No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Burlington Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Burlington Arcade 126 New Street , Birmingham, B2 4JQ
A magnificent four-star Victorian hotel set in the heart of Birmingham, Macdonald Burlington Hotel is conveniently located right in the city centre for a wealth of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel is located just a 2 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Station, 10 minutes walk from Moor Street and Snow Hill Stations. Birmingham International Airport is just a 10 minutes link away and within a short distance of the ICC and the NIA. If you want to explore the culture in the area, the following attractions are all within a 5 minute walk of the hotel: The Hippodrome Theatre, The Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery, Symphony Hall, Birmingham Library.

The Macdonald Burlington hotel is steeped in history. Our Victorian architecture and vast marbled reception has welcomed many a prime minister and celebrity, so the team know and recognise how to treat all of our guests as VIPs.

The hotel has 114 bedrooms, all with unique features and char. All the bedrooms come with comfortable beds with thick mattress toppers, crisp white linen and soft duvets flat screen digital televisions, air-conditioning, complimentary bottled filtered water as standard, using water sourced from our own underground spring. The shiny bathrooms come with toiletries and fluffy towels, all to ensure that your stay is a home away from home experience.

An oasis of calm and tranquility, the hotel has a choice of lounge areas, an intimate cocktail bar and the Berlioz restaurant and Scottish Steak Club which serves the best steak in town.

Guests will receive an attractive discount in our local NCP car park. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Picture of Macdonald Burlington Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 136 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great bed room and bathroom. A few scuffed bits of paintwork in the breakfast room.

Reviewed by
J Kavanagh

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend in the heart of Birmingham
From the moment we were greeted by the very helpful and personable member of staff at reception, I knew we had made the right choice. The room was clean and comfortable and the location was ideal to access the shops and restaurants of the city centre. Will definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
John F

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Amazing stay. The hotel was clean, friendly and we had an amazing stay. The staff went out of their way to provide us with a memorable stay. The reception staff upgraded us for free and gave us other extras as a gift for the reason we were staying. Nothing was to much trouble. We will most definitely being staying again as the service was amazing

Reviewed by
katie miller

From West Bromwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay at the Burlington Hotel, and found everything to a high standard. We were however only provided with one dressing gown and one towel. As we were only staying one night we did not request others, however we should have been provided with enough for both of us.

Reviewed by
Samantha Greenwood

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If only the rooms were as nice as the rest of the hotel!
On arriving at the hotel I couldn't wait to get to my room as the hotel looked wonderful! I had booked the executive room as it was my first anniversary and it boasted that you might get a double or kingsize bed! On entering the room it was tiny and nothing like the rest of the hotel. We got a double bed with only just enough room to walk round either size! Bathroom was lovely but I just felt overall disappointed!
If anyone stats here note that there isn't a car park and don't type the hotel postcode in as it will lead you down a nice dead end alley way or pedestrianised area! We finally parked in a red cage car park and had to pay £10!
The hotel staff were lovely and other than for convenience of location not sure I'd stay again!

Reviewed by
Rachael S

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Please refurbish
Room was in need of updating. Black marks on the walls and peeling wallpaper. The bathroom was in need of some attention to the decoration and plumbing needs to be looked at and the waste water for the bath and sink does not run away. Its a little surprising as last time I stayed at the hotel they had just completed a refurbishment of the rooms. Another downer was the noise emanating form the building work on the road outside and the rebuild of New Street Railway station.

Reviewed by
alan d

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel
Stayed here on a recent trip to visit family, the staff were excellent and very helpful. Room was very spacious and extremely clean.
I had forgotten to mention that I could only eat food without any trace of Gluten when booking our table for dinner, the restaurant staff immediately informed the chef who prepared me a beautiful meal. They also informed the breakfast staff on my behalf who ensured that I was serviced a lovely gluten free breakfast. Exceptional service.
Definitely recommend this hotel and we will be returning in the future.

Reviewed by
Paula W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay
Arrived tired, was attending a business meeting later that evening and then a weekend stay for shopping, the gentleman on reception was superb and even gave me a complimentary room upgrade with breakfast. Just what I needed.

Reviewed by
kathleen g

From bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all round.

Reviewed by
S Bali

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
love this hotel stayed a few times now right in the centre and the hotel and rooms have always been to a high standard

Reviewed by
M Stanley

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next