You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Macdonald Burlington Hotel


Burlington Arcade 126 New Street, Birmingham, B2 4JQ

Price From 199.43 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (92)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Janet T

  • October 2015

An excellent room with one exception.

The previous guest had obviously reported a problem with the plumbing. Just after we checked in the maintenance appeared and put drain cleaner down the sink which appeared to be blocked. He assured us that this would clear - this however was not the case and we were therefore not able to use the washbasin

  • David P

  • October 2015

Perfectly Central

Very good hotel in a great location for exploring Birmingham.

Perfectly situated adjacent to 'Grand Central' station and shops. Short walking distance to Mailbox and Brindley Place for bars and restaurants.

Bit noisy at night due to proximity to station. Once the busker had ran out of breath it was relatively quiet and a decent nights sleep.

  • H Smith

  • October 2015

Great location, excellent breakfast, couple of improvements required.

Have stayed here twice before, great central city location near train station.

Nice old building with plenty of character. Reception were efficient and polite as always. On this occasion we stayed in room 212, room nice enough. Bathroom appears to have recently been refurbished to a good standard, shame the sealant around bath and bath panel are shabby, spoils an otherwise lovely bathroom.

As always the quality of the breakfast was excellent, but on this occasion we were frustrated with the service, there were lots of staff milling around seemingly with no purpose or area to manage. Consequently we had to ask for hot drinks, ask to order food, ask for butter to accompany toast, ask for jam, ask twice for more toast. We didn't have the heart to order more tea or coffee after we had run out, but neither did any staff member notice and offer either. Such a shame, as I said the breakfast is excellent quality and the dining room is very beautiful with a good view over New street.

  • ivan watson

  • October 2015

birmingham grand central

Booked an executive double room and was provided with a queen size bed and consequently did not get a good nights sleep.

I have stayed here before and cant remember the beds being small so what is going on!

  • Neil W

  • September 2015

Not worth £160 for one night's stay

The hotel staff were very friendly, but the single room that I was put in was small, dated and not worth £160 for one night.

The hotel is well positioned in the centre of Birmingham for the NIA / ICC Bars and Restaurants

I cannot comment on the food / breakfast as I left before breakfast was served.

  • S Winslade

  • September 2015

A well earned break.

Had a lovely time.

Room and hotel was lovely. Staff very helpful and friendly. We were able to check in early when we arrived. A great location for exploring Birmingham.

  • Jason P

  • September 2015

Nice hotel

Nice hotel nothing to really wow you.

Reception staff were fantastic

Room was ok bed was small and so was the room.

  • L Wolff

  • September 2015

Advertising in late room superior double which has a king bed Got very small bed tiny room.

Information needs to be updated

Cut my toe on floor as grout was very poor standard and falling out in he bathroom

  • J Clarke

  • September 2015

Great hotel

Fantastic hotel location, bit of a mix up with the booking date but the hotel sorted it for me, would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • l scarth

  • September 2015

great location