No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Burlington Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Burlington Arcade 126 New Street , Birmingham, B2 4JQ
A magnificent four-star Victorian hotel set in the heart of Birmingham, Macdonald Burlington Hotel is conveniently located right in the city centre for a wealth of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel is located just a 2 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Station, 10 minutes walk from Moor Street and Snow Hill Stations. Birmingham International Airport is just a 10 minutes link away and within a short distance of the ICC and the NIA. If you want to explore the culture in the area, the following attractions are all within a 5 minute walk of the hotel: The Hippodrome Theatre, The Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery, Symphony Hall, Birmingham Library.

The Macdonald Burlington hotel is steeped in history. Our Victorian architecture and vast marbled reception has welcomed many a prime minister and celebrity, so the team know and recognise how to treat all of our guests as VIPs.

The hotel has 114 bedrooms, all with unique features and char. All the bedrooms come with comfortable beds with thick mattress toppers, crisp white linen and soft duvets flat screen digital televisions, air-conditioning, complimentary bottled filtered water as standard, using water sourced from our own underground spring. The shiny bathrooms come with toiletries and fluffy towels, all to ensure that your stay is a home away from home experience.

An oasis of calm and tranquility, the hotel has a choice of lounge areas, an intimate cocktail bar and the Berlioz restaurant and Scottish Steak Club which serves the best steak in town.

Guests will receive an attractive discount in our local NCP car park. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Picture of Macdonald Burlington Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 137 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was small, as was the bed
Room was small and the bed small

Reviewed by
D Jones

From Abertillery, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

concert trip
An overnight stay in Birmingham for concert, meal and shopping (travel by train). Hotel very close to station, concert halls, restaurants & shops, enabling us to make best use of our time in the city.
Comfortable room, quiet overnight (despite central location and the fact there was at least one large party in the hotel). All staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast.
Have stayed here before and will do so again.

Reviewed by
Sue H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

back from the dam
Very pleasant and helpful staff as always. Very clean hotel and an excellent location and at a very good price, and can often be found cheaper too. Would 110% stay there again be that on business or leisure.

Reviewed by
Neil Durkin

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Hotel has excellent location and it is a great value for your money. Staff is very friendly and helpfull.

Reviewed by
Lucie R

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Fantastic hotel, amazing customer service and extremely comfortable rooms. Thank you!!

Reviewed by
C Foster

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel a little tired. No hot water in the morning for a shower and no one who could check us out.
Willing to accept compromise slightly tired decor but value for money OK. Then no hot water in the morning (6am) because boiler wasn't working. Hotel manager tried to make light of it and shrug it off "who needs hot water anyway". Grrrrrrr......Then took ages to check out because the guy left behind the desk didn't know how to do it ! Won't be staying there again.

Reviewed by
Benedict Jackson

From Ledbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

highly recommendable
would recommend the Burlington, as the welcome to when we left was fantastic. staff and food were 100% the room was amazing. what more can i say? if you are staying in Birmingham, this should be high on your list of possibilities.

Reviewed by
NEIL ALLY

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service, good location
A very pleasant hotel in the centre of Birmingham. Staff were very hepful and breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Nicola S

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Having stayed here previously we were very disappointed in the room we were allocated . It was a long hike from reception with very poor furnishings, dirty walls and in a desperate need of referburbishment . The staff had done their very best to make it appear clean and were very helpful. However we left very early the next morning choosing not to stay for breakfast overall not a very good experience .

Reviewed by
Tracy J

From Willenhall, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Happy
I was very happy with my room and the facilities of the hotel. Staff very helpful polite and food from the restaurant was of a good standard. I would stay there again. Clean tidy comfortable bed, great location!!

Reviewed by
Laura T

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next