No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Church Street , Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3DF
On the shores of England’s largest lake, the Old England occupies an unrivalled location on the shores of Lake Windermere with stunning views to the fells beyond. It is ideal for exploring the Lake District national park and its many attractions.
Located in the heart of Bowness village, this elegant Victorian mansion is superbly furnished with fine antiques. The hotel is ideal for access to the lake itself as well as its many unique shops and visitor attractions. Enjoy a drink in the Terrace bar and then dinner in the Rosette awarded Vinand restaurant, which provides panoramic views of the lake as well as fine cuisine. Attractive gardens lead down to our own jetties.
The hotel provides the finest Spa facilities in the area, perfect for relaxing after a hard day exploring, or simply pamper yourself in the tranquil environment that is the spa, with a range of treatments to rejuvenate and awaken your senses.

The Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is delighted to provide our guests with a full valet parking service, charged at £5 for a day visit (less than five hours) or £10 for an overnight stay. Pre-booking is advisable, particularly for weekend stays.

A £400k investment in Boardrooms, Bar, Lounge and Public Areas is now complete.
Picture of Macdonald Old England  Hotel & Spa, Bowness-on-Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing View
We booked a lake view room, for the one night, which was stunning from each window. The room was clean and spacious. Comfy bed although the pillows were a bit too soft but thats just a personal thing. All the staff we encountered were polite , helpful and lovely. The breakfast wasn't as good as we had expected. I had the cold buffet ( which was extensive ) whilst my partner went for the warm option. Not very much choice or decent portion size he tells me.
We had drinks on the terrace overlooking the lake in the evening and the breakfast sitting was also overlooking the fabulous view.
The car park was not situated near the hotel but the staff take your car for you and bring it back when checking out so you dont have to carry your luggage.
Overall we had a lovely stay and we definately go back.

Reviewed by
J Lancaster

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
Went for one of the best hotels, wish I hadn't bothered. Poor rooms, poor customer service, terrible parking (blocked in for ages) would not recommend

Reviewed by
Lee L

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late rooms late sleep
Arrival was difficult as parking was full. Did not get to sleep until middle of night due to noise outside our rooms. Several staff were very helpful. View from dining room at breakfast was great. But overall, not what I had hoped for

Reviewed by
M Scott

From Bordon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food
Lovely room with lake view. Excellent food both at breakfast and in the bar. Extremely comfortable.

Reviewed by
S King

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Excellent hotel, great view, excellent service.
Slightly disappointed wifi wasn't explained to me for my phone, I heard how it could be obtained as I was leaving & heard another receptionist explaining it to a new guest. Also no option of pay per view Sky.

Reviewed by
J Francis

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
We fully enjoyed our nights stay and can't wait to visit the hotel again in the summer time.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent hotel would definitely go again
Excellent hotel well worth the visit. Ideal base for a visit to the area.

Reviewed by
John B

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
We had a fantastic weekend service was excellent ! The hotel was immaculate ! And the good was second to none! Would stay again without question .

Reviewed by
darren clawson

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a visit to the lakes
The Hotel was first class

Reviewed by
James Donaldson

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely but needs work
fantastic views from the room over the lake but the room was very small and needed a fair amount of work to bring it up to standard, the tiles in the bathroom had been patched with completely different tiles there was wood glued to the floor under the radiator unpainted and the taps were completely different, amazing for such a nice hotel. The main part of the room had chipboard again not painted as a partition wall to the bathroom again not what you expect for such a pricey hotel.
staff were wonderful as was the food and the location, would stay again in a better room. Spa was excellent.

Reviewed by
phillip a

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next