No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cromwell

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
9-11 North Bar Street , Banbury, OX16 0TB
The Cromwell Lodge Hotel Banbury sits on the high street of the Busy Oxfordshire Market town of Banbury, very close to Banbury Cross with easy access to the M40 junction 11. The Cromwell Lodge Hotel an ideal base for exploring the local area. Banbury is a bustling town, with traditional street markets and high street chain stores.

There is a variety of night time entertainment, cinema, theatre, restaurant and clubs. The Hotel is nearby Oxford, Stratford-upon-Avon and Blenheim Palace, the birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill. You will be assured of a warm welcome and great hospitality. Car park is at the rear of the hotel.
Picture of Cromwell, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs TLC
We stay at Cromwell Lodge at least 3 times a year. Our visit just after Christmas was very disappointing the shower in our room dripped water all night and when someone flushed the toilet in the next room the noise was very loud. We opted for a the more expensive room than just a standard double and found it was not worth the money. Also the public areas are looking very tired and need a good clean and toilets never seem to work in the bar area. Breakfast was ok mushrooms and toms could have been fresher sausage not cooked enough

Reviewed by
Mark L

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cromwell Lodge Hotel
Very friendly staff.positive experience will stay there again

Reviewed by
Trevor Jones

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cromell Lodge hotel
This was disappointing - the hotel looks tired and uncared for. Its a beautiful old building which has been allowed to go down hill.

Reviewed by
I M

From
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

loved the bed
My boyfriend and I had a discussion and we both agreed that the bed in the superior double we'd booked was amazing. I had a top night's sleep. Also the tv meant for the perfect lazy night in! I thought the room and bathroom were spacious too! Although on a busy road the lodge was surrounded by places to eat which was good for big eaters like us.
However it's often the small things that make the difference. Some complementary shower gel and shampoo wouldn't have gone amiss- we were relying on it being there and had to buy our own. Also I felt we spent a lot of time waiting around for staff e.g. At reception and breakfast.
However on the whole I'd say I got what I paid for.

Reviewed by
charli d

From Amersham, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great staff and location
Firstly i'd like to thank the staff for their friendly and efficient service we recieved which to be honest along with the location was the hotels best asset.
We stayed in a superior room which had ample room for our needs and a great roll top bath in which we relaxed.
Im not going to go on this is a great place to stay in banbury very close to all the pubs and restaurants ehich is all we needed.

Reviewed by
Darren A

From Romford, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Stay
Stayed for two nights with my partner. From check in to check out we had no problems at all. Staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. Room service was very quick and a bonus was no tray charge. Ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was faultless. Only wish we could have stayed longer. We shall definately go back. A really wonderful stay and a credit to the manager who was genuinely efficient and a nice person too,very approachable. Couldn't fault anything.

Reviewed by
M Chappell

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

for an ' Old English Hotel ' it was lovely
Friends recommended Cromwell Lodge Hotel, as their celebratiion was in Wately Hotel.So we really enjoyed our stay with you just 2 minutes from where they were.! Also just walking into Banbury town was just such a short walk and so lovely.
We love Banbury and will come again

Reviewed by
L Webb

From Haywards Heath, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stopover
Good for a stopover on way north. Pleasant staff and good food. Car parking could be difficult if full as car park is open to public as well as hotel

Reviewed by
Frank S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Twin room - 1 night
The hotel was very "tired" and not good value for the £85 we paid for our 1 nights stay. Staff very nice and welcoming and breakfast good and served with a smile.

Reviewed by
Ingrid M

From Chichester, England
Who stayed in October 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, terrible accommodation
Stayed at this hotel for four nights in total. We complained about the state of our room on the first night, awful sewerage smell and furniture falling apart. We were moved to a slightly better room for two nights, but then had to again spend our last night in a room where the furniture was falling apart, the towel rail has come off the wall but has not been replaced. We barely slept on any of the nights as there is so much noise from the street below and music playing downstairs.
The breakfast at the hotel was very nice with a wide choice, but the standard of the accomodation is definitely not four star, more two stars.

Reviewed by
N Drew

From Milton Keynes, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next