No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Howard

5AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
32-36 Great King Street, Edinburgh, EH3 6QH
Recently voted one of the top 25 city hotels in the world by Tripadvisor - The Howard is a gem of a small hotel. The Howard is often described as "The most discreet 5-star hotel in Edinburgh". A distinct attention to detail together with the personal touch will ensure you feel special. A Georgian retreat in the city centre of Scotland's capital city.

Every guest has a Dedicated Butler who will tend to your every need – from unpacking your bags and serving afternoon tea in the Drawing Room to co-ordinating your social itinerary and serving a three-course dinner in your suite, so that you can totally relax.

Our eighteen individually characterised rooms (some bathrooms even have freestanding roll top baths).

Dining at The Atholl is an experience full of decadent pleasures. You’ll enjoy dinner, which will be meticulously prepared by our dedicated team of chefs, and attention to detail in this warm & exclusive Georgian setting. Alternatively dine in the comfort of your own room. Select your meal from the a la carte menu, & your dinner will be served to you by your dedicated butler.

The hotel reserves the right to pre authorise the credit card used to guarantee the reservation 24 hours prior to arrival.
Picture of The Howard, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value and great experience would use again
I am a frequent traveller and this is probably the best hotel I have stayed at in the UK for size of room and value for money. I booked what was called a small double, it was huge, character full and the little touches, free tea and coffee. Room service for all of stay, chocolates on pillow, free wifi were all welcome.

Reviewed by
p townsend

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel of excellence!!!
The only & best place to stay for business or leisure. Excellent location & walking distance from bars, restaurants & Edinburgh castle.

Reviewed by
S Davies

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended!
We booked the Howard Hotel at the last minute for a one night stay in Edinburgh! A very welcoming hotel, excellent accommodation and very pleasant staff. All in all a delightful experience!

Reviewed by
K Kane

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed our stay here. Excellent staff and very comfortable hotel.

Reviewed by
A Farquharson

From Banchory, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old world charm and decadence
If you like personal attention and the comforts of a bygone age, then the Howard is for you. Centrally located, you can leave your car and either walk to the shops and restaurants nearby, or take a taxi or bus a bit farther afield. Butler service is offered and available although we found this disorganised. We enjoyed a delicious cocktail made by a charming young barman, when we returned to the hotel after our meal.

Reviewed by
Catriana H

From Hawick, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just brilliant and keep up the great work
Another great stay at perhaps the best hotel in the UK

Reviewed by
Peter Doyle

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay in Edinburgh
From start to finish The Howard surpassed all expectations, from the location, to the room, to the outstanding customer service.

Reviewed by
Christian Winstanley

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
We would like to thank everybody at The Howard for their kindness and excellent service.

Reviewed by
Christiane Z

From , UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Howard
Great service, fantastic atmosphere and outstanding food. I've spent the last 2 weeks there and will come again.

Reviewed by
Georgi D

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night!
A brilliant boutique hotel, hidden away in Georgian Edinburgh and within easy reach of the main activities.

Reviewed by
j c

From England
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next