No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Great Barr Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Pear Tree Drive , Birmingham, B43 6HS
Just off Junction 7 of the M6 motorway, 6 miles from the City Centre & 18 miles from the NEC & Birmingham International Airport. Free WIFI is available in all bedrooms & public areas. Free car parking available on site,BT sport is available in the Oak Bar.
Picture of The Great Barr Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A one nighter
Room was ok but a strong smell of stale cigarettes in it.
Not sure if it was a smoking room, if such a thing exists still??

Reviewed by
chris D

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No internet access in rooms
This is the second time I have stayed at the Great Barr Hotel in a fortnight.
On the first week there was a sign saying the internet was being upgraded and some rooms might not have internet access.
A week later, the same sign was still at reception and there was still no internet access in the rooms.
One of my requirements when booking a hotel is internet access in my room.
The Laterooms website says there is internet access in the rooms - there wasn't!!
I did feed this back to the receptionist but she said she would ask someone to have a look at it. She seemed unable to take on board the fact that as I was in the process of leaving the hotel it wasn't much use to me to have it looked at that moment.
Kevin

Reviewed by
Kevin F

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Barr experience
Very good hotel and I would use it again. One small downside, the corridor and room smelt a bit fusty as if they hadn't been aired properly.

Reviewed by
Donald Walker

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
This is the second time I have stayed. The room was comfortable and quiet, and the service friendly. The room was a little tired in terms of decor but for the price I paid, it was excellent value. Service at breakfast and the food on offer was very good

Reviewed by
Gill Lee

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff and great room ambient

Reviewed by
S Santos

From Funchal, Portugal
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Barr
Good no nonsense hotel with very friendly staff who do their best for you. I will stay again and do recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
D Miller

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

12th Year
I have been returning to the Great Barr for 12 Years and the accomodation has improved over time, the Breakfast is as always very good.
There is always something happening of a night in the restaurant and/or the conference rooms although this time the noise in my room was intolerable, my floor was moving and the crockery was bouncing, the night reception didnt seem interested when asked what time it finished just saying 12.30.

Reviewed by
Alf Vickers

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room in need of renovation
Was put into one of the older rooms, was informed most of hotel had been renovated and my room wold be done in next few months - saw a refurbished room - they look great, pity I did not qualify.
Internet was intermittent in room, but worked fine in reception/bar.

Reviewed by
Mark A

From Prudhoe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was booked via late rooms and was consequently less expensive than booking with the hotel. The receptionist was very helpful and my colleague and I were able to check in well in advance of the stated time, which was very beneficial.
The room was quite small but functional, clean & tidy.
The breakfast was a good standard and the lady on duty was again very helpful.
The only negative I can say about the hotel is that we were awoken from our sleep at approx 5.30am by the fire alarm. We discovered the next morning that this was caused by a guest who was smoking in his room and this apparently was not the first time that this had happened.
Not good when a large number of guests are being interrupted as a consequence of one persona actions !

Reviewed by
Gavin C

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but fine
The reception staff were very friendly ; the price of the room was fine for a basic, Tavelodge type of experience. My room was not one of the refurbished ones but it was comfortable. The only negative is that the walls are paper thin. The second night was better as I had no neighbours.

Reviewed by
Sarah F

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next