No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Howard

5AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
32-36 Great King Street, Edinburgh, EH3 6QH
Recently voted one of the top 25 city hotels in the world by Tripadvisor - The Howard is a gem of a small hotel. The Howard is often described as "The most discreet 5-star hotel in Edinburgh". A distinct attention to detail together with the personal touch will ensure you feel special. A Georgian retreat in the city centre of Scotland's capital city.

Every guest has a Dedicated Butler who will tend to your every need – from unpacking your bags and serving afternoon tea in the Drawing Room to co-ordinating your social itinerary and serving a three-course dinner in your suite, so that you can totally relax.

Our eighteen individually characterised rooms (some bathrooms even have freestanding roll top baths).

Dining at The Atholl is an experience full of decadent pleasures. You’ll enjoy dinner, which will be meticulously prepared by our dedicated team of chefs, and attention to detail in this warm & exclusive Georgian setting. Alternatively dine in the comfort of your own room. Select your meal from the a la carte menu, & your dinner will be served to you by your dedicated butler.

The hotel reserves the right to pre authorise the credit card used to guarantee the reservation 24 hours prior to arrival.
Picture of The Howard, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem in Edinburgh's New Town !
Fantastic hotel with excellent staff and most importantly ,first class service .
Our room was very well appointed with views over great King Street ,and was very quiet ,with beautifully draped curtains ,and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in , away from home .
The bathroom was large and the toiletries of a high standard ,which was a treat .
The breakfast was exceptional with a good choice of menu.
Would definitely like to stay here again - a different world with good old fashioned service and style !

Reviewed by
Fiona Dishington

From Nairn, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

woop woop!
Loved this hotel, had old world charm. Great location , not too noisy at night. Butlers couldn't do enough for you. Love the complimentary green tea 24 hrs a day woop woop. Amazeballs shampoo and conditioner. Only down side the porridge for breakfast was watery but good service. Alan & Jane x

Reviewed by
A Dennis

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not quite what we thought it would be
Really beautiful and sumptuous, especially the bed and bathroom. But there were some odd things.
We asked for a twin set up but it had not been done so they had to come in while we were out. We ordered room service (waiting in the lounge was taking too long and it was late) and it took ages. We asked for tea at 9AM (they do a butler service rather than facilities in the room) but it never arrived and we had to ring. We did not ask for room service for breakfast and while I waited in the dining room for my son to join me, he was answering the door in our room to our breakfast. By the time it was all sorted, my food was cold and my egg with a hard centre. There was a bit of black mould in the shower too. Nothing major on any of these things as far I am concerned but annoying, all the same.

Reviewed by
Sarah K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent City Centre Hotel
Perfect for all our needs.

Reviewed by
John Myers

From Prudhoe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The most enjoyable stay we have had in Edinburgh. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the hotel had an understated sense of individuality that immediately put you at ease. A definite recommendation to anyone seeking an oasis in the heart of the city.

Reviewed by
R Dorrington

From Bourne, England
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
A wonderfully quiet place to stay, where the service (and breakfast) are second to none.

Reviewed by
Roger M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay at a very luxurious hotel
My wife and i enjoyed our recent one night stay at The Howard in Edinburgh very much indeed.The staff were very attentive and friendly and the breakfast served to us was excellent.The overall experience of our stay was that The Howard is a hotel of the highest quality.If i could suggest one improvement it would be that a ramp be provided at the car park entrance for the benefit of wheelchair users such as my wife.
As the rest of the hotel was accessible I would feel confident that The Howard as a progressive thinking establishment would ensure that this modification be implemented.

Reviewed by
Michael M

From , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
Excellent i

Reviewed by
r stokes

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service, accomodation and food
probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Exceptional service and amazing food - brilliant value for money and all of the staff are to be commended on their professionalism.

Reviewed by
Peter Doyle

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Strange but nice!
So we had the 'Charlotte' suite which I very large and grand! It's clean but a little worn (broken light fittings etc) but it doesn't particularly detract.
The weird thing is there's no tea/coffee facilities, no iron etc... Because you have to call reception for your 'butler' to do it - bit or a gimmick and inconvenient if yore a business traveller in a hurry but quite charming if youre there for leisure!
We also liked the little lounge where when we arrived in after dinner (quite late!) the 'butler' was happy to pour us a few night caps and made some good reccomendations for whiskey!
I'd definitely definitely recommend taking breakfast in the room as a man arrives with a big trolley that turns into a table and the hot food is inside it to stay hot! So quaint!

Reviewed by
laura f

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next