No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Great Barr Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Pear Tree Drive , Birmingham, B43 6HS
Just off Junction 7 of the M6 motorway, 6 miles from the City Centre & 18 miles from the NEC & Birmingham International Airport. Free WIFI is available in all bedrooms & public areas. Free car parking available on site,BT sport is available in the Oak Bar.
Picture of The Great Barr Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great all round value and a lovely hotel
I brought my son to stay at the Great Barr Hotel on a weekend as we were visiting Cadbury's World nearby. Upon arrival there was an error (due to Late Rooms NOT the hotel) and the receptionist and manage both went out of their way to resolving the issue (a room booked for one person and not two as requested along with an error on their website) and got us in a family room with minimal fuss.
The room was lovely and spacious, modern and wonderfully clean. We couldnt have asked for better. Breakfast was served in their lovely dining room and it was delicious with plenty of choices for all tastes and diets.
I wouldnt hesitate to come back to or recommend the hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
C Harris

From SAint Benfleet, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent friendly staff !
Excellent! Staff friendly. Hotel clean. Food great.

Reviewed by
R Burke

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

top to bottom hotel
This was my 4th time at the great barr hotel and the last time. The hotel is going down hill. My double room was like a box. The furniture's are very tired, no heating in the room after 9am until 4pm, we were cold and after an argument at reception they gave us an electric heater. There was no socket to plug the heater into unless I unplug the tv because the socket that was available didn't work. I needed to iron a shirt and couldn't get a iron in the room. I was told to go to a room upstairs where I would find a iron board and iron. when I got there, there was two irons. one was secured to the wall and the other was not, the iron board was a hard table with a old dirty looking piece of cloth. I couldn't put my shirt on it, so I took the other iron to my room and ironed my shirt on the bed. When we switch the bathroom light on there was a loud humming noise when the fan came on. I walk about a bit when I was looking for the iron board and end up in a passage beside the bar and it wasn't a pleasant sight need some cleaning up. I had to ask if the hotel was under new management I was told no. But I understand the hotel is private own it sure need some attention.

Reviewed by
victor m

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A one nighter
Room was ok but a strong smell of stale cigarettes in it.
Not sure if it was a smoking room, if such a thing exists still??

Reviewed by
chris D

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No internet access in rooms
This is the second time I have stayed at the Great Barr Hotel in a fortnight.
On the first week there was a sign saying the internet was being upgraded and some rooms might not have internet access.
A week later, the same sign was still at reception and there was still no internet access in the rooms.
One of my requirements when booking a hotel is internet access in my room.
The Laterooms website says there is internet access in the rooms - there wasn't!!
I did feed this back to the receptionist but she said she would ask someone to have a look at it. She seemed unable to take on board the fact that as I was in the process of leaving the hotel it wasn't much use to me to have it looked at that moment.
Kevin

Reviewed by
Kevin F

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic hotel but clean and nice staff
Good location for overnight stay when in Birmingham. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
R Livings

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Barr experience
Very good hotel and I would use it again. One small downside, the corridor and room smelt a bit fusty as if they hadn't been aired properly.

Reviewed by
Donald Walker

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
This is the second time I have stayed. The room was comfortable and quiet, and the service friendly. The room was a little tired in terms of decor but for the price I paid, it was excellent value. Service at breakfast and the food on offer was very good

Reviewed by
Gill Lee

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff and great room ambient

Reviewed by
S Santos

From Funchal, Portugal
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Barr
Good no nonsense hotel with very friendly staff who do their best for you. I will stay again and do recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
D Miller

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next