Reviews - Thornton Hall Hotel and Spa


Neston Road Thornton Hough, Wirral, CH63 1JF

Price From 277.80 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (35)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Robert W

  • September 2015

Fantastic short break

Could not have asked for a better time away, we were simply after a relaxing break and this ticked all of the boxes.

  • David B

  • August 2015

An excellent hotel weel located for Chester Liverpool & North Wales

  • S Howard

  • July 2015


Great food.

  • M phillips

  • June 2015

Enjoyable stay.

value for money.

  • kathryn f

  • April 2015


We stayed as we attended a wedding there.

On arrival the staff were friendly and accommodating. The reception room and grounds were excellent, a lovely location for a wedding. The wedding reception was excellent (we had Lamb). Our room was as we would expect, clean and to a good standard. We enjoyed use if the facilities the following morning.

  • D Lennon

  • March 2015

Bad Experience

Paid for Superior Double, wife having cancer treatment next day.

Room should have had slippers and robes, water, fresh fruit. Reception doubted our word until my wife showed the receptionist where to look on the site, she levelled blame at Laterooms, didn't apologise. We then had 3 deliveries to the room..crazy still no interest or concern ie ownership shown. When checking out same person sked if we had had a nice stay...not for £300 including dinner. now then another issue, I agree it may have been their rules but....we looked at the menus, the bar menu had so soup available to start and rib eye steak. Advised that neither of these could be served in the main restaurant 'Lawns' as it was for fine Dining. So asked if we could have the soup as starter and the main course from the 'Lawns menu' in the Lawns restaurant,. The manager said no it was policy that they could not serve the lounge or bar menu in the main restaurant. so we elected to have the starter in the bar area and then move into the restaurant for the main course. This was now a problem, the manager wasn't happy with this so reluctantly offered to serve us in the restaurant. The restaurant was empty for most of the evening, max 3 couples. The manager/waiter once settled to the situation was polite,

Overall impression poor service, low level of customer service, no empathy, no apologies. Well below national standard.

  • peter rogerson

  • February 2015

our stay

An exceptional weekend.

the service was excellent. the room was excellent. cant fault the place. you get the service you pay for. a hotel to be proud of thank you.

  • Ian J

  • December 2014

Nicer than the chain hotels, although foods and drinks are a tad expensive.

I was delivering training in the area with a colleague and need a short notice place to stay.

I tried to book direct using a corporate rate by calling the hotel but the room rate was still over my budget. I would have thought selling two rooms the day before would be of interest to the hotel. So I went online a used a website to book the same rooms for much less. The standard rooms we had were okay. The bar drinks and food are priced quite highly.

  • Gaynor Isaac

  • November 2014

Lovely stay - a charity evening

Great reception service with a small hiccup around whether breakfast was included in the booking

( it was a pre paid advance room booking ) being swiftly resolved

The room was spacious and clean however did have a distinct smell of cigarette smoke which I advised the housekeeping manager of and she attended the room with air freshener, clearly not the fault of the hotel but of ignorant travellers

Service in the hotel bar was really great , pleasant team who were eager to go the extra mile in terms of service

The food served at the function was top notch restaurant quality with again great service from the team

Breakfast was a buffet with a good selection of hot and cold, I prefer table service with a menu , but that is just personal choice , food was good , fresh and hot the breakfast service team were all extremely happy and efficient

Would definitely stay again a nice treat and lovely team

  • Emily M

  • November 2014


I really enjoyed my stay at Thornton Hall.

I have stayed in many hotels that come with a "Spa" and have often been disappointed. The Spa at Thornton Hall however was even better than I hoped (the snow cave is very cool!). Staff were lovely, and the food in the restaurant in the Spa was absolutely fantastic, as well as being well priced. I am travelling to the area again with work and will definitely stay there again.