No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Alveston Manor

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Banbury Road,Stratford-Upon-Avon,Warwickshire , Stratford upon Avon, CV37 7HP
The Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel and Spa, with its beautiful gardens, is just a short walk from the centre of Stratford and the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. Many public areas of the hotel are located in the Manor House, parts of which date back to the 16th century. The attraction of the Alveston Manor hotel is enhanced by its extensive Tudor panelling, leaded lights and Elizabethan staircase. It also boasts a vaulted cellar, which leads to a mysterious underground passage once used by monks from Worcester.

Bedrooms are located in a modern wing, which adjoins the Manor House and offer all the modern comforts such as Air Cooling, flat screen televisions with freeview channels Should you wish to upgrade your accommodation, there is also a selection of feature rooms and suites in the old part of the Hotel many of which offer old beamed ceilings and Half Tester or Four Poster Beds. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

The AA Rosette award-winning Manor Restaurant pays homage to dishes with a modern French influence, and is the perfect way to end a day of sightseeing or business. Many theatre loving guests like to enjoy a starter and main course before departing for the theatre, later returning to the hotel for a dessert.

Enjoy our superb leisure facilities at Vital Health & Wellbeing. In addition to an 18 metre swimming pool, there is also a well equipped Techno Gym, Sauna and Steam Room. Should you prefer to pamper yourself there is also a range of treatments available at Vital Beauty (charges for treatments are applicable)
Picture of Macdonald Alveston Manor, Stratford upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Characterful hotel - just needs a few tweaks to improve
We stayed for two nights in June 2014. Lovely room with exposed beams and an oval-shaped window was well presented. Free wifi and good aircon in the room were welcome. The spa was pretty good and we would stay again. Downsides were a pretty weedy shower and I don't think I'd bother eating there again. Room service breakfast had no butter for the toast, the sausages were only cooked on one side. Breakfast in the restaurant the next morning still had no butter and the food wasn't that great.
We did like the ambience though - and some lovely grounds made the stay very enjoyable otherwise.

Reviewed by
Joseph M

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Curate's Egg
The Hotel was good in parts and not so good in others.
The room we had was good but the corridors giving access were in need of renovation and recarpeting. Other rooms including the Grill and Bar were reasonable.
The Evening Meals were good but the wines and pre dinner drinks were very expensive.
The Breakfasts were not up to the standard we would expect in four star accommodation.

Reviewed by
Thomas R

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slow service
We were booked in for dinner at 8pm,no menus arrived we had to ask for them,slow in taking our order, eventually got our starters at 9.15 and didn't finish eating till 11.00pm.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth C

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st time resident and will certainly return
Last minute booking on the day which gave me a good deal on the room which was bright and spacious (no 222) plus the aircon worked well. This is in the newer part of the hotel where the Spa is located. It is quite a walk to the reception/Bar/Restaurant from this part of the hotel and I would recommend asking for assistance with bags etc if you need to.
As it was my first time in the area I walked for a couple of hours and ate out at the nearby Thai restaurant by the river so I didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast. If the eggs benedict (possibly the best I have ever eaten!) are anything to go by then the food will be excellent but perhaps a little pricy - large glass of wine is nearly £11.Hotel charges for parking which is a little cheeky.
If you can get a good deal on the room then you should stay here - lovely setting and well located for walks and good shopping. No need for a car.

Reviewed by
R McKay

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday treat
Having booked relatively early (a month in advance) to get the birthday date, which was a Saturday, I was slightly disappointed to see cheaper prices offered subsequently online. As this was not a cheap hotel, I also didn't expect a £5 parking charge for using the car park, or a £3 surcharge for credit card payments. Having said that, the room was very pleasant, the bed huge and comfortable, the breakfast excellent.

Reviewed by
Jane E

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very well presented hotel with beautiful gardens for photographs. Our room had a metal window which did not close completely, we were on the ground floor causing concern for personal belongings, we did not discuss optional accommodation with reception as one night stay only and the weather was good!
We ate in the bar as the restaurant was full due to other functions...a very busy weekend in Stratford. Bar service was excellent, food good, very comfortable bed. We could not have full breakfast as we were leaving before 7am.

Reviewed by
debbie g

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in every way.............
Arriving nearly at midnight, we were welcomed by the concierge who booked us in, helped us with our luggage and showed us to our rooms. He also explained about room service and that we could have sandwiches in our rooms or in the lounge area. He explained about breakfast and about the fire alarm test in the morning. We ordered sandwiches which were delivered promptly to our rooms in a courteous manner.
The breakfast menu choice was extensive catering for all tastes, as much or as little as you wanted.
11am checkout was excellent giving us plenty of time to pack after a leisurely breakfast.

Reviewed by
Lynne G

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

alveston experince
good.location, pleasant accommodation,but chaotic at breakfast. Too much se by coach trips.

Reviewed by
A Corless

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel in a wonderful location
The hotel is a beautiful building just a few minutes on foot from the centre. The staff were polite and very helpful AND they smiled! The rooms and restaurant overlook lovely landscaped gardens and we regretted being there for the one night only.

Reviewed by
Corinne Gerada

From Gharghur GHR1535, Malta
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Wonderful Stay
This is a great hotel. The staff were warm and attentive. I recommend the champagne afternoon tea.

Reviewed by
O Osei

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next