No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
19-21 George Street , Edinburgh, EH2 2PB
Award-winning luxury hotel and conference venue in the heart of historic Edinburgh

When it comes to hotels in Edinburgh, very few can compete with the style and sophistication of The George. None can compete according to the Scottish Hotel Awards 2011, which awarded The George the title of Best Hotel in Edinburgh.

The George belongs to the luxurious of Edinburgh’s hotels, from its fabulous 249 rooms and ample facilities to its ideal location in the centre of the city which is designated as a ‘World Heritage site”.

The hotel is within easy reach of rail and air links and it is close to the city’s business district, plus a plethora of local attractions including the famous Castle, Princess Street Gardens and Holyrood Palace. A little further a field is Edinburgh Zoo and Leith Port which is now home to the Royal Yacht Britannia

The George is a fantastic place to stay whether you are on a work trip or a fabulous city break. It is regularly sought out for conferences and boasts nine conference and event suites, including the roof top Panorama meeting room with breathtaking views across Edinburgh.

The George is also famous for food and drink and are very proud to be associated with the Tempus Bar & Restaurant, an award winner itself.

Easily accessible by road, rail and air, the George Hotel is just a few minutes walk from Waverley Station and is just a short journey from
Edinburgh International Airport. Car parking is available close to the hotel at the NCP or there is on street metered parking between 08.30 and
18.00.

Picture of The George Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 264 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly but...
decor is dated and tired. room was cramped, had no view and had a shabby feeling. safe on floor of closet very bad idea for anyone with a bad back. service was charming and friendly.

Reviewed by
S Atkinson

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great City Base
We found the George an ideal base for our visit to the Edinburgh Festival and previously for a city break. Central with most venues accessible by walking or public transport which makes the lack of car parking less of an annoyance. Hotel maintained to a high standard and nothing to fault in terms of accommodation, meals etc. Staff exceptional, discreet and helpful. Just one wee ‘moan’ – why does it cost £4 extra to have a kipper for breakfast? Will be back.

Reviewed by
I McKie

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great central location within ten minutes walk of Waverley Station
Lovely hotel, attentive and friendly international staff. Room immaculate and well spec'd. Quiet and comfy. Housekeeping excellent and room service staff delightful, even for pots of tea at 2am.

Reviewed by
Paul P

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice Hotel
Hotel was very nice, no complaints about either the staff or the facilities.
However, we rang the hotel from the car to book directly, and no one answered the phone, so we were forced to book through this site to guarantee our rooms, and this therefore cost us more money.
Not happy about that. The staff said that he would pass this on to the Manager, but we heard no more.

Reviewed by
K Harvey

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay in the heart of Edinburgh
A warm welcome as soon as we walked through the door. Very pleasant staff and room was immaculate.
Parking is a problem as the Hotel is bang in the center but staff are more than happy to give advice on this ( best to do it before arrival ). Recommended !

Reviewed by
Graham Edmundson

From Berwick upon Tweed, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

free upgrade
Was offered upgrades prior to our arrival which we declined except for the later checkout , £20 . On arrival at hotel we were pleased to find out we had a room upgrade free !
On departure as we had only stayed an extra hour we were only charged £10 not the £20 advertised , nice touch .

Reviewed by
r bell

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel
Would definitley stay again.

Reviewed by
L Lancaster

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff are excellent.
Central, great staff, food in The Tempus good, room 94 very small and cramped. We arrived on a Monday, reception quick and efficient. Room 94 very small and cramped for 2. Would be ok for a double for single occupancy. When we opened the bathroom door the lock hit the sink. There was a very small bath, but at least there was a bath. There was no room at all for my toiletries and cosmetics which really irritates me. We had booked to eat in the hotel Restaurant The Tempus, excellent I have eaten there before. Staff could not have been better, very efficient. Breakfast was fine again staff excellent. I probably wouldn't stay again only due to the room we were given.

Reviewed by
N Whannel

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Full of character and centrally located but expensive
The George is a fabulous hotel in an ideal location.
Although a bit pricey which would put most people off, the food was excellent and the staff were first class. They are missing out on a market where couples looking for a cost effective week-end away would stay here but for the price particularly with no spa facilities or pool.

Reviewed by
hugh g

From Johnstone, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Started badly, got better.
We had a bad start to our stay. The receptionist who checked us in was unfriendly, unhelpful and unwelcoming. We went to our room to find it was a room for a disabled guest with a bathroom adapted for a wheelchair user. There was a very small low wash basin, and no space to put any toiletries. There was virtually no natural light in the room. When I telephoned Reception to ask if there were any other rooms available, I was reacquainted with the same unhelpful abrupt Receptionist. The next day another Receptionist and room became available, but it was a shame to have such a horrible start.

Reviewed by
Julia D

From Teignmouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next