No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Alveston Manor

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Banbury Road,Stratford-Upon-Avon,Warwickshire , Stratford upon Avon, CV37 7HP
The Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel and Spa, with its beautiful gardens, is just a short walk from the centre of Stratford and the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. Many public areas of the hotel are located in the Manor House, parts of which date back to the 16th century. The attraction of the Alveston Manor hotel is enhanced by its extensive Tudor panelling, leaded lights and Elizabethan staircase. It also boasts a vaulted cellar, which leads to a mysterious underground passage once used by monks from Worcester.

Bedrooms are located in a modern wing, which adjoins the Manor House and offer all the modern comforts such as Air Cooling, flat screen televisions with freeview channels Should you wish to upgrade your accommodation, there is also a selection of feature rooms and suites in the old part of the Hotel many of which offer old beamed ceilings and Half Tester or Four Poster Beds. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

The AA Rosette award-winning Manor Restaurant pays homage to dishes with a modern French influence, and is the perfect way to end a day of sightseeing or business. Many theatre loving guests like to enjoy a starter and main course before departing for the theatre, later returning to the hotel for a dessert.

Enjoy our superb leisure facilities at Vital Health & Wellbeing. In addition to an 18 metre swimming pool, there is also a well equipped Techno Gym, Sauna and Steam Room. Should you prefer to pamper yourself there is also a range of treatments available at Vital Beauty (charges for treatments are applicable)
Picture of Macdonald Alveston Manor, Stratford upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Theatre & Spoil
We found the experience most satisfactory. The rooms were clean if a little old fashioned. Reception kindly provided a small jug of milk for morning tea without any hint of annoyance. The breakfast was superb and overall the stay was good value.

Reviewed by
C Cutler

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Staff were very welcoming upon arrival and throughout the stay. Felt quite homely and not like other big hotels where you are just a room number. Breakfast was fab, plenty to choose from the buffet and the full english was good quality and came piping hot (it was actually still cooking the plates were so hot). We didn't eat in the hotel other than breakfast and free cream tea we got which was nice. Was rather on the expensive side food/drinkwise so we ate out for lunch and dinners. About 10 mins walk to town so good to walk off your dinner on the way back. Also, I mislaid my gloves so rang the hotel and they found and sent them too me, was worth the £5 postage.

Reviewed by
Teresa P

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful old building on the outside, shabby on the inside.
I stayed at this hotel last week and was disappointed. The staff were friendly and professional, the lobby was smart enough, although not modern, but the corridors were desperately in need of redecorating and new carpets. The door frames and picture frames were damaged and in need of repair and a repaint, some of the hotel room doors had dirty paintwork, especially at foot level. My room was comfortable but very small and gloomy. It had a single bed, desk and cupboard and must have been about 10 feet by 10 feet in dimensions. It too had very dated decor. The bathroom was fine but certainly not modern or recently fitted. I couldn't wait to leave my room. I assumed all rooms were like this until I visited my friend's room to find that hers was much bigger, with twin beds and slightly better decor. I seem to have been given the broom cupboard. Not what I expected for £120 per night.
On the plus side, the breakfast was good, the swimming pool looked very inviting and there was a pleasant atmosphere because people were having a good time in the bar.
I think Macdonald hotels need to invest money in this hotel to bring it up to modern day standards. Unfortunately for them, other more well known chain hotels knock spots off it.

Reviewed by
jennifer H

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Stayed for honeymoon and had a relaxing stay. The spa and pool were excellent. The restaurant was fabulous and the best veggie main meal I've had for a very long time.

Reviewed by
kerry feetham brier

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alveston
Brilliant

Reviewed by
CALLUM KIMBERLEY

From Coalville, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful stay in Stratford
Alveston Manor is very close to the centre of Stratford-upon-Avon and the theatre. We decided to stay there rather than make the journey home after a visit to the theatre and we were delighted that we had done so. The staff were very pleasant and welcoming and the accommodation was everything we needed and spotlessly clean. A comfortable bed and a good breakfast with perfectly poached eggs. I would recommend it wholeheartedly and hope to stay again.

Reviewed by
Kathryn H

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easy to find the hotel, in a very busy Stratford. some confusion over checking in due to slightly poor English of the receptionist, which lead to a misunderstanding, though she was very charming. The room was fine, clean & comfortable, though we found noisy guests in the corridor a problem at night. We had booked breakfast, but it was fortunate that we weren`t in a hurry next day, because the service was so slow it nearly went backwards. Staff walked past our table without a thought of clearing for example, cereal bowls, returning to the kitchen empty handed, which meant when our cooked meals did eventually arrive, there was a lot of plate juggling to sort out the space. Time & motion came to mind. The toast was lukewarm & soggy, and was delivered with the coffee, long before it was needed, so we couldn`t eat it. Apart from that, everything was fine!!

Reviewed by
Charlotte B

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant Value
Excellent hotel in City centre. Excellent car parking, super modern rooms and facilities that worked. Everything scrupulously clean and well organised. Notably good breakfast ( fish especially good). Brilliant value for money if you want to see Stratford on Avon in some style.

Reviewed by
james broomfield

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
We booked two nights in the hotel as part of a weekend break without the children, so naturally we were hoping it would be perfect. Now, perfection isn't achievable as we all know, but it is the way that issues are dealt with that sticks in your memory. Our stay wasn't perfect, we had noisy air con in our first room and non-functioning air con in the second. However, the staff were very efficient and polite and organised our room change whilst we were out for the day.
The food was very tasty, hot and with a selection. We ate breakfast in the lounge bar on the Saturday morning and had a 50 min wait for porridge and croissants to arrive. Again this was dealt with professional and we recieved complimentary drinks.
The room was cosy and fairly big, the bed in the second room wasn't the comfiest I've slept on, but didn't ruin our stay.
The leisure facilities are of a very high standard, clean pool and well equipt gym.
All in all and very pleasant stay. We would both like to stay again.

Reviewed by
Adam R

From Newport Pagnell, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary stay after wedding reception there 28 years ago.
Could not fault the hotel in anyway for its quality and service. Everything was superb. The meal in the restaurant was exceptional and worth every penny. The one and only downside was the £5 parking fee we were charged, in the hotels own car park. Surely for guests there should be no charge. Having said this, would we return, yes, without a second thought.

Reviewed by
Andrew T

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next