Reviews - The George Hotel


19-21 George Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2PB

Price From 229.11 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (191)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Andrew C

  • February 2015

Return Visit To The George

Second time at the George and equally good as the first time.

Staff friendly and professional. Restaurant excellent. Room fantastic. Well-looked after by the staff and Manager.

  • Philip H

  • February 2015

The George Hotel

Everything was excellent.

The only points dropped were due to the slight issue when we were taken to the breakfast room and told we would be seated. A waitress said sit anywhere. As a result no one took ownership of our table and so no tea, coffee, toast etc without a bit of arm waving. It was still an excellent breakfast in comfortable surroundings.

  • Emma M

  • February 2015

amazing stay

I visited the George recently for my husband's Birthday.

His Nana and Grandad had had their honeymoon at the George over 60 years ago and had raved about how lovely it was so we wanted to go and check it out. We loved everything about it. The staff were very friendly and really helpful with giving us directions to different places. We got an upgrade on our room when we arrived which was a nice treat and my husband also received a birthday card and some choices from the hotel for his Birthday. The hotel is really central, close to the train station, shops and lots of lovely bars and restaurants. We will definitely be going back to the George soon.

  • sandra brechin

  • February 2015

Convenience and service

This is the second time that we have stayed at the George and I can honestly say that I have no criticism to make.

The hotel is in an extremely convenient for transport and quite a few attractions. The staff, in all departments were excellent.

  • Gareth M

  • February 2015

weekend away

fantastic location, in the heart of the city.

two minutes from Princes street. lots of bars and restaurants in the area as well!

  • A Gordon

  • January 2015

George hotel

great location with comfortable rooms and friendly staff

  • J Hudson

  • January 2015

Charming staff and friendly atmosphere

We have used the George several times over the past few years and we will continue to do so whenever we visit Edinburgh as it is situated ideally.

The only gripe i had this visit was the lack of a toilet brush in the bathroom. A small matter but an important one. Recent visits breakfast was included in the price, it wasnt this time but it was nt inconvenient and we still enjoyed our stay as the breakfast is the best you can get anywhere.

  • James Tait

  • January 2015

The George

The name speaks for itself.

Edinburgh and The George the perfect match for getting away from it all and recharge the batteries. From the moment one enters The George it is something special. Receptionists make you feel welcome and you can relax straight away. I was upgraded to a Seview Room along the Forth on this visit. The room was beautifully furnished and the view was right along the Forth very impressive. Dinner at night was Smoked Salmon Starter followed by Orkney Fillet Steak (28 day hung) then Icecream with Shortbread Rounds. The Servers made sure the meal met with my satisfaction which it did. In the morning Dining Room Management showed me to my table and explained the breakfast layout and again the Servers were on hand to make sure everything was to my satisfaction. Unfortunately all good things come to an end but when the next visit to Edinburgh can be arranged it will certainly be back to The George again.

  • Gillian S

  • January 2015

Glad we went to the George

I went with my friend on the spur of the moment and had a ball.

I loved the hotel, the location and the staff were great. It was my first time but I will defo go back.

  • Lorraine R

  • January 2015

Night out in Edinburgh

Great location for a night out in Edinburgh