Reviews - Mercure London Bridge


71-79 Southwark Street, LONDON, SE1 0JA

Price From 374.44 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (12)

75% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • D Bridge

  • November 2015

A comfortable hotel close to attractions in the Southwark area

On first impressions from outside the hotel looks rather dated and in need of attention.

The reception area however was more impressive and open plan with complimentary iced water/fruit and homemade cookies. When we visited, the restaurant was closed which we were not warned of prior to travelling - it is being reopened shortly as a Marco Pierre White restaurant. Breakfast was being served elsewhere but we stayed room only so were able to find alternative provision elsewhere. The room was clean and a good size - the bathroom was particularly impressive. However, we had to have the window open for our entire stay as the room was uncomfortably hot and the heating control would not adjust correctly. I would recommend the hotel for anyone wishing to stay on the south of the river - it was walking distance to Borough Market and close to London Bridge. I felt that the hotel was slightly overpriced however compared to other 4* we have stayed in so would look elsewhere if we visited London again.


  • October 2015

excellent location

Great hotel with excellent customer service.

Good location for tube and good restaurants close by. Would definitely recommend

  • kathryn d

  • October 2015

Lovely, modern, comfortable and convenient hotel stay in trendy Southwark London

My husband and I were traveling for our honeymoon and we were quite pleased with our stay in London.

The hotel was very nice and the staff helpful and friendly. There is breakfast at the hotel as well, along with a restaurant and bar. It's location was great in a seemingly trendy neighborhood close to the Tate Modern and London Bridge, and walkable to many locations. We walked to Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, the London Eye, etc. Overall a very nice stay and we would return at our next visit.

  • Michael H

  • September 2015

Room 501

For the amount of money the company paid for the room I would have thought the room would of been of better quality, it looked like the furniture and bathroom could have done with a refurbishment, also I didn't sleep very well as when the lift was used I could hear the door squeak open and close, the staff were very accommodating and front of house was up to date, it was pity the room left my down my first London Business experience.

  • don riseley

  • August 2015

Things missing

Not a single hook in bathroom or bedroom for things like coat, dressing gown, scarf.

Also the only plug for the kettle was at the side of the bed - not the safest place to have a hot kettle. Would be far more convenient with the tea coffee etc. For a modern hotel, I find the two above things to be rather bad but overall the room was clean, bed comfy and breakfast great so I suppose 8 out of 10.

  • Stephen B

  • July 2015

A touch of luxury

Well worth the small extra amount for a Privilege Room.

Feel of luxury about the whole experience. Staff were friendly and attentive. Check in smooth. Useful bag drop for our second day whilst we went sightseeing. Minor criticism - could do with a variety of pillows in the room.

  • Sarah S

  • April 2015

Good weekend

The staff were cheerful and helpful, helping with directions and luggage left before we checked in.

rooms clean and comfortable. one was a double not a twin as ordered, but not too much of a problem.

  • Mark Pickering

  • April 2015

Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly

Lovely hotel with nice facilities and good ambience.

Probably the highlight was the really excellent staff - all very helpful and accommodating at all times. Probably the only downside was the water pressure - too high so the shower almost took your skin off. And as a consequence got water on the floor as it sprayed through the partition. But that was quite fun in a way. We enjoyed it a lot and would certainly come back and stay.

  • Garry Taylor

  • March 2015

Beautiful lobby, horrible rooms

On first entering the hotel, my expectations were raised, it's lovely, and we got a warm welcome.

On getting to our room, feelings turned to anger and of being duped. The rooms are 2-star, worse than hotels costing half as much. We changed rooms, to a bigger one, which was an improvement, but the bathroom was unpleasant and hot water was hit and miss.

  • P Townsend

  • February 2015

Mercure London Bridge

An excellent all round experience.

Will be staying here again