No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thornton Hall Hotel and Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Neston Road Thornton Hough, Wirral, CH63 1JF
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa is one of the regions' largest Spa Resorts, Yet each of our 62 bedrooms and suites have the atmosphere of an intimate hotel. Each bedroom offers Free Super Fast Fibre Optic Wifi, New Smart TV's offering a huge selection of channels plus interactive services as well as Sky Sports 1, 2 & 3.

Our award winning Spa which is one of the finest in the region offers state of the art fitness equipment, 20 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, steam room & two outdoor Hydro Spa Pools. We also boast 11 spa treatment rooms in our holistic & clinical Spas offering anything from a relaxing massage to IPL. Our newly renovated Mud Rasul & Snow Cave along with the leisure facilities are available complimentary to hotel guests. The Hair Spa is open 7 days a week along with the Nail Bar.

We have various dining options from our award winning 3 AA Rosette Lawns Restaurant to The Times Brasserie. Lounge meals and room service options are also available.

Nominated - World Spa Awards 2013

"Best Spa Award Winner" 2012 Liverpool Lifestyle Awards - HQ Hotel Open Golf Championship 2014 & Ricoh Womens Open 2012

- Free "Super Fast Fibre Optic WiFi" throughout hotel - Free car parking - Just 20 mins from Liverpool & Chester - 20 Mins from Royal Liverpool Golf Club - 15 mins from Wallasey Golf Club.

Liverpool One shopping district, Cheshire Oaks and Blue Planet Aquarium are a 15-minute drive from Thornton Hall. Chester Zoo, Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs, and Deeside are all 20 minutes' drive away.
Picture of Thornton Hall Hotel and Spa, Wirral at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grossly overpriced food and wine
The menu food descriptions were quite attractive, being inventive and appetising. The food itself was totally inadequate, amounting at times to little more than decorative painting on the plates. As a frequent traveller in France & Belgium, I am of course aware of the conventions of "cuisine nouvelle/minceur" but I have never experienced such mouse trap baitings as these. The quantities were minute and barely adequate to sustain a healthy lifestyle life for more than a few hours. Has the chef heard of the "five a day" portions of fresh fruit and vegetables? Guests would be well advised to bring their own food! "Cuisine invisible" might be a good description of the food provided and if such absurd charges are going to be levied you should make a daily allowance of at least £65 rather than £34 for clients taking advantage of your special offers.
Wines on the other hand were described as having flavours and odours that most serious wine drinkers would probably wish to avoid. Prices were outrageous Charging £26 for wines available in Tesco for less than £6 is rank exploitation.
Staying again in this hotel might well be a pleasurable experience if a suitable restaurant could be located in the vicinity. The management should encourage clients to bring their own wines and levy a modest corkage fee. Alternatively, I should be quite happy to advise the management on how to lay down an acceptable and sensibly priced cellar.

Reviewed by
David Hutchinson

From Petersfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved the gym and pol

Reviewed by
Dwight Haub

From Conroe , USA
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I had been looking forward to my stay at Thornton Hall and was enchanted by thier website photos. However, on being allocated my room in the "70's motel" section of the hotel (with excellent views of the car park) I began to question its' star rating.
The quality and charm of the reception staff, liesure centre employees and pool facillities were worthy of the highest praise.
That is where it ends for me I am sorry to say. I do not consider myself to be a snob....I have stayed in the most basic hotels in India, Nepal & Tibet, and also the "swankiest" hotels that Malaysia, Australasia and even th UK have to offer.
Even in the remotest Tea House in Dangboche or Gopra Shep have I ever had to ask the staff 3 times over the space of three quarters of an hour for a pot of tea and "enjoyed" the indifference to my request that I experienced at Thornton Hall. Fortunately, my tea arrived in time to complement my freezing food which appered to subject to a regime of rationing. And, probably because I am middle aged.....I despise being greeted as "guys" by anyone, let alone by someone who is not in my close social network.
I would rate this hotel at 3* on a day when I am "feeling the love" and I would certainly not pay more than £65 a night for the dubious privelege of staying there. Also, whilst I am mildly ranting, the grog is way over-priced considering the fact that one could get mildly refreshed at a hostelry not 5 minutes stroll away.
Heigh-ho...I doubt that the "hosts" that own Thornton Hall give two hoots about my opinion. I did complain at the time of my stay and the duty manageress duly noted my observations, in biro I hasten to add, on the photo-copied form that is readily available for such overt cheekiness.
Well, there you go....as I always say "make your own mind up". It was certainly not .....my cup of tea?

Reviewed by
David Hughes

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Drinks expensive
Drinks very expensive, over priced hotel.

Reviewed by
kevin h

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
Very friendly staff, excellent spa.

Reviewed by
M Saunders

From Newtown, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Went for a one night getaway for a relaxing time.
Rooms ere perfect for what we needed however a tad dated (only complaint)
On the evening on arriving we ate at lawns, WOW amazing food and service! Staff are very polite and accommodating
The service Carried on to breakfast in the morning which was a lovely spread
The next day we had treatments the therapist were lovely and proffesional however the treatment rooms were dated and not very dark, i booked in for a yummy mummy treatment, my therapist left the room and I felt it was very stop start and not flowing I prop wouldn't have another treatment here
The hotel is tesla is lovely with staff very police the grounds are lovely and locate is perfect

Reviewed by
G Jones

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were lovely and accommodated all our needs, the room was spacious and gorgeous, loved it!
Could not of asked for better, perfect get away for a couple, rooms were big and spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful. Recommended this to all my friends and family must go!

Reviewed by
shannon w

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely spa facilities
My partner and I stayed here for two nights on a part business/leisure trip. The room was spacioius and had french doors opening onto the garden, which was really lovely. I thought the furniture and pictures in the room was boring and very "travel lodge" but aside from that it was a lovely place to stay. Comfy beds, manicured gardens, and best of all the spa, especially the outdoor jacuzzi was just fantastic. The breakfast was pricey but tasty and the customer service was very good.

Reviewed by
sarah richardson

From Rye, England
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice hotel, but overpriced
Our room was towards the back of the hotel near the function room. Our room was quiet, clean and functional. Breakfast was buffet service and the food was excellent. Only served tea by the cup - would much rather have a pot of tea. We had to ask twice to get a cup of coffee. Didn't have time to use the spa or pool. Felt the hotel was overpriced at £159.00 for a double room with breakfast.

Reviewed by
J Fisher

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel in the Wirral!
Booked on a bed, breakfast & evening meal deal for our Anniversary. We live on the Wirral and Thornton Hough is a beautiful village. We Upgraded our room to garden view room with balcony & tv in bathroom for £20 extra - worth it! Stayed here a few times now, really nice hotel, lovely spa, nice rooms, amazing food in The Lawns Restaurant. Drinks a little pricey but its not a budget hotel so you dont pay budget prices. There's a village pub about 5 mins up the road if you want cheaper drinks. Cant wait to go back.

Reviewed by
A Jones

From Moreton, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next