No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Vauxhall Hotel

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
87 South Lambeth Road , London, SW8 1RN
Vauxhall Hotel is situated on the south bank of River Thames. Simply a few minute’s walk from Vauxhall Bridge from where you can see the 2 Wonders of Britain The Houses of Parliament and the London Eye. Waterloo International Terminal, Victoria for Gatwick Express, Tate Britain Gallery, Westminster and other major attractions are all within easy reach from the hotel along with some famous theatres, restaurant, wine bars and pubs. The area is an excellent place to stay, with attractive parks, good local shopping, including lots of cafes and restaurants, and excellent transport links, Oxford Circus and Bank are both about 10 minutes by tube. Free wifi is availble
Please note: Between 19th November 2013 until 30th September 2014 refurbishments of the property will be taking place.
Lift services will be suspended from 10th July 2014 till 18th September 2014

Picture of Vauxhall Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is undoing some building work but this will not affect your visit at all. The accommodation is immaculate and appears brand new. The hotel is a five minute walk from Vauxhall tube station with the Victoria line taking just the one change to deliver you to Central London. Whilst walking to the tube, you pass Vauxhall Park which has a lovely little cafe near the gate. We stopped for breakfast there and found it to be good value. Although the hotel was fine, I would try and stay closer to the city next time.

Reviewed by
R Canning

From Saltash, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfort inn, not that comfortable
When a hotel is having major renovations there is a point that must be considered, can we trade as our customers expect and unfortunatly this hotel needed to be closed. No working lifts, no resturant for dinner or breakfast, very frustrating. Stairs with carpet protectors making them a hazard and tolleys full of provisions at the bottom of stairwells. However, the room was clean and the receptionist helpful. When the work is completed I would expect the stay to be fine.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Vauxhall hotel
Very clean spacious and modern room , very good value and we'll situated for the London attractions

Reviewed by
David J

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location, easy to get to and very clean.

Reviewed by
Lara C

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reserve a parking space! Good central hotel.
We chose this hotel as we were visiting London to go to the theatre, it was very close to the location and all major tourist sites we wanted to see. The hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment so there was a lot of work men about and areas sectioned off, it didn't bother us but it might some people. The noise was very minimal.
The rooms were basic but satisfactory and clean. Bed wasn't of great comfort but did manage some sleep.
Overall it was a nice stay, and done the job.
You need to deserve a parking space although they do not tell you this when booking as there are only a handful of spaces!

Reviewed by
C Curtis

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and but no A.C. so not a comfortable stay!
Everything was fine, staff were pleasant however the air conditioning in the room was impossible to figure out and the staff seemed unable to help. When it is 30 degrees outside and there is obviously an air conditioning unit I thought it was miserly not to be able to use it!

Reviewed by
JONATHAN ASHWORTH

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thought it was a building site
Thought it was a building site. As you approached the whole building is covered in scaffolding and there were workmen in and out of reception. However the room was excellent, recently refurnished and very clean and comfortable and quiet. If the room is the standard that the hotel would be when refurbishment is finished then it will be a very nice place. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment on the food.

Reviewed by
P Giles

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, Reasonable,
The Room was clean and tidy. Had four single beds in one room so excellent for sharing with friends. The hotel is in a good location for Clapham, Vauxhall and Connecting to central London. The price was okay I suppose for London but not the best Hotel I have stayed in for the Price.
The only negatives, being the Windows in the Room were not good, as I could hear the noise from the street despite closing all the windows and being at the back of the Hotel. The security Box had Spanish instructions, so abit strange and the extract fan in the Bathroom did not work well.
7 out 10 in my opinion.

Reviewed by
P Bundy

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extra bed
There were three adults on this trip and although I didn't mind sleeping in the bunk bed as I am only small , I have to say it was terrible,. every time I moved it mad a extremley loud screeching noise from the metal, luckily we were only there for one night and no body was on the top bunk. metal

Reviewed by
D Patterson

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Air conditioning broken so uncomfortably warm at night.
Great cafe in nearby Vauxhall park for breakfast

Reviewed by
malcolm d

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next