Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Dalry Hotels > Apex Haymarket Hotel (formerly Apex European Hotel)
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Apex Haymarket Hotel (formerly Apex European Hotel)

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
90 Haymarket Terrace , Edinburgh, EH12 5LQ
Located in the Haymarket area to the West End of the New Town in Edinburgh, 5 minutes walk from main shopping areas Princes Street and George Street. The EICC and Lothian Road are also within a 5 minute walk for those on business, and for sports fans Murrayfield and Tynecastle Stadium are 15-20 minutes walk. There is limited free parking available on site and on-street parking nearby.

All 66 bedrooms have large comfortable beds, widescreen LCD TVs with CD/DVD player, luxury toiletries, free wi-fi and local calls along with 24 hour room service.

At Metro West End Bar and restaurant, there's an emphasis on fresh ingredients - sourced and prepared with care, and the discrete, personal service is everything you'd expect from an Apex Hotel. But more than that, Metro West End has an unmistakable air of fun. After all, eating should always be relaxed and enjoyable.

Picture of Apex Haymarket Hotel (formerly Apex European Hotel), Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a short break
we only stayed here for one night normally use the Grassmarket Apex hotels but due to me not paying attention when booking picked the Haymarket option by mistake. The receptionist was lovely and friendly very helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and after two nights in a 16th century Inn with just a bath with a little hand held shower attachment the lovely walkin shower cubicle was heaven. We only paid £6.00 for a taxi to George Street where we had a meal booked at Amerome before heading to the Playhouse and the same when heading back to hotel after a drink in Tiles in George Street so very reasonable. We also found this very well situated for heading out of Edinburgh back to Dundee cut out the city centre all together. We will certainly use this Apex again.

Reviewed by
G McGill

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
A one night was all that was needed. Very friendly and pleasent staff the room was very clean, bed was comfy and it was located in just the right place for shopping, pubs and close to all that was needed. One thing I would say is that the drinks and food menu was very over priced but then again that is Edinburgh for you. I would reccomend this hotel as it was very clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over nyt stay
Everything was fantastic except the pillows... I hated the pillows gave me a sore neck. Staff are so pleasant and can't help you enough

Reviewed by
G Harrison

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Drinks
Only complaint very limited choice of cocktails .

Reviewed by
M Kerr

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy Couple
Room was very clean and comfortable, with staff very friendly and eager to help.
Had one issue, with the shower, the water would not drain away resulting in the bathroom flooding after spending only several minutes in the shower. (room 216)
Other than this great hotel.

Reviewed by
A Graham

From Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent for access to city centre, two minutes walk from Haymarket Station and tram stop.
The room was clean, very comfortable and had a nice bathroom. It was located at the side of the hotel and was lovely and quiet. This hotel has great access to public transport being a short walk from Haymarket station and having a bus stop right outside the front door. However I have stayed in better hotels for less money (our rate was room only) so I have to say the rate we paid was not good value for money. We had breakfast in the hotel one morning and it was rather disorganised: we had to wait a while before being seated, there were no cereal bowls out, we had to ask about a cooked breakfast, our tea was served but they forgot the milk, the pastries, cold meats and cheese selection was very low leaving little choice (these were replenished shortly after). I also saw a guest walking up and down the restaurant in search of jam and she took one off another table. We also had to wait quite a while before a waiter came to take our order. Some of the staff were smiley and friendly but some weren't. Overall I would stay here again but only if I could get a better rate and there were no other suitable hotels available.

Reviewed by
linda B

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Staff are very friendly and the hotel is clean and has all of the amenities you would need. Recommend using tram (stops very near to hotel) to get into city centre. We could come back here!!

Reviewed by
Alison M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleased with the room.
Room had everything I needed for a good night's sleep.It was close to transportation to downtown and the airport. However, I found a large stain on the blanket at the foot of the bed. Told the desk clerk and she said she would notify housekeeping. Would stay there again if I am in Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
J Donahue

From USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute night away

I booked this hotel as a last minute birthday treat for my partner.
Staff were friendly and welcoming. The one waiter in the bistro was very apologetic about being on his own, but the service - and food - was excellent! We'll be back

Reviewed by
D Campbell

From Arbroath, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money. Very helpful staff. Evening meal in the restaurant was excellent, we were very impressed.

Reviewed by
Christine R

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next