No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
19-21 George Street , Edinburgh, EH2 2PB
Award-winning luxury hotel and conference venue in the heart of historic Edinburgh

When it comes to hotels in Edinburgh, very few can compete with the style and sophistication of The George. None can compete according to the Scottish Hotel Awards 2011, which awarded The George the title of Best Hotel in Edinburgh.

The George belongs to the luxurious of Edinburgh’s hotels, from its fabulous 249 rooms and ample facilities to its ideal location in the centre of the city which is designated as a ‘World Heritage site”.

The hotel is within easy reach of rail and air links and it is close to the city’s business district, plus a plethora of local attractions including the famous Castle, Princess Street Gardens and Holyrood Palace. A little further a field is Edinburgh Zoo and Leith Port which is now home to the Royal Yacht Britannia

The George is a fantastic place to stay whether you are on a work trip or a fabulous city break. It is regularly sought out for conferences and boasts nine conference and event suites, including the roof top Panorama meeting room with breathtaking views across Edinburgh.

The George is also famous for food and drink and are very proud to be associated with the Tempus Bar & Restaurant, an award winner itself.

Easily accessible by road, rail and air, the George Hotel is just a few minutes walk from Waverley Station and is just a short journey from
Edinburgh International Airport. Car parking is available close to the hotel at the NCP or there is on street metered parking between 08.30 and
18.00.

Picture of The George Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 263 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff are excellent.
Central, great staff, food in The Tempus good, room 94 very small and cramped. We arrived on a Monday, reception quick and efficient. Room 94 very small and cramped for 2. Would be ok for a double for single occupancy. When we opened the bathroom door the lock hit the sink. There was a very small bath, but at least there was a bath. There was no room at all for my toiletries and cosmetics which really irritates me. We had booked to eat in the hotel Restaurant The Tempus, excellent I have eaten there before. Staff could not have been better, very efficient. Breakfast was fine again staff excellent. I probably wouldn't stay again only due to the room we were given.

Reviewed by
N Whannel

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Full of character and centrally located but expensive
The George is a fabulous hotel in an ideal location.
Although a bit pricey which would put most people off, the food was excellent and the staff were first class. They are missing out on a market where couples looking for a cost effective week-end away would stay here but for the price particularly with no spa facilities or pool.

Reviewed by
hugh g

From Johnstone, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Started badly, got better.
We had a bad start to our stay. The receptionist who checked us in was unfriendly, unhelpful and unwelcoming. We went to our room to find it was a room for a disabled guest with a bathroom adapted for a wheelchair user. There was a very small low wash basin, and no space to put any toiletries. There was virtually no natural light in the room. When I telephoned Reception to ask if there were any other rooms available, I was reacquainted with the same unhelpful abrupt Receptionist. The next day another Receptionist and room became available, but it was a shame to have such a horrible start.

Reviewed by
Julia D

From Teignmouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very comfortable hotel with friendly staff Kilts for all the waiters and greeters
Central location close to galleries shops pubs and restaurants

Reviewed by
K Coates

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George Hotel
Lovely hotel in heart of Edinburgh. Staff very friendly. Rooms have very comfortable beds. Bar very pleasant to sit in for a few drinks. Wifi not working in room not informed by staff. This happened the last time we stayed.

Reviewed by
M Grant

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, disappointing though
The George is situated at a great location and was fairly easy to find. The hotel doesn't have any parking facilities and can only offer pay and display at £3.20 hr. On checkin I was given a twin room after specifically asking for a double superior with city view. Our view was of the alley ways filled with bins and bottle banks which were emptied around 0400 every morning. We couldn't have our windows open because of the smell from the bins was quite overpowering. We couldn't use the shower as it just sprayed water everywhere as it was cracked. Despite the few minor issues the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Reviewed by
K Pybus

From Cyprus
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room for improvement
The room itself was good. Did find black marks on the white bed sheet. The stair access to the room was pretty worn out with carpet coming away from the stair. Not in keeping with the rest of the hotel which I regard to be of good standard. I found most staff to be very friendly. I found receptionist a little frustrating as she kept talking over the top of me. The breakfast staff were pleasAnt however again frustrating. We were shown to our table and told someone would be coming to take our coffee / tea order but no one came. Eventually I had to go and find someone. Not exactly what I would expect at a four star establishment! This isn't the first time we've had an issue with the breakfast room. During our previously stay, we got up to get our buffet breakfast and came back to find someone had given our table away! We have made several visits to the George. It is one of our preferred hotels if staying in Edinburgh. We will be returning on 11/05/14 however if breakfast room remains an issue then may need to rethink our choice during our next stay.

Reviewed by
Lindsey Wilson

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
I, along with my sister, had an overnight stay at the George Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The bedroom on the 6th floor looked north, unfortunately a mist prevented seeing the bridges. It was very spacious and well presented.

ManagementResponse

Dear Ms Scott, Just a quick e-mail to thank you for posting a review of The George Hotel following your recent stay with us. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and will be shared with the staff. We really do appreciate our guests offering their feedback as without this we are unable to monitor our standards and more importantly take the appropriate action when needed. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon and in the mean time I will try and work on the weather!!. Kindest regards, John, Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed by
V SCOTT

From Kinross, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh stay
The George was a perfect location for our short stay. The bus from the airport dropped us off close to the entrance which was a real bonus. The location is superb with the main shops and restaurants within walking distance.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Wood, Just a quick e-mail to thank you for posting a review of The George Hotel following your recent stay with us. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and will be shared with the staff. We really do appreciate our guests offering their feedback as without this we are unable to monitor our standards and more importantly take the appropriate action when needed. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards, John, Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed by
J Wood

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
The George hotel was excellent. We got upgraded to a superior room on the top floor with views to the castle and right over to the forth. The hotel staff were fantastic nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was brilliant had everything you could think of and very fitting to a scottish hotel with the black pudding and haggis. Would definately recommend.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Just a quick e-mail to thank you for posting a review of The George Hotel following your recent stay with us. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and will be shared with the staff. We really do appreciate our guests offering their feedback as without this we are unable to monitor our standards and more importantly take the appropriate action when needed. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards, John, Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed by
L Mitchell

From Lanark, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next