Reviews - The George Hotel

5

19-21 George Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2PB

Price From 235.54 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (163)

87% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • R Abel

  • April 2015

Splendid City centre hotel

A most enjoyable stay in excellent accommodation.

Could not be criitcal of anything!

  • r carey

  • April 2015

Great to stay just a couple of niggly things

Breakfast could have been better.

Drilling started at 0820hrs somewhere in the hotel

  • Garry Taylor

  • March 2015

Great hotel in superb location

Lovely hotel, great location.

Room was a little small, but perfectly formed. Restaurant was staffed by friendly people, and food was good too.

  • Keith J

  • March 2015

Great location, but the hotel is lacking and not well thought-out

Probably perfect as a business hotel, and perhaps that's what they're aiming for, but as a romantic/city break place, it falls awfully flat.

Our room, once we found it down a warren of corridors and concrete steps, was large but lacking in character, which totally let down the expectation from such a classic old building with a beautiful façade. The few extras actually provided in the room (most have to be requested from reception) were disappointing: two tea bags of everyday blah blah, two sachets of instant coffee and two decafs... is that it. Surely, at these prices, a choice of teas and more than 2 biscuits is a reasonable expectation. These are minor niggles so far; now we come to the main problems. Our 'superior double' bed was two mattresses jammed together, which really does NOT work for a couple who actually want to sleep together (hence asking for a 'superior double'). There was no mini bar or fridge (just a hole in the cupboard where it once was), meaning we couldn't buy foodstuffs and keep them cool. And there is no air conditioning, which was really needed given the design of this room: the central heating was on and blasting out ridiculous heat when we arrived, making the room incredibly uncomfortable and airless, so we turned off the radiator and opened the window... or tried to. It opened a few inches but was restricted "for your safety", which is fair enough, but it means there is no way of ventilating the room. We left that window open for the entire time, but it was too small to make a difference. All in all, we slept badly and were glad to leave. What a shame, when we were so looking forward to this special treat.

  • Tara G

  • March 2015

Excellent Again

Truly is a lovely hotel excellent service can't wait to stay there again

  • Carole M

  • March 2015

George Hotel City Break

The George is ideally placed for a city break.

Just a short walk from the train station and next to a wonderful selection of good quality shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is an absolute delight with helpful and friendly staff, comfortable and stylish accommodation and a very good breakfast to set us up for the day. We will definitely return.

  • B Leembruggen

  • March 2015

quality of stay

The room on 5/11/14 stay was of better quality.

No water this time. No drawer space for u/w etc. Reception desk on one occasion was lacking. Concierge, bar and breakfast staff were excellent. Location cannot be bettered.

  • Ross B

  • March 2015

Thank you Fabio !!

First of all a massive thanks to duty manager at front desk Fabio.

I somehow managed to book the Sunday night instead of the intended Saturday night for me and my girlfriend. On arrival and with very little hassle Fabio swapped the booking over and put us in 1 of the only 2 remaining rooms. What a star !. Great city location and possibly the best Scottish cooked breakfast I've ever had ( and I've had lots !. )

All in all this hotel can't be faulted. Highly recommend it.

  • Gillian Steedman

  • March 2015

The George Hotel

Love love love the George Hotel.

  • H Graham

  • March 2015

Superb standard very welcoming service was faultless

Ideal romantic break rooms, well kept food was very good at the hotel, full of warm welcoming staff.

Parking was only sticking point but as its location is central this can be easily overcome.