Macdonald Burlington Hotel

4

Burlington Arcade 126 New Street, Birmingham, B2 4JQ

Price From 180.07 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (149)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Louise D

  • April 2014

I love this hotel - such character and great location

Upgrade if you can - this hotel has some gorgeous rooms - comfort, character, great d├ęcor, bathrooms to relax in if you like a bath.

Have breakfast in bed - room service is great. Been a few times and will use often if going to Birmingham for a concert or other meal out. Adjacent to New St Station - so easy to get to.

  • F Beynon

  • March 2014

Macdonald Burlington Hotel

The hotel was situated close to Birmingham New Street Station and was easy is to locate.

The price was very reasonable for a double room which included breakfast. Staff were friendly, polite and I felt very welcomed. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Paul W

  • March 2014

Quality Hotel in Birmingham centre

But due to road works and no warning it took an hour to actually get to the hotel although we could see it.

Room was stifling hot (why do hotels do that?) so opened window, didn't realise I was next to railway siding so was woken at 4:45am with all the movements going on. Friendly staff though and food was great.

  • Paul G

  • March 2014

One night stay

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room was fine if a little small but typical of a building of the era. Very handy for the train station-1minute ftom New Street exit. Nice to haveya trouser press in the room as well as an iron. Would stay again.

  • M Cutting

  • March 2014

avoid room 322

Avoid room 322 too noisy was woken at 3am and couldn't go back to sleep due to people being noisy.

  • donna r

  • March 2014

Overnight at the Burlington

I like staying at this hotel as it's close to the train station and city centre and very convenient to meet up with my nieces and their families.

On this occasion I persuaded my elderly mum to travel from London and spend the night (which is rare). Albeit we did arrive too early for checkin at 1400 - the reception advised us to wait in the bar area - 2.hours later we still were not given our room - we were furious as we had wasted so much time that could have been spent with our family. In the end we left our luggage and came back to checkin at 1945 that evening. Our room was ready albeit on the 4th floor when I had asked twice for a low floor. When we arrived at our fabulous room it was just one big bed for me and mum. So it was back to reception who gave us a second room as too late to split the bed in 2. The room situation was as you can imagine a disaster but that doesn't mean that I wouldn't stay here again as it's a very nice hotel and a perfect location. We were given a complimentary breakfast and the quality of the food was excellent. I also enjoy sitting in both the bar and the restaurant areas. The staff are very friendly and helpful albeit on our arrival I think the staff on the front desk were young and not experienced as during our 2 hour wait, not one person came to find us to apologise. I am venting my frustration in this email but trust me, the hotel is still worth a stay on so many levels, and I doubt that when they see my name in a future booking, they will mess up again (infact just the opposite and give me the royal treatment). Enjoy your stay.

  • michael h

  • March 2014

please be like your website

living on a past reputation , rooms do not represent the web site only a interpretation, had to request change of room , plumbing for toilet in original inadiquate, upgrade nice room but still not what you see on web.

Note if you dont look on reception at my printed off room schedule from Late rooms, how do you know what Iam paying for grade of room wise?, now this is a very common occurance in other Hotels. Reception / Manager excellent chap could not do enough seems to be carrying the weight of the hotels problems on his shoulders. scottish steak room aka @ breakfast room this I was looking forward to imagine our dissapointment to find the menu looking like pub grub no main menu on steaks and no steaks like the menu o nthe web site service A joke waited waited waited with only several tables occupied given free drink of wine. food pub grub, 27 00 for a fillet steak for my wife, I had lost interest meat skewers or red pepper skewers. retired to bar charged 17 50 by over worked single staff, trying to deal with late night guests, for a large malt and a small malabu and orange, on return for a night cap ,sprayed by member of staff in froth and beer pulling a pint on a new barrell,given free whisky. Breakfast roars of laughter between staff for requesting previous nights table which is not set up for breakfast, my bacon nearly grunted, Iam off home.

  • SALLY E

  • March 2014

unfriendly, woken up three times in the night through noise, rushed at breakfast,

i arrived earlier than 2.00pm i was hoping to drop my luggage off and do a bit of shopping or have a nice lunch, on going to the reception i was informed "rooms not ready come back at 2.00pm" so very rude, the lady could have said sorry its to early to check in why not leave your luggage and have a look around we have a nice restaurant and bar upstairs.

Then later on i tried to order room service firstly there is no room service menu and the phone number given sends out a non dialing tone, during the night woken up twice by noise celebrations and on the third occasion i was woken by the sound of crashing kitchen trays, next day got up for breakfast which was amazing however no sooner had i put my spoon down it was taken away, felt as though i was being rushed

  • Sarah Eyre

  • March 2014

The Hotel was stunning with excellent service, it is also central to alot of facilities and would definitely recommend this Hotel to all of my friends.

Regards Sarah Eyre

  • K Johnson

  • March 2014

Excellent hotel.

Very friendly service.