No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holbrook House Hotel and Spa

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Holbrook House Hotel and Spa , WINCANTON, BA9 8BS
Holbrook House is a traditional Country House Hotel, set in seventeen acres of beautiful parkland and gardens. Boasting an award winning restaurant, luxury accommodation and a fully equipped Spa, Holbrook is the perfect place for a relaxing break. All located within easy reach of the A303 and just outside the racing town of Wincanton in Somerset.Stimulate, Mind, Body and Soul in Holbrook's tranquil surroundings.Discover the benefits of a club that lets you unwind and be pampered. Our approach to health and fitness sets Holbrook apart from the average fitness club.A team of friendly, professional staff. A state-of-the-art fitness suite with a range of cardio-vascular and resistance equipment, free weights and cardio-theatre.Heated indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and steam room.
Picture of Holbrook House Hotel and Spa, WINCANTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My wife and I can not say enough nice things about this hotel. They are truly great.
My wife and I have stayed at this hotel before. We had the Rupert room before which with it's four poster bed and slipper bath set the standard for us that we didn't think could be beat. Well that all changed during this visit. We were upgraded to the Wincanton Suite upon arrival and Wow, I was so overwhelmed that all I could say was Wow. We had the whole end of the second floor. The sitting room was decorated just the way I want our front room to be decorated. The two wing-backed chairs were very comfy and just right to sit and watch a bit of telly and sip on a glass of wine. The bed room is be far larger that four of Holiday Inn Express rooms combined, and the décor was in keeping with the hotel's. The bathroom was separate and decorated to the same standard as the rest of the hotel. We used the Spa again and really enjoyed ourselves. After a great nights sleep we again had a wonderful breakfast. I splashed out and had the salmon and scrambled eggs which were perfect. We cannot thank the staff and the owner's enough for making our stay wonderful.

Reviewed by
Timothy Bigelow

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Travelled far, arrived late, Welcomed like I was returning home. Felt like home too.
I have stayed several times with this hotel and continue to enjoy a high level of service and quality of accommodation. From the welcoming fire in the entry room to the full service breakfast in the morning, I feel relaxed and welcomed. I stayed in a room at the top of the hotel which would have been a former servants quarters, but it isn't a servant's quarters any more. It was a well appointed room with great views. The room was three times the size most hotels give and the bed was big enough to feel lost in. I slept well. The hotel is not far off the A303 or the town of Wincanton and yet I never heard anything, lovely. The Spa is a great way to unwind prior to enjoying a drink in front of the fireplace. Storm outside, what storm outside. I will be returning again, and again.

Reviewed by
Timothy Bigelow

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Four poster Heaven
I had booked the hotel as it was near where I was working and it had a gym. We arrived after dark having driven through terrible weather and having worked in the wet and mud all day. All I wanted was someplace warm. I loved the Hotel as soon as we opened the entry door and found a lovely fire in the fireplace, and that was just the entry area. The reception was great with a quick bit of paperwork and the offer of assistance for our bags. The interior of the hotel was grand, but did not prepare me for what lay on the other side of our bedroom door. We had the Rupert room which when the door was opened turned out to be a proper four poster bed. All of the furniture was real wood. There was a settee at the end of the bed and a table and two overstuffed chairs on either side. The whole room was a real treat for us. We then opened the door to the bathroom and found that it was a room the size of most hotel rooms I stay in. The floor boards were the original wide wood ones. There was a slipper bath (Like a roll top bath but raised at each end). The sink had a wide and well lit mirror. The toilet itself was a proper w/c complete with original wide wood seat. The décor matched the splendour of the whole hotel. The best bit for me was the separate shower which had a continuous stream of hot water, something I very much needed to get rid of the effects of the weather in Somerset. The Breakfasts need to be mentioned. In some locations there is no veggie option other than fruit and toast. Not so with this hotel. Full English breakfast but in veggie, and with veggies sausages done to perfection, not dry or burnt. Brilliant. The gym had everything for us as well. Would I go again, definitely. Would I recommend it, to everyone!!

Reviewed by
T Bigelow

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short weekend stay
Beautiful house and grounds. Comfortable, traditional English country house style. Guest lounges with big comfy sofas. Our suite was one of their larger ones with 4 poster bed etc., a beautiful room overlooking the gardens. All small details thought about ~ except perhaps biscuits to have with a hot drink! Decoration was a little tired in places but that is being extremely picky.
Efficient & helpful front of house. Genuine welcome.
Nice breakfast in lovely surroundings. We were eating out so not able to enjoy dinner at the restaurant.
The spa facilities are a real treat with excellent dressing & changing facilities. Again, all small details thought out.
Comfort, efficiency & friendliness characterize this lovely hotel.

Reviewed by
Liz Weeks

From Gourvillette, France
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Far too long waiting to dine.
Had to ask for our drinks after other guests had received theirs at breakfast.
Furthest away from the hotel

Reviewed by
mark H

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful relaxing night away
The room and grounds were magnificent. Pool, steam room and sauna were lovely. Food was excellent. Staff were very courteous but perhaps a little too formal which meant that our dining experience was less relaxed than the rest of our stay.
I would definitely recommend Holbrook House Hotel to friends.

Reviewed by
amanda love

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth it, give it a go
We paid £59 for bed and breakfast and were really impressed by the house, the beautiful furniture, the staff were lovely, the food was excellent in the evening and the spa was clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
S Moore

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
The hotel retained its charm, up to date and spot on. The food was exceptional. 10/10 . I travel a huge amount for business and this was the best.

Reviewed by
Joe F

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.