No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
19-21 George Street , Edinburgh, EH2 2PB
Award-winning luxury hotel and conference venue in the heart of historic Edinburgh

When it comes to hotels in Edinburgh, very few can compete with the style and sophistication of The George. None can compete according to the Scottish Hotel Awards 2011, which awarded The George the title of Best Hotel in Edinburgh.

The George belongs to the luxurious of Edinburgh’s hotels, from its fabulous 249 rooms and ample facilities to its ideal location in the centre of the city which is designated as a ‘World Heritage site”.

The hotel is within easy reach of rail and air links and it is close to the city’s business district, plus a plethora of local attractions including the famous Castle, Princess Street Gardens and Holyrood Palace. A little further a field is Edinburgh Zoo and Leith Port which is now home to the Royal Yacht Britannia

The George is a fantastic place to stay whether you are on a work trip or a fabulous city break. It is regularly sought out for conferences and boasts nine conference and event suites, including the roof top Panorama meeting room with breathtaking views across Edinburgh.

The George is also famous for food and drink and are very proud to be associated with the Tempus Bar & Restaurant, an award winner itself.

Easily accessible by road, rail and air, the George Hotel is just a few minutes walk from Waverley Station and is just a short journey from
Edinburgh International Airport. Car parking is available close to the hotel at the NCP or there is on street metered parking between 08.30 and
18.00.

Picture of The George Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 312 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay at George
I thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, the staff were unfailingly welcoming and helpful. The room could have done with a little more sound insulation, it's not that good to be hearing the neighbours peeing in their bathrooms or having a good cough. Otherwise, however, the room was very nice and sufficiently spacious. I would go there again.

ManagementResponse

Dear Ms Potter Just a quick e mail to say thank you for posting a review of The George Hotel, following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that the staff were, yet again great Ambassadors for the hotel. I will be sharing your review with them at our next quality wins staff lunch. I do take on board your comments in relation to the room and I will pass this onto our maintenance team to see if there is anything that can be done. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The George Hotel again soon. Kindest regards John Greenhill Guest Relations Manager The George Hotel

Reviewed by
Anne P

From Manningtree, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A taste of Scottish Hospitality
Excellent location within walking distance of station, Princes Street and Royal Mile. Outstanding service from all staff, especially at breakfast. Warm welcoming atmosphere. Wonderfully spacious deluxe room with modern facilities. Large comfortable bed and bathroom.

Reviewed by
Kathryn M

From Bewdley, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
We have stayed at the George hotel a few times now. the rooms are comfortable and light. Breakfast is always well organised, staff are friendly and efficient. There is always a good selection of produce, whether you prefer hot or cold meals. The George hotel would always be my number one choice to stay on a visit to Edinburgh, you feel comfortable as soon as you step inside the door!

ManagementResponse

Dear Ms Reid Many thanks for posting a review following your recent stay with us here at The George Hotel. I will of course ensure that this is shared with the staff who will be delighted to see your kind comments in relation to them. I am particularly grateful for your comment in relation to breakfast. This is a very important part of any stay in a hotel so it is most gratifying to see read about this in your review. I do hope that we can welcome you back to The George Hotel again soon Kindest regards John Greenhill Guest Relations Manager The George Hotel

Reviewed by
G Reid

From Leven, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location for nearby restaurants shops and bars would definitely reccommend to my friends
Very good value for money

ManagementResponse

Dear Ms Tyrie Many thanks for talking the time to post a review following your stay with us here at The George Hotel. I am delighted to see that our location here in the heart of the city was to your liking. We do offer a great base for anyone visiting this beautiful city. I am most grateful that you would recommend us to your friends. This is important to us. Should you choose to stay with us again please do drop me a quick email and I will see if there is anything I can do to add to your stay. Kindest regards John Greenhill Guest Relations Manager The George Hotel

Reviewed by
H Tyrie

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel
My mum and I decided to go away for one night for Mother's Day, the hotel was great and the location was fab. Every member of staff that we spoke to couldn't be friendlier and do enough to help us.
Planning on returning very soon.

Reviewed by
J Burnside

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was excellent clean .staff were helpful .our stay was comfortable and input a good location

Reviewed by
Kerry Johnson

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyable , would certainly stay again. Bed was very comfortable and the room was clean.

Reviewed by
Jamie Shepherd

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Let Down
Noise levels extremely high, requested double bed and got 2 single. Paid for room service for breakfast, asked for grapefruit , didnt get any. Tea tasted of salt. When checking out and settling bill i was not asked how my stay was, only interested in money. Disappointed

Reviewed by
joanne b

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break in Edinburgh
An absolute delightful hotel. Well situated for all areas of the city. The service was second to non, with nothing being too much trouble. We stayed in a deluxe double which was an absolute joy, spacious clean well appointed. The breakfast was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. Well worth the money. Would definitely return

Reviewed by
julie rowley

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

upgraded to deluxe room
I was upgraded to a deluxe room and the room had twin beds rather than a double this was all I was not happy about.

Reviewed by
G Hood

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next