No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Chase Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gloucester Road,Ross-On-Wye,Herefordshire , Ross on Wye, HR9 5LH
The hotel is situated in 11 acres of grounds and is within easy walking distance of Ross on Wye town centre. Within 10 minutes drive guests can be enjoying the fantastic Wye Valley and Forest of Dean with walking and cycling trails, canoeing and abseiling. Many of the hotel rooms have views over the gardens. The restaurant and bar have a variety menus allowing guests to enjoy local fayre created into delicious cuisine.The hotel is able to offer all guests Special Concessions on a variety of local golf courses. A member of Classic British Hotels
Picture of The Chase Hotel, Ross on Wye at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay, but the bed was uncomfortable and too high. Very small thing but while laying in bed we were unable to see the tv without sitting bolt upright.

Reviewed by
A berry

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Country hotel
We had a nice welcome on arrival. The room was fine, small but then we expected it from the description. The bed was comfortable and the shower was good. Used the restaurant for dinner, there weren't many people there so it was quiet but the food was lovely. The bar was quiet too but very pleasant. The location was very good , easy walking distance into town.

Reviewed by
debbie d

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could have been wonderful
A beautiful setting , fabulous weather , food was good but they just didn't get the service quite right. We felt that because we weren't a big wedding party we didn't really matter, perhaps they don't employ enough staff !

Reviewed by
Norma Empringham

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stylish and excellent food
This hotel has an excellent location is Ross, beautiful gardens and the 'standard' double we had was fine. The restaurant 'Harry's' had a top notch menu with service and quality to match. Our only comment would be to have alittle light background music in the restaurant, it felt like eating in your local library! An hotel definitely worth going back to at Late room prices.

Reviewed by
Neil Harris

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room
Enjoyed the one night stay at the Chase hotel. Our only disappointment was the room it was very uncomfortable to realise you could hear the person in the room removing clothes from a coat hanger in the wardrobe.

Reviewed by
M Anderson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chase Hotel
Classic British accomodation, a fine old property in good repair and excellent location
close to the Town. All ok except bar service is very slow to the point of frustration.
This isn't a one off as we have stayed several times the freindly staff are however, very skilled
at their profession and the food was good

Reviewed by
R Percival

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food
Our second visit to the Chase. This time our room was much smaller but it had all you needed and was clean. Food again was excellent and in particular the range and quality of the breakfast food was high.

Reviewed by
John N

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice experience
Only stayed one night but both evening meal and breakfast were really good. Really reasonably priced for a hotel like this. I did find the bed very hard. Didn't know they made mattresses quite that firm! Served our needs very well.

Reviewed by
Peter T

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel for the money
I stayed a single night whilst working in the south west. The hotel was very quiet ( it was a Sunday night), but staff were all on hand and service was excellent. The (double) room was a little small. Not too small when traveling alone but for a couple it could have been. The lounge bar offers "normal" food at sensible prices and the choice of beers was good. Breakfast is in the restaurant and was excellent. All in all a very comfortable stop over and excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Austin F

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful food and setting
Elegant hotel set in extensive grounds. Checking in was easy and staff friendly. We had trouble with our TV so we were moved to a better room. Food on offer in the restaurant (or you could take in bar) was excellent. Full of flavour and quantity. Breakfast was also as good.

Reviewed by
John N

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next