You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

4

Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3DF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (54)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • RACHEL C

  • August 2016

Nice but hidden costs

Lovely hotel and we had a free upgrade, but you are charged £10 per night and £5 per day for parking

  • Stephen C

  • July 2016

Sadly too brief

The hotel has special significance for my partner and I ,having spent time there when we became a couple and staying there a couple of times in the three years since.

Unfortunately we only had time for a one night stay on this occasion but everything about the hotel still managed to give us a special experience . The staff were all very pleasant and professional ,the pool and spa facilities were excellent,the food was outstanding and the room,number 320, was the icing on the cake with a beautiful view across the lake. I look forward to spending many more occasions at this quality hotel after this latest experience.

  • Peter G

  • July 2016

General

Hotel and Staff were excellent .When we arrived decided to have a coffee in lounge as room not ready, we were early, but coffee machine not working do you only have one.

I think toast at breakfast should be served from kitchens as DIY toaster not very efficient only toasted one side at a time.Food overall and service were very good.

  • P Cross

  • June 2016

2 night break

We both enjoyed our stay at this hotel in Bowness.

The breakfasts were lovely. We were lucky to have the sunshine, so this was a bonus.

  • E Quayle

  • May 2016

Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

It was the second time we have stayed here and it was everything we could have wanted, even down to little extra touches like the young pianist on the Saturday evening, he played all night and was really talented.

We really enjoyed his playing. The valet parking is excellent & I particularly enjoyed the quality and variety of choice of the continental breakfast as I personally don't favor a cooked breakfast, which was also available.

  • A Smith

  • April 2016

Great location

Right in the centre of bowness

  • G Collier

  • January 2016

Winter break in a spa at the lake district

  • L Inman

  • November 2015

Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Expensive and poor evening meal

  • Steven A

  • November 2015

Nice but expensive

The hotel was very nice overlooking Lake Windermere but the pool facilities are not great and there was the added expense for parking (£10 a day) which they don't mention till you are there.

  • Ian Jackson

  • October 2015

Fantastic upgrade on arrival really comfy bed great location and good quality food very helpful professional staff