and 2 breakfasts. The hotel does have a nice Spa but there was a problem with getting robes before 4.00. Finally short staffed at lunch time, I saw some customers just walking away because service took too long and there was the occasional bickering amongst staff that spoilt the atmosphere.

  • E Bilton

  • April 2015

What a view!

With stunning scenery and ideal location, this hotel is a little gem.

The only downside is that you don't have easy access to your car due to it being parked by a valet. However, the hotel and location make up for it. I would recommend staying here for a short spa break as the facilities are outstanding and the staff very helpful. Eating breakfast overlooking Lake Windermere was an absolute luxury which we would definitely like to do again.