No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Burlington Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Burlington Arcade 126 New Street , Birmingham, B2 4JQ
A magnificent four-star Victorian hotel set in the heart of Birmingham, Macdonald Burlington Hotel is conveniently located right in the city centre for a wealth of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel is located just a 2 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Station, 10 minutes walk from Moor Street and Snow Hill Stations. Birmingham International Airport is just a 10 minutes link away and within a short distance of the ICC and the NIA. If you want to explore the culture in the area, the following attractions are all within a 5 minute walk of the hotel: The Hippodrome Theatre, The Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery, Symphony Hall, Birmingham Library.

The Macdonald Burlington hotel is steeped in history. Our Victorian architecture and vast marbled reception has welcomed many a prime minister and celebrity, so the team know and recognise how to treat all of our guests as VIPs.

The hotel has 114 bedrooms, all with unique features and char. All the bedrooms come with comfortable beds with thick mattress toppers, crisp white linen and soft duvets flat screen digital televisions, air-conditioning, complimentary bottled filtered water as standard, using water sourced from our own underground spring. The shiny bathrooms come with toiletries and fluffy towels, all to ensure that your stay is a home away from home experience.

An oasis of calm and tranquility, the hotel has a choice of lounge areas, an intimate cocktail bar and the Berlioz restaurant and Scottish Steak Club which serves the best steak in town.

Guests will receive an attractive discount in our local NCP car park. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Picture of Macdonald Burlington Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 136 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A memorable stay for all the right reasons
It is rare that my wife and I treat ourselves to a weekend break. We booked into the MacDonald Burlington hoping to be pampered and were not disappointed. The staff were all courteous and helpful, with the added surprise of an upgrade to an Executive Suite upon arrival! The room was spotless, bed enormous, breakfast delicious. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a stylish, centrally situated place to stay in Birmingham. We will definitely be returning.

Reviewed by
N Powlesland

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just Great
Had a lovely stay in a great hotel , stayed in the executive room it was so worth paying the extra , the room and the hotel was very clean and the staff could not be more helpful, will be staying here again , and the location was just a very short walk from the shops and night life .

Reviewed by
p hemmings

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful stay in a beautiful room.
Tucked away in an alcove on New Street, the Burlington was a little hard to find, but I called the hotel and Karine the receptionist helped me find my way there! Check in was easy and quick.
The first executive room was given was a little smaller than I was expecting, but the second I mentioned it, Karine moved me to a beautiful room with a king size bed (room 334), and I couldn't have been more satisfied. The room was clean, bright, and tastefully decorated. The bed was very comfortable, and I had a wonderful bath. She also called up to make sure I was happy with the new room.
The room service was perfect. I ordered smoked salmon sandwiches and strawberries, and it was really delicious, delivered quickly by a really friendly lady. All the staff were so polite and attentive! In particular Karine, who is a credit to your company.
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, I will definitely be back soon!

Reviewed by
Y Whitfield

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were all very friendly,professional,helpful and went that extra mile to accomodate,

Reviewed by
Kenny Michie

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel!
We always stay here when shopping in Birmingham and it never fails great rooms in a perfect spot

Reviewed by
Shane M

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small bed
Room was supposed to be a twin, but the bed was a little larger than average single, with one floppy pillow each.
Was woke up at 03.30 by the fire alarm, for which NO apology was given.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Burlington
Very nice hotel

Reviewed by
ROBERT BARR

From BRUSSELS, Belgium
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas market visit
Arrived saturday lunch time, parking a problem as we expected but found one not to far away.
Hotel right in the middle of things, christmas market right out side hotel doors. Staff could not have been better, friendly and helpful. We wanted an Indian meal for the evening and were given directions and a selection in order of peference by the staff, both in the dining room and on reception. Room was spacious and to a high standard with all the little touches expected from a hotel of this standard.

Reviewed by
R Stamp

From Barton upon Humber, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Experience
Welcoming and very helpful staff. Beautiful decor, executive double was very clean, huge bed, most amazing pillows and great shower and bathroom facilities. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
J Pienaar

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor customer service and inaccurate web info
Our stay started with an hour's drive around birmingham city centre trying to find the hotel car park, which turned out to be the town hall car park which was not Made clear either on website or booking. The hotel failed to answer their phone for 45 mins, despite having 3members of staff on reception when we arrived. We found the staff rude and unhelpful (until we complained) and our room was far from the idillic images presented on the hotel website. We had no hot water for the duration of our stay and later discovererd on complaining that other customers were also complaining of the same problem. The communal areas were filty and the welcome we re eived from the hotel was certainly not a warm one. On complaining we received a 25% discount on our stay and we're told that if we booked again we would be upgraded to a better room. If this is how they treat first time customers I certainly would not be booking into their accommodation again!

Reviewed by
Gabi C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next