Cromwell

2

9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury, OX16 0TB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (39)

79% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Paul S

  • February 2015

Good value accommodation

Was a little worried about such a cheap room on a very cold night but in fact the room was large clean and warm.

Bar was good value too. Only gripes are that the hot water appeared ti be switched off overnight but it was back very hot by 7am. Also the cooked breakfast could have been a little better but for the price excellent value.

  • Tony R

  • January 2015

12th January night stay

Although my room had a table, there was a distinct lack of storage space i.e.no cupboards.

The amount of toast at breakfast was disappointing as it was one slice cut in half on my cooked breakfast plate rather than the norm of two slices in a toast rack. The pastries weren't available until 15 minutes after the restaurant was open for breakfast.

  • Brian M

  • December 2014

Cromwell

I liked it.

Olde, quirky with a bit of lived in, comfortable atmosphere - so much preferable to plastic modern establishments. Friendly staff. Decent food. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • J Paszkowski

  • November 2014

A beautiful hotel in a beautiful town!!

I'm a firm believer in not judging a hotel by others reviews.

Everyone has a different opinion of nice and not. I went in with an open mind and I am pleased to say that this hotel did not disappoint. It's set in a stunning old building but inside is beautifully decorated. It's warm, welcoming and the receptionist was extremely friendly. I'd booked a single room for one night and when I arrived in my room it was spacious, recently refurbished and modern yet kept to look like the period building it was in. The bathroom was of a good size with all modern facilities. The room was clean and homely and I instantly felt comfortable. I ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was well made and very tasty. The waiter was extremely pleasant. I had a very comfortable nights sleep in my larger than a single bed :) The next morning I went down for breakfast and the choices available were excellent and the food was very tasty. After check out I was allowed to leave my bags as I was attending a meeting nearby and collected it later than evening. All in all it was an amazing night stay. The staff were do friendly and polite, the room was just gorgeous and I will definitely visit again to see more of Banbury.

  • Alison H

  • October 2014

Menu

Some misunderstanding about offers on the menu, but the staff were helpful in sorting out the problems.

  • wendy c

  • October 2014

Cromwell

Although the Hotel was very nice there were a few points to make- In my room there was no sink plug , no centre light, wallpaper was coming of the wall in the toilet and the tap did not run very well.

My parents room was very nice and had no problems.

  • JOHN G

  • September 2014

Hotel staff were hard working and polite, they couldnt do enough for us, lovely place and would recomend the Cromwell Hotel to anybody.

  • A Boland

  • September 2014

Breakfast

Breakfast left a lot to be desires .

45 minutes to finally get given a very poor breakfast

  • Nikki E

  • September 2014

One night stay for 2- much improved customer service

We ventured back the the Cromwell Lodge, despite having quite a poor previous experience there, some time ago.

I am pleased to be able to say that customer service has improved, vastly. It made our stay relaxing and enjoyable, instead of somewhat fraught. Check in was prompt- no waiting around. Our room was adequate but fairly basic and just about OK for cleanliness- one cobweb next to the wardrobe and mould in the shower cubicle. The hot tap looked like it had been broken and it had been put in upside down so you have to turn it lefty-tighty and righty-loosy, which took a bit of getting used to. The room was near the marquee, in the garden again, but it was not as noisy as previously. The main hotel is beautiful so it was a shame we were in the extension again... I would not want to stay in that room, in Winter, as there was a gap under the door and would be very draughty. The bed was very comfortable so I forgave the room a lot. I could have done with 2 pillows, instead of one... but the linen and duvet was soft. Our breakfast was good, despite some rather off-putting left-over, dried-up food on the floor, in the restaurant. The waitress was polite, cheerful and prompt in serving us. I decided to sit where we could be seen this time, as we had to wait ages, on our last stay, to be served. (The restaurant is L shaped so it is tricky for the waiters and waitresses to over-see.)

Check-out was as efficient as check-in had been. The only real negative was that the hotel car-park was full when we got back to the hotel late in the evening but there was free parking overnight at the front of the hotel. We had to move the car or pay, by 8 am next morning, though. It was only £1 for the whole day, as it was a bank holiday so we could leave the car there and go in to town, shopping, as the town centre is just a few minutes walk away.

  • P East

  • September 2014

not upto 4* standard

Went for a two night break.

Bar and evening food was good and downstairs hotel looks nice. We had a superior room and the size was nice but standard of room disappointing. Bathroom clean but smells damp and musty which had also made the bedroom smell a bit,although mould had been cleaned off ceiling you could still see patches above the shower. Bed comfortable and clean but décor very dated and really looking tatty.

Such a shame as downstairs is nice its about time the hotel spend the money on the bedrooms. Staff all pleasant and didn't mind me noticing that they had forgotten some of the items that was meant to be included on the full English for breakfast and then added them to our plates.