No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Burlington Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Burlington Arcade 126 New Street , Birmingham, B2 4JQ
A magnificent four-star Victorian hotel set in the heart of Birmingham, Macdonald Burlington Hotel is conveniently located right in the city centre for a wealth of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel is located just a 2 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Station, 10 minutes walk from Moor Street and Snow Hill Stations. Birmingham International Airport is just a 10 minutes link away and within a short distance of the ICC and the NIA. If you want to explore the culture in the area, the following attractions are all within a 5 minute walk of the hotel: The Hippodrome Theatre, The Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery, Symphony Hall, Birmingham Library.

The Macdonald Burlington hotel is steeped in history. Our Victorian architecture and vast marbled reception has welcomed many a prime minister and celebrity, so the team know and recognise how to treat all of our guests as VIPs.

The hotel has 114 bedrooms, all with unique features and char. All the bedrooms come with comfortable beds with thick mattress toppers, crisp white linen and soft duvets flat screen digital televisions, air-conditioning, complimentary bottled filtered water as standard, using water sourced from our own underground spring. The shiny bathrooms come with toiletries and fluffy towels, all to ensure that your stay is a home away from home experience.

An oasis of calm and tranquility, the hotel has a choice of lounge areas, an intimate cocktail bar and the Berlioz restaurant and Scottish Steak Club which serves the best steak in town.

Guests will receive an attractive discount in our local NCP car park. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Picture of Macdonald Burlington Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 137 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

avoid room 322
Avoid room 322 too noisy was woken at 3am and couldn't go back to sleep due to people being noisy.

Reviewed by
M Cutting

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

please be like your website
living on a past reputation , rooms do not represent the web site only a interpretation, had to request change of room , plumbing for toilet in original inadiquate, upgrade nice room but still not what you see on web. Note if you dont look on reception at my printed off room schedule from Late rooms, how do you know what Iam paying for grade of room wise?, now this is a very common occurance in other Hotels.
Reception / Manager excellent chap could not do enough seems to be carrying the weight of the hotels problems on his shoulders.
scottish steak room aka @ breakfast room this I was looking forward to imagine our dissapointment to find the menu looking like pub grub no main menu on steaks and no steaks like the menu o nthe web site service A joke waited waited waited with only several tables occupied given free drink of wine!
food pub grub, 27 00 for a fillet steak for my wife, I had lost interest meat skewers or red pepper skewers! retired to bar charged 17 50 by over worked single staff, trying to deal with late night guests, for a large malt and a small malabu and orange, on return for a night cap ,sprayed by member of staff in froth and beer pulling a pint on a new barrell,given free whisky!
Breakfast roars of laughter between staff for requesting previous nights table which is not set up for breakfast, my bacon nearly grunted, Iam off home.

Reviewed by
michael h

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unfriendly, woken up three times in the night through noise, rushed at breakfast,
i arrived earlier than 2.00pm i was hoping to drop my luggage off and do a bit of shopping or have a nice lunch, on going to the reception i was informed "rooms not ready come back at 2.00pm" so very rude, the lady could have said sorry its to early to check in why not leave your luggage and have a look around we have a nice restaurant and bar upstairs. Then later on i tried to order room service firstly there is no room service menu and the phone number given sends out a non dialing tone, during the night woken up twice by noise celebrations and on the third occasion i was woken by the sound of crashing kitchen trays, next day got up for breakfast which was amazing however no sooner had i put my spoon down it was taken away, felt as though i was being rushed

Reviewed by
SALLY E

From nuneaton, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight at the Burlington
I like staying at this hotel as it's close to the train station and city centre and very convenient to meet up with my nieces and their families. On this occasion I persuaded my elderly mum to travel from London and spend the night (which is rare). Albeit we did arrive too early for checkin at 1400 - the reception advised us to wait in the bar area - 2.hours later we still were not given our room - we were furious as we had wasted so much time that could have been spent with our family. In the end we left our luggage and came back to checkin at 1945 that evening. Our room was ready albeit on the 4th floor when I had asked twice for a low floor. When we arrived at our fabulous room it was just one big bed for me and mum. So it was back to reception who gave us a second room as too late to split the bed in 2! The room situation was as you can imagine a disaster but that doesn't mean that I wouldn't stay here again as it's a very nice hotel and a perfect location. We were given a complimentary breakfast and the quality of the food was excellent. I also enjoy sitting in both the bar and the restaurant areas. The staff are very friendly and helpful albeit on our arrival I think the staff on the front desk were young and not experienced as during our 2 hour wait, not one person came to find us to apologise. I am venting my frustration in this email but trust me, the hotel is still worth a stay on so many levels, and I doubt that when they see my name in a future booking, they will mess up again (infact just the opposite and give me the royal treatment). Enjoy your stay.

Reviewed by
donna r

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel. Very friendly service.

Reviewed by
K Johnson

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel was stunning with excellent service, it is also central to alot of facilities and would definitely recommend this Hotel to all of my friends.
Regards Sarah Eyre

Reviewed by
Sarah Eyre

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff very helpful with finding local places to eat.

Reviewed by
j garratt

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel, excellent location in city center, lovely friendly and helpful staff.
The first room we were offered had an disappointing view so we were moved to a second room which was not as nice, but was very bright and airy with large windows and a great view. Sadly, although the first room had a fridge, disappointingly, the second one did not. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I was generally very happy with my stay.

Reviewed by
Luanshya Rae

From Leighton Buzzard, England
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My room was very small, it was reduced from £220 per night to £79 but this still seemed expensive !

Reviewed by
Jason Vincent

From Market Rasen, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, however shower leaked and very noisy front street traffic

Reviewed by
N Thrupp

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next