Thornton Hall Hotel and Spa

4

Neston Road Thornton Hough, Wirral, CH63 1JF

Price From 122.87 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (51)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • W Fell

  • August 2013

Much needed R and R

fter a traumatic few months my wife and I needed a spot of rest and relaxation and we certainly found it here.

Our room was clean and comfortable, though the mattresses could do with replacing soon. The staff were super, especially the cleaning lady who told us how to get to Ness Botanical Gardens. The Spa was great and after a day spent walking the area it was great to have a swim and sauna. We certainly hope to go back.

  • D Stevens

  • July 2013

lovely hotel, friendly staff and fantastic food.

Food is expensive and drinks not included in dinner allowance so did spend more than expected as drinks quite expensive but is 4* hotel and so can be expected I suppose.

I felt menu choices were quite limited and side orders of vegetables and potatoes were extra but not listed nor mentioned on menu as extras. We did have some noisy neighbours about 3am and their was wedding on. We also got woken by service staff from 8ish chatting loudly as the linen stores were right outside our room, despite do not disturb sign so lie in went amiss!

  • David Hughes

  • July 2013

I had been looking forward to my stay at Thornton Hall and was enchanted by thier website photos.

However, on being allocated my room in the "70's motel" section of the hotel (with excellent views of the car park) I began to question its' star rating. The quality and charm of the reception staff, liesure centre employees and pool facillities were worthy of the highest praise. That is where it ends for me I am sorry to say. I do not consider myself to be a snob....I have stayed in the most basic hotels in India, Nepal & Tibet, and also the "swankiest" hotels that Malaysia, Australasia and even th UK have to offer. Even in the remotest Tea House in Dangboche or Gopra Shep have I ever had to ask the staff 3 times over the space of three quarters of an hour for a pot of tea and "enjoyed" the indifference to my request that I experienced at Thornton Hall. Fortunately, my tea arrived in time to complement my freezing food which appered to subject to a regime of rationing. And, probably because I am middle aged.....I despise being greeted as "guys" by anyone, let alone by someone who is not in my close social network. I would rate this hotel at 3* on a day when I am "feeling the love" and I would certainly not pay more than £65 a night for the dubious privelege of staying there. Also, whilst I am mildly ranting, the grog is way over-priced considering the fact that one could get mildly refreshed at a hostelry not 5 minutes stroll away. Heigh-ho...I doubt that the "hosts" that own Thornton Hall give two hoots about my opinion. I did complain at the time of my stay and the duty manageress duly noted my observations, in biro I hasten to add, on the photo-copied form that is readily available for such overt cheekiness. Well, there you go....as I always say "make your own mind up". It was certainly not .....my cup of tea?

  • lisa tootell

  • July 2013

really enjoyed our stay! lovely staff

  • David Hutchinson

  • June 2013

Grossly overpriced food and wine

The menu food descriptions were quite attractive, being inventive and appetising.

The food itself was totally inadequate, amounting at times to little more than decorative painting on the plates. As a frequent traveller in France & Belgium, I am of course aware of the conventions of "cuisine nouvelle/minceur" but I have never experienced such mouse trap baitings as these. The quantities were minute and barely adequate to sustain a healthy lifestyle life for more than a few hours. Has the chef heard of the "five a day" portions of fresh fruit and vegetables. Guests would be well advised to bring their own food. "Cuisine invisible" might be a good description of the food provided and if such absurd charges are going to be levied you should make a daily allowance of at least £65 rather than £34 for clients taking advantage of your special offers.

Wines on the other hand were described as having flavours and odours that most serious wine drinkers would probably wish to avoid. Prices were outrageous Charging £26 for wines available in Tesco for less than £6 is rank exploitation.

Staying again in this hotel might well be a pleasurable experience if a suitable restaurant could be located in the vicinity. The management should encourage clients to bring their own wines and levy a modest corkage fee. Alternatively, I should be quite happy to advise the management on how to lay down an acceptable and sensibly priced cellar.

  • Dwight Haub

  • June 2013

Loved the gym and pol

  • kevin h

  • June 2013

Drinks expensive

Drinks very expensive, over priced hotel.

  • G Jones

  • May 2013

Went for a one night getaway for a relaxing time.

Rooms ere perfect for what we needed however a tad dated (only complaint)

On the evening on arriving we ate at lawns, WOW amazing food and service. Staff are very polite and accommodating

The service Carried on to breakfast in the morning which was a lovely spread

The next day we had treatments the therapist were lovely and proffesional however the treatment rooms were dated and not very dark, i booked in for a yummy mummy treatment, my therapist left the room and I felt it was very stop start and not flowing I prop wouldn't have another treatment here

The hotel is tesla is lovely with staff very police the grounds are lovely and locate is perfect

  • shannon w

  • May 2013

Staff were lovely and accommodated all our needs, the room was spacious and gorgeous, loved it!

Could not of asked for better, perfect get away for a couple, rooms were big and spacious.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Recommended this to all my friends and family must go!

  • sarah richardson

  • May 2013

Lovely spa facilities

My partner and I stayed here for two nights on a part business/leisure trip.

The room was spacioius and had french doors opening onto the garden, which was really lovely. I thought the furniture and pictures in the room was boring and very "travel lodge" but aside from that it was a lovely place to stay. Comfy beds, manicured gardens, and best of all the spa, especially the outdoor jacuzzi was just fantastic. The breakfast was pricey but tasty and the customer service was very good.