No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
19-21 George Street , Edinburgh, EH2 2PB
Award-winning luxury hotel and conference venue in the heart of historic Edinburgh

When it comes to hotels in Edinburgh, very few can compete with the style and sophistication of The George. None can compete according to the Scottish Hotel Awards 2011, which awarded The George the title of Best Hotel in Edinburgh.

The George belongs to the luxurious of Edinburgh’s hotels, from its fabulous 249 rooms and ample facilities to its ideal location in the centre of the city which is designated as a ‘World Heritage site”.

The hotel is within easy reach of rail and air links and it is close to the city’s business district, plus a plethora of local attractions including the famous Castle, Princess Street Gardens and Holyrood Palace. A little further a field is Edinburgh Zoo and Leith Port which is now home to the Royal Yacht Britannia

The George is a fantastic place to stay whether you are on a work trip or a fabulous city break. It is regularly sought out for conferences and boasts nine conference and event suites, including the roof top Panorama meeting room with breathtaking views across Edinburgh.

The George is also famous for food and drink and are very proud to be associated with the Tempus Bar & Restaurant, an award winner itself.

Easily accessible by road, rail and air, the George Hotel is just a few minutes walk from Waverley Station and is just a short journey from
Edinburgh International Airport. Car parking is available close to the hotel at the NCP or there is on street metered parking between 08.30 and
18.00. We also now have a tram line serving the city and our nearest stop is St. Andrews Square, which is 300 metres from the hotel.

Picture of The George Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 256 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming staff and friendly atmosphere
We have used the George several times over the past few years and we will continue to do so whenever we visit Edinburgh as it is situated ideally. The only gripe i had this visit was the lack of a toilet brush in the bathroom. A small matter but an important one. Recent visits breakfast was included in the price, it wasnt this time but it was nt inconvenient and we still enjoyed our stay as the breakfast is the best you can get anywhere.

Reviewed by
J Hudson

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The George
The name speaks for itself. Edinburgh and The George the perfect match for getting away from it all and recharge the batteries. From the moment one enters The George it is something special. Receptionists make you feel welcome and you can relax straight away. I was upgraded to a Seview Room along the Forth on this visit. The room was beautifully furnished and the view was right along the Forth very impressive. Dinner at night was Smoked Salmon Starter followed by Orkney Fillet Steak (28 day hung) then Icecream with Shortbread Rounds. The Servers made sure the meal met with my satisfaction which it did. In the morning Dining Room Management showed me to my table and explained the breakfast layout and again the Servers were on hand to make sure everything was to my satisfaction. Unfortunately all good things come to an end but when the next visit to Edinburgh can be arranged it will certainly be back to The George again.

Reviewed by
James Tait

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel for getting around the city.
The staff are excellent. Very good and unusual to have checkout as late as midday and breakfast until 11.00. The breakfast is top quality and service is superb though does get busy after 10.00. Will definitely look to stay at the George on our next visit to Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
Ken Johnson

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night out in Edinburgh
Great location for a night out in Edinburgh

Reviewed by
Lorraine R

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't wait to go back!
Pictures online don't do the hotel justice! We stayed in a superior room which was spotless clean, quiet and had a comfortable bed unlike most hotels! Staff were polite and helpful at all times and went above and beyond to ensure you enjoy your stay. Hotel is in the perfect location for people who like to dine out, go shopping and visit all the tourist attractions! Will definitely be back to the George hotel! :)

Reviewed by
R Findlay

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glad we went to the George
I went with my friend on the spur of the moment and had a ball. I loved the hotel, the location and the staff were great. It was my first time but I will defo go back.

Reviewed by
Gillian S

From Renfrew, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, but....
Nice hotel, friendly staff, however a couple of areas of disappointment;
- breakfast was very poor. Service was very sporadic, with at least three waiters asking the same questions.
It was also very rushed, with our cooked breakfast delivered , or dumped, just as we stared our cereal.
The over cooked, and slightly warm breakfast was WAY below expectations, and the order we received was not what we had asked for.
- room was nice, other than the new shower which faces strIght down to the taps and couldn't be adjusted outwards, so very awkward to use.

Reviewed by
William N

From Selkirk, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good central hotel

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous room.Gorgeous hotel.
This is our third stay at George Hotel Edinburgh. Our room was spacious, so was the bathroom,It was extremely clean, and importantly for us our room did not face onto George street, which meant it was quiet and conducive to a good nights sleep. It was a busy time of year and there was a short wait for a breakfast table, but the resuarant manager was working hard to co ordinate staff and keep waiting to a minimum. The choice of items for breakfast was plentiful, including a pancake making machine. The cooked breakfast was not as tasty as it looked,black pudding and haggis very grainy and bacon fatty, but the choice of other items more than made up for this. we thoroughlly enjoyed our stay. And would return again definitely.

Reviewed by
gail fyffe

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel in Central Area
We stayed in a superior room which was lovely and clean. All staff from checking in to checking out were all friendly and willing to assist. A good choice at breakfast to cater for everyone. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Claire L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next