No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
19-21 George Street , Edinburgh, EH2 2PB
Award-winning luxury hotel and conference venue in the heart of historic Edinburgh

When it comes to hotels in Edinburgh, very few can compete with the style and sophistication of The George. None can compete according to the Scottish Hotel Awards 2011, which awarded The George the title of Best Hotel in Edinburgh.

The George belongs to the luxurious of Edinburgh’s hotels, from its fabulous 249 rooms and ample facilities to its ideal location in the centre of the city which is designated as a ‘World Heritage site”.

The hotel is within easy reach of rail and air links and it is close to the city’s business district, plus a plethora of local attractions including the famous Castle, Princess Street Gardens and Holyrood Palace. A little further a field is Edinburgh Zoo and Leith Port which is now home to the Royal Yacht Britannia

The George is a fantastic place to stay whether you are on a work trip or a fabulous city break. It is regularly sought out for conferences and boasts nine conference and event suites, including the roof top Panorama meeting room with breathtaking views across Edinburgh.

The George is also famous for food and drink and are very proud to be associated with the Tempus Bar & Restaurant, an award winner itself.

Easily accessible by road, rail and air, the George Hotel is just a few minutes walk from Waverley Station and is just a short journey from
Edinburgh International Airport. Car parking is available close to the hotel at the NCP or there is on street metered parking between 08.30 and
18.00.

Picture of The George Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 262 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George Hotel Edinburgh Stay Feb 14
Had a two night stay to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday.
Hotel was fantastic and we could not fault anything.
We dined in the hotel one evening and having dined out the second night we wished we had dined in the hotel for the second night as well.
Hotel also in a great location and we are looking forward to returning in the future.

ManagementResponse

Dear Andrew, Just a quick e-mail to say thank you for the review you have posted. It is much appreciated. I am delighted that we met your expectations on this trip. I have passed on your comments regarding Tempus to Stephen the General Manager and he will share this with his team. I have to agree that the standard of food presented by our Executive Chef and his brigade is hard to beat. I do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you and your wife back to The George Hotel again soon. Please do drop me a quick e-mail if you do intend to return and I will see what I can do to get your stay of to a great start. Kindest regards, John, Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent city centre stay
We were in Edinburgh to visit a friend. The hotel was bang in the centre, right where we wanted to be. We got a good late deal and were not disappointed with the hotel at all. Room was clean and tidy, breakfast very good and the staff helpful. Not much of a view but this is the city centre. And right opposite the Hard Rock.
I doubt you could do better for money in central Edinburgh

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Swift, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that our location in the heart of this beautiful city was of benefit to you. I have to agree that this allows you to make the most of your time. I will ensure that your comments are shared with the staff and we hope that we can welcome you back to The George Hotel again soon. Kindest regards, John Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed by
Nigel S

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A special hotel at a special price
LateRooms has done it again - a truly lovely hotel for an amazing price. Great room, great old fashioned atmosphere with high standards of service from the very professional staff. Clean, quiet room with perhaps the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.
Beautiful dining room at breakfast and faultlessly unobtrusive service. A very famous hotel that lived up to it's reputation.

ManagementResponse

Dear Samuel, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of The George Hotel following your stay with us. I am delighted to see that the staff were again excellent Ambassadors for us and that their high standards were on display. They truly are a great asset. I will also pass on your comments in relation to your bedroom to our Executive Housekeeper who will be happy to see that her excellent standards of cleanliness were visible. Once again many thanks for the review and I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards, John Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed by
Samuel M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely brilliant!

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Farquharson, Just a quick e-mail to say thank you for the review you have posted following your stay here at The George Hotel. If there were 2 words I would like to see in a review they are the two you have used. I will ensure that this is shared with the staff at our next Quality Wins staff lunch. I am so delighted that we met with your expectations and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The George again soon. Kindest regards, John Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed by
Andrew Farquharson

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The George hotel Edinburgh
Booked room as birthday treat for hubby, daughter had booked us one night and I decided to book a further night with late rooms. Emailed the hotel on booking to ensure we stayed in the same room both nights as separate bookings, recieved speedy response and even accommodated us with an early check in. Reception staff extremely helpful, booked us taxis to get us places. Breakfast was a treat, haggis was an interesting inclusion on the very varied buffet selection. Had drinks in the bar, service and prices good. Got a really good deal on this room, rebooked for August for Military Tatoo, however price more than three times what we paid this time, but enjoyed it so much decided it was worth it.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mrs Newton, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The George Hotel following your stay with us. I am delighted to see from your comments that the staff were again great Ambassadors for the Hotel. They are an asset for us and I will share your comments with them. It was great to read that our breakfast got your day of to a good start. Haggis is really popular on the buffet as are other items which we supply. Our Executive Chef was very please with your comments regarding breakfast and he has already shared them with his breakfast brigade. We look forward to seeing you again in August. Kindest regards, John Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed by
E Newton

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was quite small. Toilet seat was cracked and broken. Moved suddenly every time you sat down.

Reviewed by
Margaret Auchinleck

From renton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an excellent hotel in the centre of the City
It was our first visit to the George and we were made welcome from the first. Our room was big and comfortable, a bottle of wine awaited us. Breakfast was in a spacious dining room and the buffet style suited us. There were lots of choices of dishes, all the usual full breakfast, cooked to perfection. I ordered porridge and it arrived fairly quickly, and was enjoyed!
we would stay there again next time we visit Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
M HANSON

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rather disappointing..
Lovely reception area gives a fab first impression. The bedroom was altogether lacklustre and not a single piece of art on the wall. Dull and boring but the bed was more than comfy. Bar was pleasant. Altogether a tad disappointing. And no car parking in easy reach either. Definitely wouldn't return. At a conference next day in a lovely room in the hotel- ballroom I'd suspect; spoilt however by lack of heat.

Reviewed by
Arianna P

From The Fairy Glen, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
The hotel was in a great central location, the staff were really helpful and the rooms were excellent.

Reviewed by
M Jamieson

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday surprise!
Gorgeous night away in city centre. Booked as a surprise for my guy's birthday. Hotel staff friendly and special nod to the bar staff who were lovely and went that extra mile to keep the surprises coming.
Breakfast was good, lots to choose from given it's a buffet however had to queue to get a table, that said got a late check out free of charge as a result of the wait.
Definitely stay again - room 450 had little view but so quiet. Housekeeping staff didn't seem very well informed about check out times as we were bothered with them twice.

Reviewed by
Heather Melville

From Galashiels, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next