Macdonald Burlington Hotel

4

Burlington Arcade 126 New Street, Birmingham, B2 4JQ

Price From 271.60 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (149)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Howard B

  • November 2014

Good Location But Expensive and Very Poor

All one can say in favour of the Macdonald Burlington is that it is well-situated in the centre of Birmingham.

The room was extremely shabby, the moulding on the bedhead fell off in the night, the sink was blocked, the heating/air/con was extremely noisy, the front door stuck,the bed was uncomfortable, there was no hot water for a shower at 6.30 am, the breakfast was meagre and the heating system in the restaurant made a high-pitched whining noise... need I go on. At over £100.00 for a night I think this was pretty dreadful. I have made a written complaint to the hotel (via Email) and received no reply while nearly a week has elapsed since my stay.

  • Kaye B

  • November 2014

Staff great, room standard slipping

Past experiences have always been excellent, but sadly the room on this occasion was feeling a bit tired - window did not close easily and with curtains drawn this was not obvious so suffered with cold room until this was realised, bathroom fittings functional but only just.

Breakfasts very good and staff in all areas very efficient, friendly and accommodating.

  • Susan Childs

  • November 2014

family beak in Birmingham

The hotel is a real gem tucked away in the heart of the city centre.

It is close to shops and restaurants yet manges to create a calm and personal welcome and atmosphere. I was genuinely surpised and very impressed. The staff on reception were particulaty helpful offering an individual service and understanding of what I wanted from our break. Thank you and we will gadly return as soon as possible.

  • Christopher G

  • October 2014

Great reception and bar staff .

Room v. Comfortable but a bit shabby ,handle off door cupboard and the shower didn't empty very easily , but bed v. Comfortable and a far cry from those unattractive hutches of most hotels . Good pictures ,and some thought had gone into their selection but it all needs a bit of a paint and tidy up . Nevertheless a very comfortable stay . Will come again .

  • Pete F

  • October 2014

Great hotel and staff

The staff and the quality of room were both very high and for £68 it was great value.

I arrived around 9.45am on the day of my booking hoping I could just leave my bag there and was told I could actually check in and use my room. This was great and meant I could relax before attending the conference later in the morning.

  • Jason Plant

  • October 2014

Satisfied customer

Perfectly situated for when you have a train to catch in the morning.

  • Jennifer b

  • October 2014

The hotel was lovely and very friendly. The room was beautiful and the sandwiches were delicious

The hotel was very central to the shopping centre and the train station was a minute walk away - would definitely stay there again as the hotel was beautiful and very relaxed

  • D Bentley

  • October 2014

Never lets us down

We often stay at the Burlington in Birmingham and always get brilliant service.

The rooms are always clean, staff are friendly and very accommodating. Our favourites on Reception are Sarah and Richard - they are so helpful and always have a smile. We love this hotel to bits.

  • Chris B

  • October 2014

Buisness Trip

Spent one night at the hotel.

Friendly helpful staff. Room very clean and spacious. Only one drawback being that there was a busker playing some weird tunes for a few hours. Not something the hotel could control.

  • K COOKE

  • October 2014

Hotel Stay

The hotel was very clean and comfortable.

The breakfast was delicious, my room was very well decorated. However, my room was very hot throughout the stay as the Air Conditioning was not working for my entire stay, upon arrival I reported this at Reception to be told it would be fixed that afternoon, upon return this was still not fixed, I then reported it again on the following afternoon to be told no one had been to see it and the engineer commented that the air con unit in my room is very faulty and rarely works. To be told it would be fixed and then to find it is out of repair was unsatisfacory. I was then offered a fan for the rest of my stay, which made the room very uncomfortable. I also reported that the safe within my room was locked upon arrival however this was not fixed either throughout my stay. I would not have minded the heat within the room if I could open the windows to let cool air in, however my room overlooked all of the air conditioning units, which were very noisy throughout day and night. I have stayed in other Macdonald hotels and received much better service.