Reviews - Macdonald Burlington Hotel


Burlington Arcade 126 New Street, Birmingham, B2 4JQ

Price From 160.85 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (123)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Jason Plant

  • October 2014

Satisfied customer

Perfectly situated for when you have a train to catch in the morning.

  • Jennifer b

  • October 2014

The hotel was lovely and very friendly. The room was beautiful and the sandwiches were delicious

The hotel was very central to the shopping centre and the train station was a minute walk away - would definitely stay there again as the hotel was beautiful and very relaxed

  • D Bentley

  • October 2014

Never lets us down

We often stay at the Burlington in Birmingham and always get brilliant service.

The rooms are always clean, staff are friendly and very accommodating. Our favourites on Reception are Sarah and Richard - they are so helpful and always have a smile. We love this hotel to bits.

  • Chris B

  • October 2014

Buisness Trip

Spent one night at the hotel.

Friendly helpful staff. Room very clean and spacious. Only one drawback being that there was a busker playing some weird tunes for a few hours. Not something the hotel could control.


  • October 2014

Hotel Stay

The hotel was very clean and comfortable.

The breakfast was delicious, my room was very well decorated. However, my room was very hot throughout the stay as the Air Conditioning was not working for my entire stay, upon arrival I reported this at Reception to be told it would be fixed that afternoon, upon return this was still not fixed, I then reported it again on the following afternoon to be told no one had been to see it and the engineer commented that the air con unit in my room is very faulty and rarely works. To be told it would be fixed and then to find it is out of repair was unsatisfacory. I was then offered a fan for the rest of my stay, which made the room very uncomfortable. I also reported that the safe within my room was locked upon arrival however this was not fixed either throughout my stay. I would not have minded the heat within the room if I could open the windows to let cool air in, however my room overlooked all of the air conditioning units, which were very noisy throughout day and night. I have stayed in other Macdonald hotels and received much better service.

  • H Bengali

  • September 2014



  • Judith B

  • September 2014

The room was very comfortable and clean .

  • Lucy R

  • September 2014

Good as always.

Stayed here quite often and this was another great stay.

Executive double room with a huge king size bed. Staff polite as always. Recommended 100%.

  • Andrew A

  • August 2014

Friendly staff, excellent room but let down by poor breakfast food and service.

Still very good value and ideal location for the city.

  • R Holden

  • August 2014

Location, location, location

We had a brilliant stay over the bank holiday weekend.

Our visit to the Burlington started with a lovely greeting, we were promptly served and shown to our room (206) The room was surprisingly spacious for a twin. The usual goodies awaited us, ample tea, coffee, bottled watered etc. we decided to order room service late one night and waited almost half an hour to be told they didn't have the ham for the ham sandwich which I had ordered. I chose tuna instead and was told the entire order would be compensated. When we checked out the food and drinks from that night had been removed from our bill as promised. Nice touch. The hotel us in a very central location and despite being so close to New Street station, I had the best nights sleep uve had in a while. No noise, comfy beds and pillows. Only thing that let it down was the bathroom, although it was quite stylish and clean the glass shower screen didn't sit onthe bath properly. Every time we had a shower water would flood the floor. The first time I used the shower I almost did the slips stepping out of it. When I told the guy on reception he said he would get maintance to look at it. By looking at the bath panel and floor you could clearly seevthis had been an on going problem for sometime.

Taking everything into account I would definitely return.