No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
19-21 George Street , Edinburgh, EH2 2PB
Award-winning luxury hotel and conference venue in the heart of historic Edinburgh

When it comes to hotels in Edinburgh, very few can compete with the style and sophistication of The George. None can compete according to the Scottish Hotel Awards 2011, which awarded The George the title of Best Hotel in Edinburgh.

The George belongs to the luxurious of Edinburgh’s hotels, from its fabulous 249 rooms and ample facilities to its ideal location in the centre of the city which is designated as a ‘World Heritage site”.

The hotel is within easy reach of rail and air links and it is close to the city’s business district, plus a plethora of local attractions including the famous Castle, Princess Street Gardens and Holyrood Palace. A little further a field is Edinburgh Zoo and Leith Port which is now home to the Royal Yacht Britannia

The George is a fantastic place to stay whether you are on a work trip or a fabulous city break. It is regularly sought out for conferences and boasts nine conference and event suites, including the roof top Panorama meeting room with breathtaking views across Edinburgh.

The George is also famous for food and drink and are very proud to be associated with the Tempus Bar & Restaurant, an award winner itself.

Easily accessible by road, rail and air, the George Hotel is just a few minutes walk from Waverley Station and is just a short journey from
Edinburgh International Airport. Car parking is available close to the hotel at the NCP or there is on street metered parking between 08.30 and
18.00.

Picture of The George Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 312 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in excellent location
Great hotel in a great location, right on george street only a couple of mins walk from tigerlilly, living room, right opposite the dome and hardrock cafe. Lovely hotel everything i expected. Only down side was the breakfast, ordered full scottish breakfast to the room and was missing loads of stuff didnt even have toast :( was really looking forward to that too. Other than that had a great time, lovely hotel would deffinately stay again and reccomend.

Reviewed by
r mason

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
The room and bathroom was very nice and the bed was super comfortable. The bathroom was nice, too. The only thing missing were the standard q-tips and cotton swabs I like to use after showering. The little shampoo, conditioner and lotions were standard. However, the containers are hard as glass so I couldn't squeeze to get anything out of the bottles. And I'm not weak!
Additionally, it's strange that they're unaware of their own 4SQ deals. They charge £10/hr for late checkout & there's a fee to use wifi as guests of the hotel- basic courtesies.

Reviewed by
Tracy V

From USA
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 Days Never Forget
Lovely Hotel unfortunately the 1st night we had a room overlooking a Nightclub on George Street. It was noisy till 3am then it became horrendous as nightclub emptied. This went on till after 4am. Next morning I complained to Reception whom were very understanding and moved us to a lovely room at the back. My Wife took ill and reception helped me to find health centre nearby and she was able to see a Doctor. As it was also my birthday we received a small cake with Best Wishes on it. We certainly hope to return as my Wife was upset she never got to do any shopping or do any sightseeing.

ManagementResponse

Dear J Weeks, My apologies to you and your wife for the disturbed first nights sleep. Whilst we have an enviable city centre location, we do from time to time have the noise that can be associated with a city centre. I am pleased to read that when you pointed this out the staff on duty acted to remedy the situation. I do hope your wife has fully recovered and that you will have the chance to visit us again. In case this should happen I have updated your profile to ensure you allocated an appropriate room. Kindest regards, John, Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed by
J Weeks

From Irvine, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday treat and the Lion King to boot
Welcoming staff and given glass of sparkling wine while at reception. What a start. Headed for the lift to take us to our room through a long corridor which could do with a make over to give it the X factor. Room on the 7th floor very spacious, comfortable and clean and the view over Edinburgh and beyond was wonderful.
Welcoming staff at the bar and served quite quickly despite it being very busy.
Overall a great stay at this hotel once again. Would recommend it to anyone and its centrally located.

Reviewed by
alexander m

From MELROSE, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class
I would recommend a stay at this hotel to anyone . The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the food was excellent all in all a first class establishment

Reviewed by
Allan McKenzie-Kerr

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
Pleasant environment very clean rooms and good food!

Reviewed by
Ali A

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing stay with friendly, helpful and thoughtful staff.

Reviewed by
M Coleman

From , England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The George=Edinburgh
From the moment we checked in we were treated like royalty. Our 2 night stay was a dream. The staff were so helpful and made us feel important immediately! We Ndver ever saw the cleaners but the place was spotless! Our room was spotless every tiime we returned from the moment we checked in ! Nothing was an issue for the staff :) even after we'd checked out. The staff were as helpfull as ever. Looking forward to our 3rd visit.

ManagementResponse

Dear Ms Martin. Just a quick e-mail to say thank you so much for the review you have posted following your stay here at The George Hotel. It is most gratifying to see that the hard work carried out by our award winning Housekeeping department was so visible during your stay. I will share your comments with them at our next meeting. I am particularly delighted to read your comments on the staff. I do believe that they are not only our greatest assets but our greatest Ambassadors. Your review will be shared with them at our next Quality Wins staff lunch and I am sure they will appreciate that you have taken the time to recognise them. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon for your 3rd visit. Kindest regards, John, Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed by
Gary Martin

From Stockton on tees, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation
Television reception very poor so not worth purchasing any movies . No hankies and no coffee in our room. Room very nice but bath very small.

Reviewed by
M Grant

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Edinburgh Trip
Excellent hotel centrally located. Restaurant and bar provide good options for eating. Accommodation was excellent, very comfortable with good sized bathroom having bath/shower as well and walk in shower.

Reviewed by
John T

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next