Reviews - The George Hotel

5

19-21 George Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2PB

Price From 203.74 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (164)

87% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Jill m

  • February 2016

A night in Georgian edinburgh

A lovely hotel some areas newly refurbished successfully but our bedroom less so.

Staff were great and hotel was spotless.

  • Graham H

  • January 2016

Great stay spoilt by others!

Great one night stay spoilt by noisey guests having a domestic at 5am.

It was that bad I had to call reception. Security arrived immediately and did resolve the issue however we didn't get much sleep after that.

We were upgraded upon arrival to a superior room however the room didn't appear superior, it was standard in our opinion.

Great location and would stay here again despite our experience.

  • B Morgan

  • January 2016

Lovely breakfast

Very nice hotel with beautiful public areas and delicious breakfast - huge range of options and very high quality sausage, bacon and haggis in the hot options.

We had booked a double room which on entering was made up as a twin - a call to reception remedied this with no trouble. Only negative is the gloomy brown and purple decor as compared to the beautiful heather tones still on display on the hotels website - it's taken the rooms from something a bit special down to a pretty standard hotel room.

  • Chris F

  • December 2015

Christmas break 2015

  • Chris F

  • December 2015

Christmas break 2015

High end, well priced.

Good location and accessibility. Staff all very helpful, charming and professional. Room mate is international traveller who was very impressed with her first stay here (white company products in bathroom were a nice touch). would definitely stay here again.

  • a kiddie

  • December 2015

Excellent

  • D McFarlane

  • December 2015

Two edged sword

Never before have I stayed in any hotel with such extremes in the above options.

This is one of THE most beautiful hotels we have stayed in and the room was fabulous. The location is perfect for a visit to Edinburgh, particularly when the Christmas market was on. Sadly, and I am really sorry to say, the rest was very poor. On arrival we were asked if we wanted breakfast but no mention of dinner. We went to the market and on return around five we were rold we couldn't eat until at least nine o'clock. Really not very good as a resident, also the bar staff really seemed uninterested and when asked if we could eat in the bar, menus were on the table, we were told no. So were the menus only to exasperate people,we were not the only ones at our table to fall for this wheeze. we finally had to eat elsewhere, but when back in the hotel the room service was ok (after all it was late on)

Breakfast was a farce. Self service buffet of supposed to be hot food, staff completely clueless and of no help at all. Disfunctional and poorly organised, there were plenty of them but no leadership. Breakfast was also cold and some of the items looked dreadful and tasted little better.

All in all a very mixed bag, and unlikely we would stay again.

  • Maureen K

  • December 2015

Fantastic short break

Absolutely fabulous hotel and great location - one of the best locations in Edinburgh.

Visited just the week before Christmas, so hotel was looking splendid with beautiful decorations. Hotel looked like it had been recently refurbished, certainly in the foyer area. Very tastefully done. Bedroom also gorgeous and very restful with very modern bathroom and lovely fittings. Breakfast experience just fantastic. Staff all really helpful and courteous and very willing to help. Overall just a really lovely experience.

  • K Robertson

  • December 2015

Breakfast cold and in organised, no advice from check in re breakfast time or check out.

  • Z Delaney

  • December 2015

Nice hotel

Very nice and local to George street.