No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
19-21 George Street , Edinburgh, EH2 2PB
Award-winning luxury hotel and conference venue in the heart of historic Edinburgh

When it comes to hotels in Edinburgh, very few can compete with the style and sophistication of The George. None can compete according to the Scottish Hotel Awards 2011, which awarded The George the title of Best Hotel in Edinburgh.

The George belongs to the luxurious of Edinburgh’s hotels, from its fabulous 249 rooms and ample facilities to its ideal location in the centre of the city which is designated as a ‘World Heritage site”.

The hotel is within easy reach of rail and air links and it is close to the city’s business district, plus a plethora of local attractions including the famous Castle, Princess Street Gardens and Holyrood Palace. A little further a field is Edinburgh Zoo and Leith Port which is now home to the Royal Yacht Britannia

The George is a fantastic place to stay whether you are on a work trip or a fabulous city break. It is regularly sought out for conferences and boasts nine conference and event suites, including the roof top Panorama meeting room with breathtaking views across Edinburgh.

The George is also famous for food and drink and are very proud to be associated with the Tempus Bar & Restaurant, an award winner itself.

Easily accessible by road, rail and air, the George Hotel is just a few minutes walk from Waverley Station and is just a short journey from
Edinburgh International Airport. Car parking is available close to the hotel at the NCP or there is on street metered parking between 08.30 and
18.00. We also now have a tram line serving the city and our nearest stop is St. Andrews Square, which is 300 metres from the hotel.

Picture of The George Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 259 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quality..

Reviewed by
l greenan

From Tain, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely pleasant stay.
Front of house staff were knowledgeable and friendly. Extremely helpful with questions I asked and requests I made. The room was very clean and neat, well equipped and comfortable.
I did not experience any noise during my stay and had two very peaceful nights sleep.
I most definately will be staying again.

Reviewed by
Richard K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit tired and worn out (the room, not me!)
A lovely looking building in a central location with a nice reception area. Our room was a bit grotty and in need of a refurbishment. Certainly not up to the standard suggested and paid for.

Reviewed by
Ian F

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Classic hotel ,centrally located, great staff.

Reviewed by
Margaret Gouldin

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great experience in a wonderfull city centre hotel
My wife and I enjoyed a very a very busy visit to Edinburgh which was topped by our stay at The George.
The staff were very kind , helpful and happy making our experence one we would repeat again shortly.
The room was selected for us by the George staff to accommodate or special requests and personal needs, which was wonderfull and easy to access and near the lifts.
The hotel is centrely located in a great part of town, and easy to walk to most city attractions and venues for shows.

Reviewed by
Ian Thomson

From Gordon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

X

Reviewed by
Fraser W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A luxurious experience.
The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of Edinburgh with a wide range of fantastic restaurants and bar within easy walking distance.
Staff were very helpful and friendly in their recommendations.
Overall 10/10. We had a great time.

Reviewed by
C Woods

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Was in a great location and terrific value for money .

Reviewed by
Gordon Bruce

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Everything about our stay in the George hotel was perfect! Absolutely brilliant! Will most definitely be returning!

Reviewed by
P Brown

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We love this hotel
There is nothing about The George hotel that we don't like. I know there are hotels with great spas, gyms and swimming pools or with more luxurious rooms but for being made to feel special nowhere beats The George. Don't get me wrong, the rooms are lovely, well appointed and scrupulously clean, and the building and interior very impressive but the staff are the key to any successful enterprise and the staff at The George are top notch. Step out of the front door into the heart of one of the most attractive cities in the world, what could be better? Nothing, in this humble guest's opinion.

Reviewed by
J Tierney

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next