Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Dalry Hotels > Apex Haymarket Hotel (formerly Apex European Hotel)
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Apex Haymarket Hotel (formerly Apex European Hotel)

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
90 Haymarket Terrace , Edinburgh, EH12 5LQ
Located in the Haymarket area to the West End of the New Town in Edinburgh, 5 minutes walk from main shopping areas Princes Street and George Street. The EICC and Lothian Road are also within a 5 minute walk for those on business, and for sports fans Murrayfield and Tynecastle Stadium are 15-20 minutes walk. There is limited free parking available on site and on-street parking nearby.

All 66 bedrooms have large comfortable beds, widescreen LCD TVs with CD/DVD player, luxury toiletries, free wi-fi and local calls along with 24 hour room service.

At Metro West End Bar and restaurant, there's an emphasis on fresh ingredients - sourced and prepared with care, and the discrete, personal service is everything you'd expect from an Apex Hotel. But more than that, Metro West End has an unmistakable air of fun. After all, eating should always be relaxed and enjoyable.

Picture of Apex Haymarket Hotel (formerly Apex European Hotel), Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect, staff very pleasant, food great
We had an enjoyable stay and will come back if we need to be in town.

Reviewed by
Lily R

From Alford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last weekend away for a while!
Thought I'd give my other half a surprise before his departure on exercise with the army. Found a great deal on Late Rooms and as a few people from work are confidently staying there at the end of this month I seen it as a safety net. We arrived an hour after the normal check in time, to find our room wasn't cleaned at that point which was quite disappointing, however a trip back to reception and we were given a sincere apology along with two drinks vouchers for the in-house bar which was lovely. Half way through our drinks we were told our room was now ready and a further apology was made to both of us. The room itself was lovely, small but spacious at the same time. I noticed a few hiccups with the cleaning but couldn't grumble due to the deal I managed to get. THE BEDS ARE SUPER COMFORTABLE! Seriously, if you're planning on heading out I wouldn't advise you to sit or lay down because you will struggle finding the energy to move again, we both had a wonderful sleep! The bathrooms are really tastefully done, very modern and a really big shower. The showers are fabulous too in fact. Nice big wall mounted tv, good view, good tea and coffee making facilities I really would recommend it.

Reviewed by
Rhiannon C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Stuff
Stayed overnight at the Apex Haymarket 2-3 January2015. Staff couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful, they stored our luggage until the rooms were ready and let us know as soon as they were without waiting for the check in time. Our rooms were clean warm and had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. The beds and pillows were so comfortable and there was plenty of room to stretch out. The trams stop just along from the hotel though it isn't a long walk into the town and I feel this hotel gave great value for money and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Reviewed by
Lesley Ford

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hogmany
Great location away from the noise yet 2 minutes from the tram stop

Reviewed by
Scott J

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break to enjoy the city of Edinburgh
Everything was great except the heating in our room, the room was cold and staff did try to find us a heater but without success. Our only complaint really.

Reviewed by
Lesley G

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Parking
The parking around the apex is very poor and I struggled to get a space so I had to speak to the receptionist who then helped us by getting a member of staff to move there car for me to park my car in which I appreciated greatly as I had peace of mind my car was parked safe for the night and didn't cost me to park.

Reviewed by
S Squire

From Lochgelly, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

could not fault a thing
Lovely helpful staff, makes such a difference! Rooms so clean and fresh with a good selection of hot drinks. Bathroom small but perfectly formed and with Elemis products!!! Breakfast just so fresh and tasty and again lovely staff. Only stayed 1 night more's the pity but will def be back as its in a great location for a nice walk into and out of the city, much more peaceful than being in the thick of things

Reviewed by
M Nelson

From Mauchline, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a short break
we only stayed here for one night normally use the Grassmarket Apex hotels but due to me not paying attention when booking picked the Haymarket option by mistake. The receptionist was lovely and friendly very helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and after two nights in a 16th century Inn with just a bath with a little hand held shower attachment the lovely walkin shower cubicle was heaven. We only paid £6.00 for a taxi to George Street where we had a meal booked at Amerome before heading to the Playhouse and the same when heading back to hotel after a drink in Tiles in George Street so very reasonable. We also found this very well situated for heading out of Edinburgh back to Dundee cut out the city centre all together. We will certainly use this Apex again.

Reviewed by
G McGill

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
A one night was all that was needed. Very friendly and pleasent staff the room was very clean, bed was comfy and it was located in just the right place for shopping, pubs and close to all that was needed. One thing I would say is that the drinks and food menu was very over priced but then again that is Edinburgh for you. I would reccomend this hotel as it was very clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over nyt stay
Everything was fantastic except the pillows... I hated the pillows gave me a sore neck. Staff are so pleasant and can't help you enough

Reviewed by
G Harrison

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next