No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
19-21 George Street , Edinburgh, EH2 2PB
Award-winning luxury hotel and conference venue in the heart of historic Edinburgh

When it comes to hotels in Edinburgh, very few can compete with the style and sophistication of The George. None can compete according to the Scottish Hotel Awards 2011, which awarded The George the title of Best Hotel in Edinburgh.

The George belongs to the luxurious of Edinburgh’s hotels, from its fabulous 249 rooms and ample facilities to its ideal location in the centre of the city which is designated as a ‘World Heritage site”.

The hotel is within easy reach of rail and air links and it is close to the city’s business district, plus a plethora of local attractions including the famous Castle, Princess Street Gardens and Holyrood Palace. A little further a field is Edinburgh Zoo and Leith Port which is now home to the Royal Yacht Britannia

The George is a fantastic place to stay whether you are on a work trip or a fabulous city break. It is regularly sought out for conferences and boasts nine conference and event suites, including the roof top Panorama meeting room with breathtaking views across Edinburgh.

The George is also famous for food and drink and are very proud to be associated with the Tempus Bar & Restaurant, an award winner itself.

Easily accessible by road, rail and air, the George Hotel is just a few minutes walk from Waverley Station and is just a short journey from
Edinburgh International Airport. Car parking is available close to the hotel at the NCP or there is on street metered parking between 08.30 and
18.00. We also now have a tram line serving the city and our nearest stop is St. Andrews Square, which is 300 metres from the hotel.

Picture of The George Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 267 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Let Down
Noise levels extremely high, requested double bed and got 2 single. Paid for room service for breakfast, asked for grapefruit , didnt get any. Tea tasted of salt. When checking out and settling bill i was not asked how my stay was, only interested in money. Disappointed

Reviewed by
joanne b

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break in Edinburgh
An absolute delightful hotel. Well situated for all areas of the city. The service was second to non, with nothing being too much trouble. We stayed in a deluxe double which was an absolute joy, spacious clean well appointed. The breakfast was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. Well worth the money. Would definitely return

Reviewed by
julie rowley

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

upgraded to deluxe room
I was upgraded to a deluxe room and the room had twin beds rather than a double this was all I was not happy about.

Reviewed by
G Hood

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A taste of Haggis
The staff are brilliant the rooms slightly on the small size location excellent an enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
PAUL CHRISTOPHER DALEY

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh in March
Excellent hotel for a city break in Edinburgh. Room was available when we arrived at midday. Service was without fault throughout the three night stay. The room was perfect for our needs and faced Georger Street. The bed was very comfy. Slight downside was the noise on the Saturday night when the clubs emptied at about 3am. We would stay at the George Hotel again.

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superb hotel
Free room upgrade on arrival, lovely hotel, friendly and efficient staff for whim nothing was too much trouble. Would well recommend

Reviewed by
Sarah F

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sightseeing Trip
Excellent location as hotel situated central to main attractions and 10 mins from station. Plenty of choice for full Scottish breakfast. Disappointed in dinner menu and thought it was overpriced for what we had.

Reviewed by
J Mansfield

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cramped
I am retired now but spent 40 yrs in the TV & FILM industry so you can imagine I have stayed in the best & in the best locations around the world. We had an evening meal & that was outstanding both in selection, quality & service. I was quite happy with the accommodation, but I wouldn't want to stay in that room owing to being a little cramped. Well thank-you once again for a very welcoming reception. Graham

Reviewed by
G Newton

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding but lower floors nosiy.
For £89 pounds we got a superior room, two glasses of champagne at the hotel bar, chocolates and strawberry's in the room with rose petals on bed, plus full Scottish breakfast in bed via room service(ten pound room service charge for breakfast to room).
Service from reception to bar was amazing, great location, would have paid double for what we got but my only advice for anyone going would be ask for a high floor/quiet room.
We were on the second floor, room 250, there was a bottle bank or something nearby that people used from 0800 onwards, road was extremely noisy.
Although the room was noisy I would go back again this weekend(hopefully a quieter room but minor issue), service, location, room/hotel quality and staff make it a must stay.

Reviewed by
steven r

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

'Girls Weekend'
we had a lovely stay at the George Hotel Edinburgh for our girls weekend, we were lucky to get an upgrade with a panoramic sea view, excellent hotel and lovely staff. try the George.. you will love it ! The raspberry mousse cocktails were delicious :]

ManagementResponse

Dear Ms Carlyle, Just a quick e-mail to say thank you for the review you have posted following your stay with us. I am delighted to see that you and the girls had a great stay. I see from your comments that the staff were again great Ambassadors for us. I will share your review with them at our next Quality Wins staff lunch. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you all back to The George Hotel again soon. Please do look at our website for some great package offers and options. Kindest regards, John Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed by
Aileen C

From Lockerbie, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next