No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Burlington Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Burlington Arcade 126 New Street , Birmingham, B2 4JQ
A magnificent four-star Victorian hotel set in the heart of Birmingham, Macdonald Burlington Hotel is conveniently located right in the city centre for a wealth of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel is located just a 2 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Station, 10 minutes walk from Moor Street and Snow Hill Stations. Birmingham International Airport is just a 10 minutes link away and within a short distance of the ICC and the NIA. If you want to explore the culture in the area, the following attractions are all within a 5 minute walk of the hotel: The Hippodrome Theatre, The Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery, Symphony Hall, Birmingham Library.

The Macdonald Burlington hotel is steeped in history. Our Victorian architecture and vast marbled reception has welcomed many a prime minister and celebrity, so the team know and recognise how to treat all of our guests as VIPs.

The hotel has 114 bedrooms, all with unique features and char. All the bedrooms come with comfortable beds with thick mattress toppers, crisp white linen and soft duvets flat screen digital televisions, air-conditioning, complimentary bottled filtered water as standard, using water sourced from our own underground spring. The shiny bathrooms come with toiletries and fluffy towels, all to ensure that your stay is a home away from home experience.

An oasis of calm and tranquility, the hotel has a choice of lounge areas, an intimate cocktail bar and the Berlioz restaurant and Scottish Steak Club which serves the best steak in town.

Guests will receive an attractive discount in our local NCP car park. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Picture of Macdonald Burlington Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 139 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were all very friendly,professional,helpful and went that extra mile to accomodate,

Reviewed by
Kenny Michie

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel!
We always stay here when shopping in Birmingham and it never fails great rooms in a perfect spot

Reviewed by
Shane M

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small bed
Room was supposed to be a twin, but the bed was a little larger than average single, with one floppy pillow each.
Was woke up at 03.30 by the fire alarm, for which NO apology was given.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Burlington
Very nice hotel

Reviewed by
ROBERT BARR

From BRUSSELS, Belgium
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas market visit
Arrived saturday lunch time, parking a problem as we expected but found one not to far away.
Hotel right in the middle of things, christmas market right out side hotel doors. Staff could not have been better, friendly and helpful. We wanted an Indian meal for the evening and were given directions and a selection in order of peference by the staff, both in the dining room and on reception. Room was spacious and to a high standard with all the little touches expected from a hotel of this standard.

Reviewed by
R Stamp

From Barton upon Humber, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Experience
Welcoming and very helpful staff. Beautiful decor, executive double was very clean, huge bed, most amazing pillows and great shower and bathroom facilities. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
J Pienaar

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor customer service and inaccurate web info
Our stay started with an hour's drive around birmingham city centre trying to find the hotel car park, which turned out to be the town hall car park which was not Made clear either on website or booking. The hotel failed to answer their phone for 45 mins, despite having 3members of staff on reception when we arrived. We found the staff rude and unhelpful (until we complained) and our room was far from the idillic images presented on the hotel website. We had no hot water for the duration of our stay and later discovererd on complaining that other customers were also complaining of the same problem. The communal areas were filty and the welcome we re eived from the hotel was certainly not a warm one. On complaining we received a 25% discount on our stay and we're told that if we booked again we would be upgraded to a better room. If this is how they treat first time customers I certainly would not be booking into their accommodation again!

Reviewed by
Gabi C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfort and Convenience
Just a stride from New Street Station - why struggle with a suitcase? Close to shops and cultural venues too.

Reviewed by
Helen B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shopping break with my daughter.
Booked with Late Rooms for a shopping break with my daughter. Staff at hotel excellent. We were very disappointed with our first room but there was no fuss to change to another and were upgraded. This was more the size I was expecting for the price they were charging. Rooms are tired and need some TLC. Paint flaking, beading missing from wardrobe, plug loose on bath, towel heater not working. The room had 2 large radiators which was lovely. Bed linen and towels were ex. Room booked for 2 but only one robe and pair slippers. I would not have been satisfied if I had paid £245+ for the room. But £85 was reasonable with Late Rooms. Ex location for shopping. Managers should be very pleased with their staff they are a credit. Would stY again but only via Late Rooms.

Reviewed by
Shelley C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dreadful experience apart from when they were trying to stave off a complaint
The experience began with not being able to find parking and the hotel not answering the phone. Alright they said that was down to Late Rooms giving the wrong number but surely it is up to their web team to make sure info like that is correct. I found my room was dingy, badly lit and small with a bathroom door that did not fit. It felt slightly grubby. My colleague was upgraded after they put her in someone else's room (the reception staff were very apologetic) and she ended up somewhere much much nicer. They also gave us complimentary wine to try and stave off the complaint and the reception staff were generally helpful. The breakfast was atrocious. We ordered scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and received rubbery eggs that had been scrambled in advance and left to stand with fish that had the texture of leather on soggy toast. The waiting staff forgot my coffee and when it came there was no apology. No car park was a pain as it meant we struggled to find a parking space and ended up 10 mins walk away paying premium rates. To cap it all they tried to get me to pay again for the booking I had paid for. There were some good things (eg the helpfulness of the reception staff) but we felt we only got those because they wanted to make sure we made no complaint. Overall the stay at this hotel ended up being an experience I would rather forget.

Reviewed by
Shirley G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next