No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure London Bridge

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
71-79 Southwark Street , London, SE1 0JA
Contemporary 4 star hotel located in South Bank between Blackfriars Bridge & Southwark Bridge, within walking distance of London's top attractions of Tate Modern, Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, St Pauls Cathedral, Borough Market.

Walk along the Bankside pier to London Bridge, Tower Bridge, Tower of London, Big Ben, County Hall, London Eye. 3 minutes from London Bridge or Southwark Underground. 30 minutes walk to Leicester Square, Covent Garden and London West End Theatres.

Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel

Picture of Mercure London Bridge, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 6 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do they discriminate at the Mercure?
When I arrived at the London Bridge Mercure I was informed that I would have to wait about 15 minutes for a room to be ready. I waited nearly 20 minutes, when along came a couple who were given a room on the 5th floor straight away. I asked about my room and only after she checked them in I was finally given a room on the 6th floor. My question is if there was a room available right away, why did I have to wait nearly 20 minutes! Unbelievable!
On top of everything else there was construction going on at the hotel, which meant I had to use the back entrance and everytime I went to my room I had to walk through the dining room. I also had to go to reception twice because my card was not working in order to enter my room.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. I have personally looked into the points you have raised and discussed with my colleagues the occurrence. Our staff investigated the status of you room upon your arrival prior to our advised check in time of 2pm. The guests who received their keys before you had made a priority booking for a different style of room from your own. I do apologise for any misunderstanding regarding the matter and hope welcome you back to our hotel soon. Kind Regards, Front Office Manager

Reviewed by
SALVADOR RODRIGUEZ

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As I expected!!
The hotel is ideally located and within walking distance of many attractions.
The room was of an adequate size and comfortably slept 3 of us. 1 large king size and a proper 'fold away' bed. We were in a priviledge room and the toileteries and tea and coffee making facilities were good and replenished every day.
Friendly staff who were willing to help if needed.

Reviewed by
Russell Packer

From Bournemouth, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the money
For a hotel that charges nearly £400 a night for a double room you would expect the room to be spotless and for the heating/air conditioning system to work. There were hairs in the tea-cups (!), the bath and on the toilet seat. The very small room was stifling hot on arrival, the air-conditioning didn't work properly and the window was too stiff to open and had to be opened by a member of staff. The bed was comfortable which was the saving grace. The location must be the reason why the price is so steep. I wouldn't stay here again given a choice.

Reviewed by
L Bundy

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel
Staff very polite and very helpful. Food excellent. Chairs in the bedroom need a little tlc or change. Else fantastic experience.

Reviewed by
Peter L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mercure Dec 2012.
Parking facilities should be made more clear on website with directions to nearest carpark. We were told there was a public carpark at the back of the hotel but on arriving there wasn't. However was pleased to be able to park in hotel carpark.

Reviewed by
LOUISE N

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room small for the money and no hot water in the morning not helpful.
Late Rooms.com were great in dealing with the mislaeding information from the Hotel on the website. No refund was allowed even though the advert said the room at the price could be made into a twin. The Hotel did not honour that and charged £30 for the bed to be split in another room! No hot water for showers and floor covered in tepid water did not enhance our experience.

Reviewed by
J Smyth

From Bangor, Northern Ireland
Who stayed in November 2012

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.