You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

4

Holmfield, Halifax , HX2 9TG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (8)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Philip M

  • February 2016

Excellent stay

On arrival we were offered a glass of wine and were upgraded to a suite.

The staff were very welcoming and extremely nice during our stay. The room was superb. Dinner and breakfast left nothing to be desired.

  • Lynda B

  • November 2015

Enjoyable stay but hotel mainly caters for weddings

We had a lovely weekend at Holdsworth House.

The main rooms in the house have great atmosphere, the staff were helpful and friendly and the quality of the food was excellent. The only downside was after having an early drink in the bar we found ourselves behind a locked door and unable to get back to our room. This was intended to prevent a large wedding party spilling over into the dining area but we were not impressed at being expected to walk around the outside of the building in sub-zero temperatures!

  • S Sen

  • October 2015

Holdsworth house

The receptionist was friendly and the complimentary drink on arrival was a pleasant surprise.

We booked a superior double room which is a spacious room according to the various booking sites. However the room allocated to us was pretty small and although it was a 'house double' which is an upgrade from a snug double it lacked the space we had envisaged there to be, it was however impeccably clean and tastefully decorated throughout which did give a luxury feel to the room. Some rooms are bigger than others but unfortunately we got a smaller one. Not quite what I'd hoped for or expected, however the customer service was exceptional and an alternative room was offered.

The bar staff and breakfast staff were amiable and helpful and we had a lovely stay despite our niggle about the size of the room for what we had paid. It is a place full of character and a Jacobean treasure in beautifully tended grounds. It's a hidden gem in Halifax that I hope to visit again some time in the future.

  • S Kirby

  • July 2015

Holdsworth House

A lovely and welcoming hotel.

  • P Sears

  • December 2014

Quality in every aspect

It is a building full of character and history, set in very pretty gardens.

The staff were all charming and went out of their way to help. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. We enjoyed all aspects of our stay and hope to go back again.

  • Amanda D

  • November 2014

gem of a hotel

Steeped in atmosphere set in beautiful surroundings, this hotel is an oasis of calm and historical charm.

Staff were very welcoming and very responsive to any requests. The mezzanine level of the suite added a touch of luxury to our stay. Good quality food although a little pricey. Looking forward to another stay and trying the afternoon tea.

  • T Harrison

  • September 2014

Very enjoyable......

From booking in to leaving, we had a very enjoyable stay.

It was very busy in the bar when we arrived (1.30pm)due to a wedding. However this added to the atmosphere. We were well looked after particularly at our evening meal. The staff were superb, friendly and attentive to our needs. We were undercover to look at the venue for our wedding in 2 years, and we will certainly be adding it to our final list. The room we had was small but very cosy and spotless. Well done to all the staff!!

  • M Parkinson

  • July 2014

Bit of a curates egg

Very good but only in parts.

Staff are excellent, refurbished room was good but dining room needs attention. Afternoon tea seemed to have been prepared a good while before it was served and we got a bad night in the restaurant. Must say staff were aware of this and, at all levels, did as much as they possibly could to make amends but it did spoil our wedding anniversary celebration