No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Church Street , Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3DF
On the shores of England’s largest lake, the Old England occupies an unrivalled location on the shores of Lake Windermere with stunning views to the fells beyond. It is ideal for exploring the Lake District national park and its many attractions.
Located in the heart of Bowness village, this elegant Victorian mansion is superbly furnished with fine antiques. The hotel is ideal for access to the lake itself as well as its many unique shops and visitor attractions. Enjoy a drink in the Terrace bar and then dinner in the Rosette awarded Vinand restaurant, which provides panoramic views of the lake as well as fine cuisine. Attractive gardens lead down to our own jetties.
The hotel provides the finest Spa facilities in the area, perfect for relaxing after a hard day exploring, or simply pamper yourself in the tranquil environment that is the spa, with a range of treatments to rejuvenate and awaken your senses.

The Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is delighted to provide our guests with a full valet parking service, charged at £5 for a day visit (less than five hours) or £10 for an overnight stay. Pre-booking is advisable, particularly for weekend stays.

A £400k investment in Boardrooms, Bar, Lounge and Public Areas is now complete.
Picture of Macdonald Old England  Hotel & Spa, Bowness-on-Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excelent short break
we had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. staff were very friendly and helpful and room was clean and well equipped. hotel was in a good position with great lake view from our room.

Reviewed by
david w

From paisley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wont do it again.
The hotel receptionist was friendly and helpful. The surroundings downstairs look really nice. The food is good too. However the room, which was a lake view room was a big let down. TV only has a few of the channels that they list, the wifi is almost non existent. Gave up on it in the end. The shower produces hardly any water and with almost no pressure. The bathroom has missing and damaged tiles. The drinks prices are shocking and parking costs a ripoff. After pay a premium for a supposedly good hotel we both felt we would have been better off in a travelodge.

Reviewed by
K MacIver

From Shetland, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff and service
We stayed at the old McDonald for our friends 50th. From the moment we arrived the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Having stayed in plenty of hotels we found the staff at this hotel to be the best we have experienced anywhere.
The dinner in the hotel was excellent too - would highly recommend it.
We look forward to our next visit with our family.

Reviewed by
J Hardy

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Welcoming , very comfortable , great views from room and everywhere you looked. Great staff , lovely food and great location .

Reviewed by
derek W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday weekend in november
We stayed at this hotel in november 2014, we arrived late due to traffic but still had a lovely warm welcome. The room was spotless and the view of the lake was amazing! Breakfast the next morning was great and the staff we're really helpful. We had fresh fruit, cereal, toast and a variety of pastries. This was before they brought out a full cooked breakfast of your choice! We also had tea and fresh fruit juice! It was delicious.

Reviewed by
B Snell

From Caldicot, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel but a couple of problems
Hotel is excellent, only gripe they charged £10 for car parking, which after what you pay for accommodation food and drink is a bit much· Also breakfast was poor got a cocktail size sausage and half a rasher of bacon, Staff were excellent and cannot be faulted.

Reviewed by
grant bargh

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well situated and comfortable
excellent staff but over priced

Reviewed by
jack honeybill

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Have stayed at this hotel before. Parking was free. On checking out I had to pay for this.
I was disgusted on checking out of this hotel that, as a resident, I had to pay £10 a day for parking. On previous stays at this hotel, and in Bath, parking was free to residents. In 2 weeks time I shall park at Leeds Bradford airport whilst flying to Tenerife. The total cost is £48.60, including shuttle to airport. Needless to say, I shall not be visiting Macdonalds hotels again. Their attitude to residents, on presenting a bill on checking out as a "goodbye" gesture, is just mean!!

Reviewed by
E Hartley

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st Class
We were very impressed with the accommodation, very spacious and had fantastic views over the Lake. The complimentary champagne and chocolates was a delightful surprise and very welcome as it was my Husbands birthday! We dined in the Restaurant and the food was superb. We will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Vivienne M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel. but the pool area lets its down.
Pool and sauna area was dirty.

Reviewed by
judith d

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next