No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
19-21 George Street , Edinburgh, EH2 2PB
Award-winning luxury hotel and conference venue in the heart of historic Edinburgh

When it comes to hotels in Edinburgh, very few can compete with the style and sophistication of The George. None can compete according to the Scottish Hotel Awards 2011, which awarded The George the title of Best Hotel in Edinburgh.

The George belongs to the luxurious of Edinburgh’s hotels, from its fabulous 249 rooms and ample facilities to its ideal location in the centre of the city which is designated as a ‘World Heritage site”.

The hotel is within easy reach of rail and air links and it is close to the city’s business district, plus a plethora of local attractions including the famous Castle, Princess Street Gardens and Holyrood Palace. A little further a field is Edinburgh Zoo and Leith Port which is now home to the Royal Yacht Britannia

The George is a fantastic place to stay whether you are on a work trip or a fabulous city break. It is regularly sought out for conferences and boasts nine conference and event suites, including the roof top Panorama meeting room with breathtaking views across Edinburgh.

The George is also famous for food and drink and are very proud to be associated with the Tempus Bar & Restaurant, an award winner itself.

Easily accessible by road, rail and air, the George Hotel is just a few minutes walk from Waverley Station and is just a short journey from
Edinburgh International Airport. Car parking is available close to the hotel at the NCP or there is on street metered parking between 08.30 and
18.00. We also now have a tram line serving the city and our nearest stop is St. Andrews Square, which is 300 metres from the hotel.

Picture of The George Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 257 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom was on the small side however other than that the hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was really good and again the restaurant staff were friendly. We were there for the Ryder Cup and breakfast was laid on early for those going to Gleneagles. Thank you for an overall pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Julie A

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom could us a different type of flusher, ours was very hard to press in.
The room we were in was close to employee elevator which started running 1st thing in the morning

Reviewed by
Patricia B

From Jupiter, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stylist Hotel with great rooms.
Every thing is perfect about this hotel. Location, rooms, bar, lobby. The one thing that let it down was the breakfast, every thing that was meant to be hot was cold. I would go back to this hotel only I'd eat out for breakfast. Oh and if you do stay for breakfast make sure you pre book it, it's a lot cheap.

Reviewed by
Suzanne C

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location and accommodation

Reviewed by
b clifford

From Shipston on Stour, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food except for coffee and croissants
All round excellent except quality of coffee at breakfast is poor and croissants spongy rather than flakey which they should be. Otherwise breakfast buffet is good..

Reviewed by
M Curtis

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good enough
Kingsize bed was twin singles pushed together, however the levels of bed were mismatched.
The food for breakfast had every angle covered but the standard was poor.

Reviewed by
graeme m

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superior room? Absolutely!!
We booked a superior double room at The George. Our room did not disappoint! Would definitely visit again and would highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

Reviewed by
L Keenan

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will be happy to return
We arrived to a very welcoming staff who showed interest in our travels, offered assistance with luggage and advice on what to do in Glasgow. We had extended our honeymoon for a few days to visit friends and will definitely be back to the hotel on our next trip. It is very central and there is an adjoining car park which was useful with a small discount received through the hotel. The room facilities were excellent with some complimentary nibbles and soft drinks.

Reviewed by
C Reid

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

morning call
at six oclock on sunday morning we got an alarm call which we had not ordered.the church clock outside our room dinged and donged every 15 mins.surely the hotel can liase with the church offficials to silence the bells overnight.when these points were raised with staff the correct noises of sympathy were made but that was it.

Reviewed by
p sims

From alnwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and atmosphere
We have just had a very enjoyable two night stay at The George Hotel. The location is great for getting about town with a fantastic hotel bar and good restaurants in the vicinity. The only slight draw back is the lack of on site parking. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
N Hosker

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next