No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Church Street , Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3DF
On the shores of England’s largest lake, the Old England occupies an unrivalled location on the shores of Lake Windermere with stunning views to the fells beyond. It is ideal for exploring the Lake District national park and its many attractions.
Located in the heart of Bowness village, this elegant Victorian mansion is superbly furnished with fine antiques. The hotel is ideal for access to the lake itself as well as its many unique shops and visitor attractions. Enjoy a drink in the Terrace bar and then dinner in the Rosette awarded Vinand restaurant, which provides panoramic views of the lake as well as fine cuisine. Attractive gardens lead down to our own jetties.
The hotel provides the finest Spa facilities in the area, perfect for relaxing after a hard day exploring, or simply pamper yourself in the tranquil environment that is the spa, with a range of treatments to rejuvenate and awaken your senses.

The Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is delighted to provide our guests with a full valet parking service, charged at £5 for a day visit (less than five hours) or £10 for an overnight stay. Pre-booking is advisable, particularly for weekend stays.

A £400k investment in Boardrooms, Bar, Lounge and Public Areas is now complete.
Picture of Macdonald Old England  Hotel & Spa, Bowness-on-Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

could have been a lot better.
room was good but not great,but we where directly above the hotels air conditioning outlet,which was on 24 hours,it kept us awake the first night.shower knob was loose ,considering the weekend room only was 408,it could and should have been a lot better.

Reviewed by
c clarke

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old england
My wife and I had a good break only two problems first when we tried to order the cream tea that was part of the package booked on late rooms we sat on the bar patio we waited for the waiter to take our order and waited for a long time in the end we asked to speak to the duty manager who im pleased to say sorted the problem the second problem was on checking out the receptionist had no record of the cream tea and tried to charge us this was only sorted when we retrieved the booking email from the bin in our room quite embarasing but once proof was shown it was sorted quickly this may be a problem on the side of laterooms I don't know. Small things I know but it happened other than that we enjoyed our stay and the spa facilities are fantastic

Reviewed by
david m

From Prenton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice relaxing weekend away
Brilliant hotel nice location, rooms nice and clean and kept in good order. Bar is a bit expensive but was a nice evening in there. Overall it was a really nice relaxing weekend :)

Reviewed by
S Burrows

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

top quality break in the lakes

Reviewed by
Adrian Clark

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
A little concerned after reading some reviews so we were very pleasantly surprised. Can't get a more convenient spot, lakeside, literally by the boats at the bottom of town. Car is parked of site in hotel car park but it is literally two minutes away and they will park it for you so you can drop your bags at the door. Nice standard of decor, traditional but not too dated. We had an executive double room, large room, lovely bathroom and the comfiest soft bed ever. No view but we weren't worried by that. Very close to the bars and shops at the bottom of bowness, which was lively on Saturday night, but this didn't cause us any noise problems. Early helpful staff. Only slight fault was the breakfast service could have been a little better, but we weren't rushing so it didn't really matter and the dining room has a fab view.and was good value via late rooms. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Heather M

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely views on windermere, rooms very clean, staff are really nice they will go out of there way.
Off site parking by the staff which is nice, so youu have a quick and easy check in,
The hotel is in the town center, bar shops etc
I will be going back soon

Reviewed by
S Morrod

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing View
We booked a lake view room, for the one night, which was stunning from each window. The room was clean and spacious. Comfy bed although the pillows were a bit too soft but thats just a personal thing. All the staff we encountered were polite , helpful and lovely. The breakfast wasn't as good as we had expected. I had the cold buffet ( which was extensive ) whilst my partner went for the warm option. Not very much choice or decent portion size he tells me.
We had drinks on the terrace overlooking the lake in the evening and the breakfast sitting was also overlooking the fabulous view.
The car park was not situated near the hotel but the staff take your car for you and bring it back when checking out so you dont have to carry your luggage.
Overall we had a lovely stay and we definately go back.

Reviewed by
J Lancaster

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late rooms late sleep
Arrival was difficult as parking was full. Did not get to sleep until middle of night due to noise outside our rooms. Several staff were very helpful. View from dining room at breakfast was great. But overall, not what I had hoped for

Reviewed by
M Scott

From Bordon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
Went for one of the best hotels, wish I hadn't bothered. Poor rooms, poor customer service, terrible parking (blocked in for ages) would not recommend

Reviewed by
Lee L

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food
Lovely room with lake view. Excellent food both at breakfast and in the bar. Extremely comfortable.

Reviewed by
S King

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next