Reviews - Macdonald Alveston Manor

4

Banbury Road,Stratford-Upon-Avon,Warwickshire, Stratford upon Avon, CV37 7HP

Price From 236.77 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (48)

75% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • adam g

  • September 2015

well situated, Room was a bit tired

The hotel itself was very well situated and only a 5 minute walk into town, however I felt the £250 per night fee was a bit high considering the size of the room and it was also rather tired.

  • Emma H

  • August 2015

Good location but that's what you pay for

We have stayed here before and enjoyed our time in Stratford.

The hotel is nice and in a good location but the price of the rooms really only reflect the location of the hotel and the proximity to the town centre rather than quality and size etc. The rooms are small and dated and in comparison to other hotels in other towns are over priced for what they are. The breakfast is ok but again I have had better. I also booked the hotel room ten days before we went but they didn't take the payment out until the day that we stayed which I found poor as I believed I had paid at the time of booking

  • M Ray

  • August 2015

Enjoyable

We stayed at the Macdonald Alverston in Stratford upon Avon for 3 nights.

This hotel is in a great location about a 5 minute walk to the centre. We only ate in the hotel one night, my husband had the ribeye steak and was very disappointed with the thickness, it was more like a "minute steak". The breakfast was very nice although one morning we had to wait nearly an hour for porridge and scrambled egg on toast. The room is one of the noisiest we have ever stayed in with creeky floorboards and very thin walls. This was our first stay at a Macdonald hotel and we were a bit disappointed but will probably try another Macdonald as the reviews in general are very good.

  • Amie H

  • August 2015

5* location 4* hotel with 2* rooms.

  • geoff jenkins

  • April 2015

Macdonald Alveston Manor

Very friendly clear hotel next time will use the spa.

  • timothy m

  • March 2015

disappointing and embarrassing

After booking with laterooms and agreeing a price for 1 night.

I didn't receive a confirmation email so i called the hotel the night before we arrived to confirm reservation which they did. when we arrived the receptionist said we had booked for a different date altogether. when we explained that we called the hotel prior to arriving as we didn't receive a confirmation email, she didn't seem interested in helping out, i think she was Eastern European and maybe there was a language problem going on with us. I asked to see the manager or someone in charge but was declined promptly. And was told if we were to stay the night then we would have to pay about £180 for one night instead of the agreed amount which was a lot less.I looked on the internet via my phone and showed the receptionist the lower advertised price but she told us that there was nothing she could do. As there were other people in the reception area, it was becoming quite embarrassing for my wife and I so I just paid the amount required as we were otherwise stuck for somewhere to stay. I asked for the manager to contact me during the stay to try and rectify the problem but I heard nothing whatsoever until we had left the day after when the manager did call me back. I was driving at the time, my wife answered the phone and asked him to call back in a short while, but to date I have heard nothing from him or anyone else associated with the hotel. A bit of a shame really as the hotel in general was quite lovely, the food was great, the situation was spot on, just left with a bad taste in our mouths on what should have been a simple issue to sort out.

  • rebecca g

  • February 2015

Beautiful place ! Shocking experience ! 4 rooms later!

My partner and I decided to get away for a birthday treat.

It started to go wrong over a hour into the drive and only half way there, the room was double booked so we had to have a twin for the first night, ok no problem things happen. 3.30am can't sleep due to a loud continuous sound coming from the pipes, we contact the desk and the night porter comes to listen and can't understand where the sound is coming from. So arranged to move us rooms only to painfully walk through the hotel to another cold room with the same problem, thanks but no thanks at least our first room was warm. 5.30am was last look at the clock. Fire alarms go off at 6.30. Ok day two and a lot of sorry sorry from the management and we get upgraded to a beautiful room only problem was after a day out tired and exploring the sites we get back 4.30pm and reception tells us everything is ready and our bags have been transferred lol. we walk into a room that had not been cleaned from previous guests robes on the floor bed trashed glasses cups bottles everywhere!. Again loads of sorry and we get put into room 4 how this room was beautiful apart from the broken leg on a chair. Light not working . Coffee cup stains. Thick dust. And smelt like someone had died in the walk in wardrobe. 3 members of staff inspected the room 2 yacking with no explanation and the third stating the smell is caused from the toilet above GREAT. So final morning and breakfast we get sat next to a wall with food and coffee stains all over head height. It may read thàt I'm just going over the top but I have photos of the shocking experience we had, the final insult was when checking out and £200 for the farce we had the guy at reception tried to make excuses and wanted to add a £5 for the parking lol

The place is beautiful. Just the cleanliness and organisation was really below par.

  • Steve M

  • January 2015

Very Enjoyable Stay

We recently stayed for one night here.

We booked a double room with breakfast and also took advantage of the spa facilities and also booked a couple of treatments which are highly recommended. On the whole, we were very impressed and had a lovely time. The only criticisms were I wasn't happy about paying so much for a room then having to pay for parking. Surely this should be free for guests. Also service in restaurant for breakfast was very chaotic. Staff running around and bumping into each other. Also clearing tables of guests that had only gone up to buffet. Bar area was very nice but very expensive. Would go there again though as faults were very small. Would recommend use of spa and treatments.

  • D Lloyd

  • January 2015

Very nice hotel, perfect for a city break.

  • Teresa P

  • December 2014

Lovely stay

Staff were very welcoming upon arrival and throughout the stay.

Felt quite homely and not like other big hotels where you are just a room number. Breakfast was fab, plenty to choose from the buffet and the full english was good quality and came piping hot (it was actually still cooking the plates were so hot). We didn't eat in the hotel other than breakfast and free cream tea we got which was nice. Was rather on the expensive side food/drinkwise so we ate out for lunch and dinners. About 10 mins walk to town so good to walk off your dinner on the way back. Also, I mislaid my gloves so rang the hotel and they found and sent them too me, was worth the £5 postage.