Reviews - The George Hotel

4

19-21 George Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2PB

Price From 386.25 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (202)

87% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Carolyn F

  • August 2015

The George Hotel

We made a spur of the moment decision to go out in Edinburgh, and stay over in a hotel.

I looked on LateRooms and I chose The George Hotel due to location and value for money. We like a bit of luxury even although we are not well off. It was a special treat for us after having a rough week. When we arrived, we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very grand. Our room was a nice size, nice bed with a lovely bathroom. We decided to have a few drinks in our room before heading out. It was then I remembered it was our anniversary. It must've been fate.

We had a really good night out, especially having the nice bars on our doorstep. And breakfast was also really good, great service, great food. It set us up for our day of shopping.

All in all, we made an excellent choice for our Anniversary. We would definitely recommend, and be back ourselves.

  • Stewart M

  • May 2015

Fairly ordinary, really.

Room 56 is up a lift, along monotonous corridors, down a flight of stairs.

View is of walls and a back lane. Decent (temporary) bar on fifth floor with views to the north over city. Good central location.

  • Kevin B

  • April 2015

Really nice location

Great location in the heart of Edinburgh, parking is difficult but if you time it right local on street parking is close and allows for free overnight stays (1800-0830).

I took the accommodation "upgrade" to a room with a "sea view", that was more than a little disappointing, you have a long long long distance view of the forth estuary which is ok but definitely not what Its billed to be and definitely not worth the high extra cost of a nights stay. Nice people, great staff and very clean. Over all really good stay and would definitely do it again and recommend the hotel but don't waste your money on the upgrade.

  • paul g

  • April 2015

30th anniversary

This was our 3rd stay at the George, the worst so far.

our stay was ruined by 25 screaming children on the floor above us slamming doors and running up and down corridors. the staff were most helpful, we were moved to a quieter room but still had to complain about noise. will have to consider whether to return or not. waiter rude in the bar restaurant.

  • M Anderson

  • April 2015

Great location but noisey

Lovely hotel ,great location for shopping and eating/drinking .small room but well decorated and very clean.very noisey in the street at weekends though with 2night clubs opposite so maybe request a room at the rear of the hotel

  • R Abel

  • April 2015

Splendid City centre hotel

A most enjoyable stay in excellent accommodation.

Could not be criitcal of anything!

  • r carey

  • April 2015

Great to stay just a couple of niggly things

Breakfast could have been better.

Drilling started at 0820hrs somewhere in the hotel

  • Garry Taylor

  • March 2015

Great hotel in superb location

Lovely hotel, great location.

Room was a little small, but perfectly formed. Restaurant was staffed by friendly people, and food was good too.

  • Keith J

  • March 2015

Great location, but the hotel is lacking and not well thought-out

Probably perfect as a business hotel, and perhaps that's what they're aiming for, but as a romantic/city break place, it falls awfully flat.

Our room, once we found it down a warren of corridors and concrete steps, was large but lacking in character, which totally let down the expectation from such a classic old building with a beautiful façade. The few extras actually provided in the room (most have to be requested from reception) were disappointing: two tea bags of everyday blah blah, two sachets of instant coffee and two decafs... is that it. Surely, at these prices, a choice of teas and more than 2 biscuits is a reasonable expectation. These are minor niggles so far; now we come to the main problems. Our 'superior double' bed was two mattresses jammed together, which really does NOT work for a couple who actually want to sleep together (hence asking for a 'superior double'). There was no mini bar or fridge (just a hole in the cupboard where it once was), meaning we couldn't buy foodstuffs and keep them cool. And there is no air conditioning, which was really needed given the design of this room: the central heating was on and blasting out ridiculous heat when we arrived, making the room incredibly uncomfortable and airless, so we turned off the radiator and opened the window... or tried to. It opened a few inches but was restricted "for your safety", which is fair enough, but it means there is no way of ventilating the room. We left that window open for the entire time, but it was too small to make a difference. All in all, we slept badly and were glad to leave. What a shame, when we were so looking forward to this special treat.

  • Tara G

  • March 2015

Excellent Again

Truly is a lovely hotel excellent service can't wait to stay there again