No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Burlington Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Burlington Arcade 126 New Street , Birmingham, B2 4JQ
A magnificent four-star Victorian hotel set in the heart of Birmingham, Macdonald Burlington Hotel is conveniently located right in the city centre for a wealth of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel is located just a 2 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Station, 10 minutes walk from Moor Street and Snow Hill Stations. Birmingham International Airport is just a 10 minutes link away and within a short distance of the ICC and the NIA. If you want to explore the culture in the area, the following attractions are all within a 5 minute walk of the hotel: The Hippodrome Theatre, The Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery, Symphony Hall, Birmingham Library.

The Macdonald Burlington hotel is steeped in history. Our Victorian architecture and vast marbled reception has welcomed many a prime minister and celebrity, so the team know and recognise how to treat all of our guests as VIPs.

The hotel has 114 bedrooms, all with unique features and char. All the bedrooms come with comfortable beds with thick mattress toppers, crisp white linen and soft duvets flat screen digital televisions, air-conditioning, complimentary bottled filtered water as standard, using water sourced from our own underground spring. The shiny bathrooms come with toiletries and fluffy towels, all to ensure that your stay is a home away from home experience.

An oasis of calm and tranquility, the hotel has a choice of lounge areas, an intimate cocktail bar and the Berlioz restaurant and Scottish Steak Club which serves the best steak in town.

Guests will receive an attractive discount in our local NCP car park. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Picture of Macdonald Burlington Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 137 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

highly recommendable
would recommend the Burlington, as the welcome to when we left was fantastic. staff and food were 100% the room was amazing. what more can i say? if you are staying in Birmingham, this should be high on your list of possibilities.

Reviewed by
NEIL ALLY

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service, good location
A very pleasant hotel in the centre of Birmingham. Staff were very hepful and breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Nicola S

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Having stayed here previously we were very disappointed in the room we were allocated . It was a long hike from reception with very poor furnishings, dirty walls and in a desperate need of referburbishment . The staff had done their very best to make it appear clean and were very helpful. However we left very early the next morning choosing not to stay for breakfast overall not a very good experience .

Reviewed by
Tracy J

From Willenhall, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Happy
I was very happy with my room and the facilities of the hotel. Staff very helpful polite and food from the restaurant was of a good standard. I would stay there again. Clean tidy comfortable bed, great location!!

Reviewed by
Laura T

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Buisness Trip
Spent one night at the hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Room very clean and spacious. Only one drawback being that there was a busker playing some weird tunes for a few hours. Not something the hotel could control.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel
This hotel was in a handy location, just outside the train station. It has been renevated to a good standard although we did have a few issues such as the lift wasn't working, the toilet flush broke and a socket was coming away from the wall. Our room was also next to the street so was very noisy at night. We enjoyed the weekend all the same.

Reviewed by
Louise C

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Location
Good location, opposite new st station.Walking distance to Resteraunts and Bars. Bull Ring, 2 minutes walk. Executive Room on 3rd floor was clean but dated decor. Hotel Lift was out of order. We were told "this will be rectified today", but as Saturday we pretty much knew nothing would happen till Monday. So no points for honesty.
Breakfast good.
Worth the discounted rate but would never pay full price.

Reviewed by
T Whelan

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good decision
A genuinely lovely hotel; big, old-fashioned (but in a good way), they upgraded me and were very helpful, polite and it is smack bang in the middle of Birmingham, but in a lovely quite arcade. Just lovely.

Reviewed by
Hannah S

From Wadhurst, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location friendly service
Booked a one night stay with my teenage daughter so we could do a bit of shopping before a show at the lg arena - we'd emailed in advance about parking and had a prompt reply. Upon arrival, Sarah the receptionist was helpful and friendly, the room was spacious and clean - although we had a view of some pipes we weren't that bothered as it was a bed for the night and at least it was quieter than a street view. The beds were really comfy and the location is great, two minutes from the car park, the station and the restaurants and shops - would reccomend to anyone

Reviewed by
Kirsten D

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Location, 5mins walk from New Street Station, Bull Ring 10mins walk
We were a little disappointed with the size of the room. I thought as I had up graded to a more expensive room that it would of been bigger. There were crumbs on the carpet so not sure it had been vacuumed, the rest of the room was very clean. It just didn't have the wow factor.
I would stay there again but next time I would query the rooms.
I know I should of complained at the time, especially as I over heard another customer complaining about the size his room and the receptionist gave him 20% off his bill. What she asked him to pay was 20% off what my bill was!!!!!

Reviewed by
D Hallmark

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next