No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cromwell

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
9-11 North Bar Street , Banbury, OX16 0TB
The Cromwell Lodge Hotel Banbury sits on the high street of the Busy Oxfordshire Market town of Banbury, very close to Banbury Cross with easy access to the M40 junction 11. The Cromwell Lodge Hotel an ideal base for exploring the local area. Banbury is a bustling town, with traditional street markets and high street chain stores.

There is a variety of night time entertainment, cinema, theatre, restaurant and clubs. The Hotel is nearby Oxford, Stratford-upon-Avon and Blenheim Palace, the birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill. You will be assured of a warm welcome and great hospitality. Car park is at the rear of the hotel.
Picture of Cromwell, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful staff - great breakfasts!
Very pleasant, helpful staff. Good food - particularly the breakfasts. Rooms looking very tired, soundproofing poor, fixtures and fittings poor or broken. There is a general look that the entire hotel needs refurbishing.

Reviewed by
Jude W

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hotel with character. The only criticism was the delay with breakfast. There was obviously staff shortage and we waited 45 minutes for our breakfast to be served. I only asked for beans on toast. There was no apology. If staffing for breakfast is increased I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Kathleen P

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a Lovely room, the bed was amazingly comfortable. It was a bit noisy on the main road in the morning, so request a room out the back. Breakfast was superb, plenty to eat and very tasty. I would use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
A Bailey

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great town-centre stop over
I have used the Cromwell many times and am pleased that the rooms have finally been re-furbished. Service can be a bit hit and miss as they are trying to staff reception, the bar and the restaurant - same with the car park, it is also used as a local pub, so there were no spaces for guests when I arrived. Bar prices are the usual over-priced that seems to be the norm in Oxfordshire. The food quality was not brilliant, but certainly adequate. If you want Banbury, this is a fantastic location - this place tends to fluctuate between adequate and good - I did not catch them at their best on this occasion, but no complaints.

Reviewed by
Phil J

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient
We stayed overnight as we had a gathering to attend in Banbury. There was not enough parking space for guests, the staff that attended were very helpful but there were clearly not enough staff to attend to the number of guests. Bed was very comfortable but really creaking floors so ear plugs a definite need. Breakfast was good but fresh fruit and pastry trays were empty as again not enough staff for the amount of guests for breakfast, 2 servers and a dining room full. Overall, our stay was not a bad experience as we were only there overnight, but they do need to up their game for their paying guests.

Reviewed by
A Williams

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
Had a lovely stay Cromwell lodge great for exploring Canterbury and surrounding cotswolds. Fab room with real character and a real nice breakfast with plenty of choice. All staff friendly and helpful.
Would definitely return again.

Reviewed by
Robert H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean pleasant hotel

Reviewed by
Anthony Hughes

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room 17 is clean but bed a bit small for 2 adults, part of the wallpaper was hanging off

Reviewed by
A Hidayat

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff , comfortable room,excellent breakfast,Very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Trevor Jones

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

WEEK END STAY
The place that we stayed was value for money. Staff very good and the food was good. I always judge a place by would I return for a another stay. This place I would return to. YOU CAN NOT GO WRONG.

Reviewed by
John T

From Romney Marsh, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next