No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Church Street , Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3DF
On the shores of England’s largest lake, the Old England occupies an unrivalled location on the shores of Lake Windermere with stunning views to the fells beyond. It is ideal for exploring the Lake District national park and its many attractions.
Located in the heart of Bowness village, this elegant Victorian mansion is superbly furnished with fine antiques. The hotel is ideal for access to the lake itself as well as its many unique shops and visitor attractions. Enjoy a drink in the Terrace bar and then dinner in the Rosette awarded Vinand restaurant, which provides panoramic views of the lake as well as fine cuisine. Attractive gardens lead down to our own jetties.
The hotel provides the finest Spa facilities in the area, perfect for relaxing after a hard day exploring, or simply pamper yourself in the tranquil environment that is the spa, with a range of treatments to rejuvenate and awaken your senses.

The Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is delighted to provide our guests with a full valet parking service, charged at £5 for a day visit (less than five hours) or £10 for an overnight stay. Pre-booking is advisable, particularly for weekend stays.

A £400k investment in Boardrooms, Bar, Lounge and Public Areas is now complete.
Picture of Macdonald Old England  Hotel & Spa, Bowness-on-Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent hotel would definitely go again
Excellent hotel well worth the visit. Ideal base for a visit to the area.

Reviewed by
John B

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
We had a fantastic weekend service was excellent ! The hotel was immaculate ! And the good was second to none! Would stay again without question .

Reviewed by
darren clawson

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a visit to the lakes
The Hotel was first class

Reviewed by
James Donaldson

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely but needs work
fantastic views from the room over the lake but the room was very small and needed a fair amount of work to bring it up to standard, the tiles in the bathroom had been patched with completely different tiles there was wood glued to the floor under the radiator unpainted and the taps were completely different, amazing for such a nice hotel. The main part of the room had chipboard again not painted as a partition wall to the bathroom again not what you expect for such a pricey hotel.
staff were wonderful as was the food and the location, would stay again in a better room. Spa was excellent.

Reviewed by
phillip a

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

super break
Excellent hotel best we have stayed in in lake district,staff helpful and friendly especially Vanessa on reception,pool and spa lovely and relaxing .enjoyed meals staff very attentive,have booked again for jan.

Reviewed by
J Lott

From Nelson, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

AMAZING!!
I have to say I was a little worried booking this hotel as I had read the reviews but so glad I took the chance. The staff cold not do enough to make our stay special and the extra we paid for the superior room was so worth it. the room was gorgeous facilities were great and the breakfast is Amazing with the opportunity to over look the lake. definitely will return

Reviewed by
A Holland

From St Andrews, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Hotel is in a fabulous location great for sightseeing. A touch on the expensive side especially drinks in the bar would recommend going to one of the local bars.

Reviewed by
Lorraine B

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience that meets all expectation. Faultless
Well located hotel for shoppers or walkers. This 4x hotel does not dissapoint. The pool and spa offer a quiet space or, time to join in aquaaerobic s. Lots of hotel space including a library. Views of lake Windemere are a real delight and uninterrupted.

Reviewed by
clare b

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old england hotel.lake windermere
breathtaking view from our room,and views continue around hotel dining room lounge and terrace.
all areas very comfortable. staff go out of their way to help .only criticism. room a tad small.food a little pricey only got 2 biscuits with cheese board.!!
particularly liked the spa and complimentary wine in room.

Reviewed by
angela p

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay at Old England
Fantastic location, amazing staff and a quality breakfast with views to die for!

Reviewed by
James M

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next