No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thornton Hall Hotel and Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Neston Road Thornton Hough, Wirral, CH63 1JF
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa is one of the regions' largest Spa Resorts, Yet each of our 62 bedrooms and suites have the atmosphere of an intimate hotel. Each bedroom offers Free Super Fast Fibre Optic Wifi, New Smart TV's offering a huge selection of channels plus interactive services as well as Sky Sports 1, 2 & 3.

Our award winning Spa which is one of the finest in the region offers state of the art fitness equipment, 20 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, steam room & two outdoor Hydro Spa Pools. We also boast 11 spa treatment rooms in our holistic & clinical Spas offering anything from a relaxing massage to IPL. Our newly renovated Mud Rasul & Snow Cave along with the leisure facilities are available complimentary to hotel guests. The Hair Spa is open 7 days a week along with the Nail Bar.

We have various dining options from our award winning 3 AA Rosette Lawns Restaurant to The Times Brasserie. Lounge meals and room service options are also available.

Nominated - World Spa Awards 2013

"Best Spa Award Winner" 2012 Liverpool Lifestyle Awards - HQ Hotel Open Golf Championship 2014 & Ricoh Womens Open 2012

- Free "Super Fast Fibre Optic WiFi" throughout hotel - Free car parking - Just 20 mins from Liverpool & Chester - 20 Mins from Royal Liverpool Golf Club - 15 mins from Wallasey Golf Club.

Liverpool One shopping district, Cheshire Oaks and Blue Planet Aquarium are a 15-minute drive from Thornton Hall. Chester Zoo, Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs, and Deeside are all 20 minutes' drive away.
Picture of Thornton Hall Hotel and Spa, Wirral at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were lovely and accommodated all our needs, the room was spacious and gorgeous, loved it!
Could not of asked for better, perfect get away for a couple, rooms were big and spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful. Recommended this to all my friends and family must go!

Reviewed by
shannon w

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely spa facilities
My partner and I stayed here for two nights on a part business/leisure trip. The room was spacioius and had french doors opening onto the garden, which was really lovely. I thought the furniture and pictures in the room was boring and very "travel lodge" but aside from that it was a lovely place to stay. Comfy beds, manicured gardens, and best of all the spa, especially the outdoor jacuzzi was just fantastic. The breakfast was pricey but tasty and the customer service was very good.

Reviewed by
sarah richardson

From Rye, England
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice hotel, but overpriced
Our room was towards the back of the hotel near the function room. Our room was quiet, clean and functional. Breakfast was buffet service and the food was excellent. Only served tea by the cup - would much rather have a pot of tea. We had to ask twice to get a cup of coffee. Didn't have time to use the spa or pool. Felt the hotel was overpriced at £159.00 for a double room with breakfast.

Reviewed by
J Fisher

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel in the Wirral!
Booked on a bed, breakfast & evening meal deal for our Anniversary. We live on the Wirral and Thornton Hough is a beautiful village. We Upgraded our room to garden view room with balcony & tv in bathroom for £20 extra - worth it! Stayed here a few times now, really nice hotel, lovely spa, nice rooms, amazing food in The Lawns Restaurant. Drinks a little pricey but its not a budget hotel so you dont pay budget prices. There's a village pub about 5 mins up the road if you want cheaper drinks. Cant wait to go back.

Reviewed by
A Jones

From Moreton, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous Treat, left feeling fantastic
Myself and my friend booked a room on the DBB rate at the Thornton Hall hotel as a last minute treat and break from work. We got a great rate and a room in the stunning Penthouse Suite to top it all off. The room is Apartment style with a large lounge, bedroom and luxurious bathroom. There is also a full length balcony with views over the green and tranquil surroundings.
Unfortunately there was no availability for us to have a treatment in the spa so I do advise booking in advance if possible, however an afternoon drinking cocktails in the outdoor hot tub (in the snow!) followed by a swim, sauna and steam did nicely! The barman Darren was charming and friendly and added to the luxury of it all.
The food in the hotel restaurant was incredible and accompanied by extra treats from the chef in between courses, again we were very impressed with the staff - our waitress Katie was very knowledgeable and sweet.
The whole experience was made what it was thanks to the attentive Duty Manager who couldn't do enough for us to ensure that we had a fantastic stay and we did.I fully recommend it to anyone wanting to relax and unwind at a very reasonable price.

Reviewed by
Lydia S

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing!
We were really looking forward to our stay at Thornton Hall, it is well known and has always had a good reputation. Unfortunately, our stay commenced with an unpleasant smell in the reception area and a receptionist, who spent a very long time explaining basic information in a long-winded way! We then had a light dinner in the bar lounge, which was very pleasant. it offered an interesting selection and the food and service was of a good standard.
Our walk to the room was disappointing. The corridors are quite narrow and definitely need some maintenance, as they look 'tired' and 'dated'. Our room was a nice size, but again the decor and furniture are very dated (especially the wardrobes and draws etc). There were marks on the floor and some on the walls. Many surfaces had not been cleaned well (possibly due to too much cleaning product?). On one wall the carpet had come away and the carpet grips were completely exposed.
Also, the noise from the a-joining rooms is quite loud, and we unfortunately had a couple in the room next to us, who wanted to sing, till 4 in the morning!
This is quite an expensive hotel and we certainly expected a higher standard, for the money we spent. I believe this hotel is 'riding' on its once, very high standards and reputation.

Reviewed by
Natalie C

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Relaxing time
A very pleasant relaxing stay. The facilities were brilliant pool, gym, sauna and steam room, especially the outside hot tub on a cold and frosty evening and morning. The service at breakfast was exceptional and food very tastefully done, nothing was too much trouble.
The only issue I had was when I got home the day we left I had mis- placed my Samsung USB charger, I rang the hotel that eveningI know that i had charged my phone the night we stayed at Thornton Hall and must haveleft it on the desk.. They made a note and the following day i rang but they were unable to locate it. It could not have been left anywhere else so need to take more care of my personal items

Reviewed by
c mercer

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely break
we stayed in this hotel just to relax and take time out of our busy lives. The SPA was lovely and we totally enjoyed using the facilities. The room was very average but we didnt spend alot of time in the room so it wasnt too bad. The food was lovely. overall a lovely break and i will definately go back. I paid 100.00 for the room and spa for two people good value!

Reviewed by
H Wakefield

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food the highlight of the stay....
Excellent customer service before and during the stay.
The hall beautiful oak panelled rooms. Extension very upvc externally but the room was a good standard not tired or shabby as some reviews mentioned.
Nice view over the gardens. Spa wonderful especially outdoor jacuzzi.
Be aware that dinner package allows a voucher for dinner not fully inclusive but wow what a dinner. Outstanding.
Music from the wedding loud until early hours which was a shame, breakfast was exactly as it should be. Hot varied and delicious.
Overall a wonderful stay.

Reviewed by
Kerry B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thornton hall
Not impressed very shabby room
Up graded for a extra £30 still not impressed,
food not enough choice very unhelpful
Total cost nearly £200 what a waste

Reviewed by
M Bone

From , England
Who stayed in January 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next