No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Parliament House Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
15 Calton Hill, Edinburgh, EH1 3BJ
Situated in the heart of the city, the Parliament House Hotel is the perfect place to explore cosmopolitan Edinburgh. In just a few minutes, you can walk to the world famous Princes Street, and the main business community, shopping and entertainment areas are all within easy reach.

Rooms have been tastefully and traditionally furnished in keeping with the character of the building and offer a high standard of accommodation. We even introduced a " little local character" in every one of our rooms.

We also appeal to delegates meeting for a day or two, family’s and friends attending a city wedding, theatregoers catching a quick bite in our bistro and couples making the most of Edinburgh on a weekend break. Whether it is business or leisure, there is always time to relax amongst the comfort and warmth of the Parliament House Hotel.
Picture of Parliament House Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Friendly efficient check in. Lovely reception area. We were in room 1 which is up the main staircase. No lift but stairs are shallow. Lovely room with very comfy bed. There's also a fridge with minibar. Spotless bathroom with powerful over bath shower and lovely toiletries. You can have drinks in reception by asking the staff. Breakfast was tasty and well cooked. The only downside - the hotel is on a cobbled steep road with limited parking. We have a blue badge and were allowed to park on the single yellow line outside. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Gill R

From Helensburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful location for visiting edinburgh
Really well located minutes from the station. Really welcoming staff and great accommodation. We will definitely be staying again and soon. The room was nice and quiet and very comfortable.

Reviewed by
A Yates

From Hebden Bridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy hotel
Lovely, warm and cosy hotel. Room was especially cosy and bed large and comfortable. Room a bi ton small side but adequate. Staff friendly and efficient at reception and when we went for breakfast. Would definitely stay here again and don't think anyone would be disappointed.

Reviewed by
k bicker

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Parliament House Hotel
Lovely hotel in a fantastic location . Throughly enjoyed our stay here .

Reviewed by
Clementine P

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed
We stayed two nights and had one meal in the restaurant. The fist night was fine and the meal was good with good service. They cater for gluten free. The building is nice in a quiet area but still central for train and shops.
But the second night was interrupted at midnight by a fire alarm meaning we evacuated into the cold and rain. Fair enough, but, we heard this was due to a fault in the system caused by a leaky roof which if properly maintained could have been avoided.
The following morning, the heating was off and the shower had no hot water. We were offered to be taken to another building to have a shower.
On departure, I asked for a discount expecting to only pay for one night. We were discounted £25 which I did not think compensated for the problems on the second night.
The staff were friendly. The fire bridge were prompt.

Reviewed by
G Innes

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for price

Reviewed by
Ines P

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice quite hotel yet very central

Reviewed by
w youngson

From Lossiemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, clean hotel.
A nice, clean hotel that exceeded my expectations. My initial impression wasn't great considering we were offered a room that had not yet been serviced, and then were offered a room on the top floor when there's no lift (beware of this - it's a tough journey up there!). But once we accessed the room and settled in we were happy with our accommodation. A great location for a city break. Be careful if you decide to use the minibar - extortionate prices.

Reviewed by
C Dobson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a bit overpriced
I found it was ok but a bit expensive for one night stay the bistro attached to the hotel was so overpriced for us to eat at

Reviewed by
M Milne

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, friendly, helpful staff and a very convenient, off main street but city centre location. My only criticism would be that the housekeeping staff should know that 'Do not disturb' means just that and not keep 'phoning to ask if you want your room serviced! Uberkill!

Reviewed by
Philip Fraser-Brenchley

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next