No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Burlington Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Burlington Arcade 126 New Street , Birmingham, B2 4JQ
A magnificent four-star Victorian hotel set in the heart of Birmingham, Macdonald Burlington Hotel is conveniently located right in the city centre for a wealth of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel is located just a 2 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Station, 10 minutes walk from Moor Street and Snow Hill Stations. Birmingham International Airport is just a 10 minutes link away and within a short distance of the ICC and the NIA. If you want to explore the culture in the area, the following attractions are all within a 5 minute walk of the hotel: The Hippodrome Theatre, The Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery, Symphony Hall, Birmingham Library.

The Macdonald Burlington hotel is steeped in history. Our Victorian architecture and vast marbled reception has welcomed many a prime minister and celebrity, so the team know and recognise how to treat all of our guests as VIPs.

The hotel has 114 bedrooms, all with unique features and char. All the bedrooms come with comfortable beds with thick mattress toppers, crisp white linen and soft duvets flat screen digital televisions, air-conditioning, complimentary bottled filtered water as standard, using water sourced from our own underground spring. The shiny bathrooms come with toiletries and fluffy towels, all to ensure that your stay is a home away from home experience.

An oasis of calm and tranquility, the hotel has a choice of lounge areas, an intimate cocktail bar and the Berlioz restaurant and Scottish Steak Club which serves the best steak in town.

Guests will receive an attractive discount in our local NCP car park. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Picture of Macdonald Burlington Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 139 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reception staff were incredibly professional both on arrival and departure, we booked the room 3 days before and a discounted rate, i would not have paid the full 235 price on the room as dated and could have done with a new bed as it was sloping on one side feeling like i was going to fall out. on the whole it was excelent value, close to bull ring and all shops and loads o place to eat.

Reviewed by
sarah P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City break
An enjoyable experience.

Reviewed by
Alan S

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not too bad
Stay here again

Reviewed by
S Parmar

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend stopover.
This was a very centrally located hotel (opposite the train station) and the staff were very helpful.

Reviewed by
G L

From , England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good on Balance
We were greeted very well, the staff were genuine helpfull and friendly. I had spoken to the hotel to say this was a special occasion and could I have a nice room and or should I upgrade! The room was ok for the description but not special, it was set up for 1 person so not enough towels etc. this on its own was not a problem but there were a catalogue of minor annoyances, got drinks order wrong, dinner wasn't what it said on menus, decided to change things without telling us,pi.e. no venison in a venison platter!! The main meal was disappointing, more so as the last meal we had there was stunning. As I said nothing was terrible, on leaving I had a discussion about our disappointment and it was addressed by well, there was a genuine feeling that the manager wanted to address the points raised. If we had paid the full room rate I don't think we would have been happy with the visit, however we had a reduced rate and our bill was reduced in view of our discussion ( this was volunteered) . On balance we will visit this hotel again but I'm not sure we will use the restaurant unless there is a marked improvement.

Reviewed by
B Newton

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy!
My sister and I stayed at the Burlington on Thursday. Our room was nice, although the bathroom was in need of being updated.. We couldn't fault the staff, who were very friendly and attentive. Unfortunately, the building work at New Street Station continued throughout the night and although I believe the Burlington had been told work would stop at 10pm, it didn't make for a relaxing stay and kept us awake a lot of the night. I would stay at the Burlington again, but after the building work is complete!

Reviewed by
D P

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great bed room and bathroom. A few scuffed bits of paintwork in the breakfast room.

Reviewed by
J Kavanagh

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend in the heart of Birmingham
From the moment we were greeted by the very helpful and personable member of staff at reception, I knew we had made the right choice. The room was clean and comfortable and the location was ideal to access the shops and restaurants of the city centre. Will definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
John F

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Amazing stay. The hotel was clean, friendly and we had an amazing stay. The staff went out of their way to provide us with a memorable stay. The reception staff upgraded us for free and gave us other extras as a gift for the reason we were staying. Nothing was to much trouble. We will most definitely being staying again as the service was amazing

Reviewed by
katie miller

From West Bromwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay at the Burlington Hotel, and found everything to a high standard. We were however only provided with one dressing gown and one towel. As we were only staying one night we did not request others, however we should have been provided with enough for both of us.

Reviewed by
Samantha Greenwood

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next