Reviews - The George Hotel


19-21 George Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2PB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (178)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • R Taylor

  • March 2015

Going above and Beyond

Stayed at the George on business for one night.

Requested a framed photo of Burt Reynolds to be in my Bedroom upon arrival and lo and behold there he was sitting on my bed when I arrived. First class. Made my year. Fantastic from the George Hotel staff.

  • Lillian Taylor

  • March 2015

enjoyable stay. staff very efficient

only stayed for one night.

rooms were all as good as advertised. staff really friendly and helpful.

breakfast enjoyable with plenty of choice hot and cold.

  • Yasmin F

  • February 2015


I have one word that will describe The George Hotel and that is perfect.

The room is very clean and has a lot of compliments and the food were all excellent. Tempus restaurant is a must to try. We will definitely go back and refer to all of my friends.

  • Robin Milan

  • February 2015

Two days visit to Edinburgh

We were very happy with the service, particularly upgrade which gave us lovely views to the castle and to the Forth bridges, over the chimneys and roofs of Edinburgh

  • R Carroll

  • February 2015

Staying the night.

The room that I was given was not positioned in the best of places.

Outside the window was a large fan unit that was running all night which lead to a disturbed nights sleep. The room was also cold and the heating did not work. The points were left with reception on the guest comments card.

  • Andrew C

  • February 2015

Return Visit To The George

Second time at the George and equally good as the first time.

Staff friendly and professional. Restaurant excellent. Room fantastic. Well-looked after by the staff and Manager.

  • Philip H

  • February 2015

The George Hotel

Everything was excellent.

The only points dropped were due to the slight issue when we were taken to the breakfast room and told we would be seated. A waitress said sit anywhere. As a result no one took ownership of our table and so no tea, coffee, toast etc without a bit of arm waving. It was still an excellent breakfast in comfortable surroundings.

  • Emma M

  • February 2015

amazing stay

I visited the George recently for my husband's Birthday.

His Nana and Grandad had had their honeymoon at the George over 60 years ago and had raved about how lovely it was so we wanted to go and check it out. We loved everything about it. The staff were very friendly and really helpful with giving us directions to different places. We got an upgrade on our room when we arrived which was a nice treat and my husband also received a birthday card and some choices from the hotel for his Birthday. The hotel is really central, close to the train station, shops and lots of lovely bars and restaurants. We will definitely be going back to the George soon.

  • sandra brechin

  • February 2015

Convenience and service

This is the second time that we have stayed at the George and I can honestly say that I have no criticism to make.

The hotel is in an extremely convenient for transport and quite a few attractions. The staff, in all departments were excellent.

  • Gareth M

  • February 2015

weekend away

fantastic location, in the heart of the city.

two minutes from Princes street. lots of bars and restaurants in the area as well!