No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
19-21 George Street , Edinburgh, EH2 2PB
Award-winning luxury hotel and conference venue in the heart of historic Edinburgh

When it comes to hotels in Edinburgh, very few can compete with the style and sophistication of The George. None can compete according to the Scottish Hotel Awards 2011, which awarded The George the title of Best Hotel in Edinburgh.

The George belongs to the luxurious of Edinburgh’s hotels, from its fabulous 249 rooms and ample facilities to its ideal location in the centre of the city which is designated as a ‘World Heritage site”.

The hotel is within easy reach of rail and air links and it is close to the city’s business district, plus a plethora of local attractions including the famous Castle, Princess Street Gardens and Holyrood Palace. A little further a field is Edinburgh Zoo and Leith Port which is now home to the Royal Yacht Britannia

The George is a fantastic place to stay whether you are on a work trip or a fabulous city break. It is regularly sought out for conferences and boasts nine conference and event suites, including the roof top Panorama meeting room with breathtaking views across Edinburgh.

The George is also famous for food and drink and are very proud to be associated with the Tempus Bar & Restaurant, an award winner itself.

Easily accessible by road, rail and air, the George Hotel is just a few minutes walk from Waverley Station and is just a short journey from
Edinburgh International Airport. Car parking is available close to the hotel at the NCP or there is on street metered parking between 08.30 and
18.00. We also now have a tram line serving the city and our nearest stop is St. Andrews Square, which is 300 metres from the hotel.

Picture of The George Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 267 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cramped
I am retired now but spent 40 yrs in the TV & FILM industry so you can imagine I have stayed in the best & in the best locations around the world. We had an evening meal & that was outstanding both in selection, quality & service. I was quite happy with the accommodation, but I wouldn't want to stay in that room owing to being a little cramped. Well thank-you once again for a very welcoming reception. Graham

Reviewed by
G Newton

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding but lower floors nosiy.
For £89 pounds we got a superior room, two glasses of champagne at the hotel bar, chocolates and strawberry's in the room with rose petals on bed, plus full Scottish breakfast in bed via room service(ten pound room service charge for breakfast to room).
Service from reception to bar was amazing, great location, would have paid double for what we got but my only advice for anyone going would be ask for a high floor/quiet room.
We were on the second floor, room 250, there was a bottle bank or something nearby that people used from 0800 onwards, road was extremely noisy.
Although the room was noisy I would go back again this weekend(hopefully a quieter room but minor issue), service, location, room/hotel quality and staff make it a must stay.

Reviewed by
steven r

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

'Girls Weekend'
we had a lovely stay at the George Hotel Edinburgh for our girls weekend, we were lucky to get an upgrade with a panoramic sea view, excellent hotel and lovely staff. try the George.. you will love it ! The raspberry mousse cocktails were delicious :]

ManagementResponse

Dear Ms Carlyle, Just a quick e-mail to say thank you for the review you have posted following your stay with us. I am delighted to see that you and the girls had a great stay. I see from your comments that the staff were again great Ambassadors for us. I will share your review with them at our next Quality Wins staff lunch. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you all back to The George Hotel again soon. Please do look at our website for some great package offers and options. Kindest regards, John Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed by
Aileen C

From Lockerbie, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent weekend
stopped fri to sun though we didn't spend much time in hotel. Room was basic with small bathroom although the double bed was large,more like a king size and very comfortable. the cooked breakfasts were excellent enjoyed the haggis too.service at the table was good with plenty of coffee and toast on hand

Reviewed by
Gill Phillips

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh Suprise Deal
We had no knowledge of the George before booking and were very pleasantly surprised by our stay.
The breakfast was superb and the location excellent. The only downside was the car parking which needed £9 spent on the street overnight or a multi story some way away which was about the same price.

ManagementResponse

Dear Ms Sellick, Many thanks for the review you have posted. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We are aware that car parking is an issue which is why we have tried to help this by arranging a discounted rate at our nearest NCP car park. I am delighted to see that our breakfast buffet got your day off to a good start. So important. Thank you again for the review and I do hope that we can have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The George Hotel again soon. Kindest regards, John, Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed by
Margaret S

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best ever
we have stayed in a few hotels in edinburgh but the george hotel was the nicest, it was central, very clean, staff most helpful, room not stuffy and food very good will definately go back again.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Hall, Many thanks for the review you posted following your stay with us at The George Hotel. I am delighted to see that we met your expectations on this occasion. I will be sharing your comments with the staff at our next Quality Wins lunch. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The George Hotel again soon. Kindest regards, John Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed by
p hall

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

george hotel edinburgh 22/23 Feb 14
The Location was very convenient for the railway station & the restaurant I had booked for the Saturday night.we were going to a show at the playhouse which was a taxi ride away.
the standard of the room and Hotel in general was very good although a bit overpriced for an overnight stay although that seems to be some kind of norm for Edinburgh.
the only thing we really weren't happy about was the quality of the breakfast.
the sausages weren't cooked and neither was the fried eggs.
I would stay here again but the kitchen need to sort out the quality of the breakfast especially for the price being charged

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Gallacher, Thank you for the review you have posted following your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the breakfast experience you had which was clearly below our normal standards. I have addressed this with my Breakfast Manager as well as our Executive Chef. I am pleased to see that our central location proved to be of benefit in relation to the plans you had when you were here. I do hope that you enjoyed the theatre. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The George Hotel again soon. Kindest regards, John Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed by
p gallacher

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful hotel and very well looked after

ManagementResponse

Dear Ms Walsh, Just a quick e-mail to say thank you for the review you posted following your recent stay at The George Hotel. I have already passed your comments onto our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams and will be sharing your gracious comments with the rest of the team at our next Quality Wins staff lunch. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The George Hotel again soon. Kindest regards, John Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed by
Doreen W

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast early
the queue for breakfast a 9.10 am was unacceptable

ManagementResponse

Dear John T, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay with us here at The George Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the queue you experienced at Breakfast. I have asked that this be looked into to see how it can be improved. We do utilise all the available space we have to accommodate breakfast guests but it would appear that this was still not enough to cover the demand. Kindest regards, John Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed by
john t

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
excellant service, good breakfast , clean well equipt room

ManagementResponse

Dear C Nolan, Just a quick note to say many thanks for posting the review, following your stay here at The George Hotel. I am delighted to see that breakfast got your day off to a great start. From your comments I can see that yet again the staff have been great Ambassadors for the hotel delivering a high level of service. I will share your comments with them at our next Quality Wins staff lunch. It is also good to see that the hard work by our housekeeping team was visible during your stay. They are often the unsung heroes so thank you for your comments. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The George Hotel again soon. Kindest regards, John, Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed by
C Nolan

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next