The Great Barr Hotel

3

Pear Tree Drive, Birmingham, B43 6HS

Price From 110.79 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (39)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Wesley A

  • April 2015

Lovely Staff - Good Hotel

I was here for a business trip.

The staff were lovely and really friendly. Especially the lady at the front desk who was very patient when I was so tired I couldn't remember my last name. The hotel was a little dated but this makes no difference to me. The room was clean, tidy and had everything I needed. Most importantly, there was a safe car park to park my car in overnight which i've read is hard to come by in this area. There was even an ironing room for me to iron my shirt. Only minor thing is the heaters were belting out heat, and it was the hotter day of the year so far, nothing that couldn't be solved by having the window open.

  • C Harris

  • February 2015

Great all round value and a lovely hotel

I brought my son to stay at the Great Barr Hotel on a weekend as we were visiting Cadbury's World nearby.

Upon arrival there was an error (due to Late Rooms NOT the hotel) and the receptionist and manage both went out of their way to resolving the issue (a room booked for one person and not two as requested along with an error on their website) and got us in a family room with minimal fuss. The room was lovely and spacious, modern and wonderfully clean. We couldnt have asked for better. Breakfast was served in their lovely dining room and it was delicious with plenty of choices for all tastes and diets.

I wouldnt hesitate to come back to or recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • R Livings

  • February 2015

Basic hotel but clean and nice staff

Good location for overnight stay when in Birmingham.

Good value for money.

  • R Burke

  • February 2015

Excellent friendly staff !

Excellent.

Staff friendly. Hotel clean. Food great.

  • victor m

  • February 2015

top to bottom hotel

This was my 4th time at the great barr hotel and the last time.

The hotel is going down hill. My double room was like a box. The furniture's are very tired, no heating in the room after 9am until 4pm, we were cold and after an argument at reception they gave us an electric heater. There was no socket to plug the heater into unless I unplug the tv because the socket that was available didn't work. I needed to iron a shirt and couldn't get a iron in the room. I was told to go to a room upstairs where I would find a iron board and iron. when I got there, there was two irons. one was secured to the wall and the other was not, the iron board was a hard table with a old dirty looking piece of cloth. I couldn't put my shirt on it, so I took the other iron to my room and ironed my shirt on the bed. When we switch the bathroom light on there was a loud humming noise when the fan came on. I walk about a bit when I was looking for the iron board and end up in a passage beside the bar and it wasn't a pleasant sight need some cleaning up. I had to ask if the hotel was under new management I was told no. But I understand the hotel is private own it sure need some attention.

  • chris D

  • December 2014

A one nighter

Room was ok but a strong smell of stale cigarettes in it.

Not sure if it was a smoking room, if such a thing exists still??

  • Kevin F

  • November 2014

No internet access in rooms

This is the second time I have stayed at the Great Barr Hotel in a fortnight.

On the first week there was a sign saying the internet was being upgraded and some rooms might not have internet access. A week later, the same sign was still at reception and there was still no internet access in the rooms.

One of my requirements when booking a hotel is internet access in my room.

The Laterooms website says there is internet access in the rooms - there wasn't!. I did feed this back to the receptionist but she said she would ask someone to have a look at it. She seemed unable to take on board the fact that as I was in the process of leaving the hotel it wasn't much use to me to have it looked at that moment. Kevin

  • Donald Walker

  • September 2014

Great Barr experience

Very good hotel and I would use it again.

One small downside, the corridor and room smelt a bit fusty as if they hadn't been aired properly.

  • Gill Lee

  • September 2014

Value for money

This is the second time I have stayed.

The room was comfortable and quiet, and the service friendly. The room was a little tired in terms of decor but for the price I paid, it was excellent value. Service at breakfast and the food on offer was very good

  • S Santos

  • August 2014

Lovely staff and great room ambient