No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Church Street , Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3DF
On the shores of England’s largest lake, the Old England occupies an unrivalled location on the shores of Lake Windermere with stunning views to the fells beyond. It is ideal for exploring the Lake District national park and its many attractions.
Located in the heart of Bowness village, this elegant Victorian mansion is superbly furnished with fine antiques. The hotel is ideal for access to the lake itself as well as its many unique shops and visitor attractions. Enjoy a drink in the Terrace bar and then dinner in the Rosette awarded Vinand restaurant, which provides panoramic views of the lake as well as fine cuisine. Attractive gardens lead down to our own jetties.
The hotel provides the finest Spa facilities in the area, perfect for relaxing after a hard day exploring, or simply pamper yourself in the tranquil environment that is the spa, with a range of treatments to rejuvenate and awaken your senses.

The Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is delighted to provide our guests with a full valet parking service, charged at £5 for a day visit (less than five hours) or £10 for an overnight stay. Pre-booking is advisable, particularly for weekend stays.

A £400k investment in Boardrooms, Bar, Lounge and Public Areas is now complete.
Picture of Macdonald Old England  Hotel & Spa, Bowness-on-Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel was brilliant the staff were excellent it was very good well worth the stay
staff excellent. very clean rooms. hotel was brilliant. enjoyed our stay. would definitely be going back.

Reviewed by
david emmerson

From durham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
You need to book the spa before you go as on the day you may not get a booking. Pool is good.

Reviewed by
Garry newton

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Ever Stay
We loved this hotel and experience. Could not fault anything whatsoever. It was like home from home but without the washing up. Would definitely book again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Reviewed by
Julie A

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Follow up on complaint.
Our room was small but as we only slept in it so was ok, we did find (on first use) the white hair dryer in drawer was very faulty and overheating. There were signs off this not being the first overheat by the melted plastic on the element on further inspection.(PAT test sticker unreadable) I unplugged it from mains.We then found another hairdryer in the chest of drawers, it had a PAT test sticker (unreadable) so we used that. We reported the faulty appliance to reception who said it would be taken care of.
We stayed 3 nights and the faulty hairdryer was still there, before leaving i left a note in the drawer on the hairdryer telling the next guests not to use and stating was a fire and/or safety hazard.
As it was wired through the drawer i could do no more. I do feel the hotel let themselves down badly by not following this up in any way, apart from that it is a good hotel.

Reviewed by
richard hanmer

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
Would definitely return again, great price from Late Rooms

Reviewed by
M Robinson

From Tyne Wear, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Costly but sickening
When we arrived the service was excellant though i didnt like leaving my car and house hold keys with the valet service though was assured no problem, room great reception rubbish didnt listen to us as guests, food greasy full of fat and made me ill for rest of our stay, level of service rubbish after being looked at from head to toe then thought of as the lowest of the low by the reception staff, who did their upmost to ignore us, the service staff ( bar man, waitresses) were excellant though no faults.
On leaving a day early because of my stomach problems and general unwell because of fatty food served in hotel, bags were not carried, bill was lower priced but then mistake and new high price, my car had clear signs of use inside the radio which was off on our arrival had been retuned and turned on loudly, the engine had been run as my onboard camera was out of memory ( normally 32gb enough for a week, not three days) Plus I complained about the smell of paint (gloss which i dont like) and the constant of the fire alarm going off while i was trying to rest after feeling much worse, only to be greeted with theres nothing we could do . Nothing was stated about the constant fire alarm i didnt know if it was a fire or problem with it. We also had problems with the shower being cold and not draining plus the TV didnt work on the last day either (no signal)
The shower was fixed but to find this on the first day and evening was totally unacceptable for a hotel of this rating.
I left my address Phone number and email address after being told the Manager would contact me , I am still waiting 3 days later without contact!!!!!!

Reviewed by
Mike Darragh

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Honest Opinion.
This is a fantastic Hotel in an excellent location to explore the sights of Bowness on Windermere.
The Spa facilities are brill, pool, steam room, sauna, ice room and tropical shower. No Jacuzzi though. They have all the facilties for treatments if reqiuired.
The lounge rooms and bars are all fantastic with unparalleled views as is the dining area. I would love to have that view of the lake every morning.
The room we had was a little on the tiny side, with only a small walking area round the bed. No coffee or tea making facilities in the room, if you want to just chill and make yourself a cuppa.
The bed banging against the wall was very noisy if your having any fun, which was very embarrassing. I half expected a queue of judges outside giving me marks out of 10 for effort put in.
I had emailed prior to arrival asking for a lakeside view and enquiring about dinner menu`s, and I have still not received a reply which is unusual as the quality of customer service really is fantastic. The staff can not do enough to help and make your stay totally stress free.
This wont be the last time I visit this hotel, Im hoping to go back at some point during the summer.
You really feel looked after and welcome.

Reviewed by
steven b

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

classic room ????
paid for a classic room but received an accessibility room instead for disabled person. don't know how this happened but room was clean and comfortable. think better communication between laterooms and old England hotel should be looked into and what you are actually getting for your money. overall a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
w Emanuel

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Excellent location on lakeside.staff extremely helpful. Drinks are very expensive

Reviewed by
Barry S

From Ellesmere, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb place
The staff took this Hotel to another level,everyone helpfull and enjoying there work ensuring we had the perfect two day break,valet parking service was a great touch.my extra requests for the room sorted with no fuss,room available 3 hours before check in made for a pleasent change from other hotels i have stayed in

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next