No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cromwell

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
9-11 North Bar Street , Banbury, OX16 0TB
The Cromwell Lodge Hotel Banbury sits on the high street of the Busy Oxfordshire Market town of Banbury, very close to Banbury Cross with easy access to the M40 junction 11. The Cromwell Lodge Hotel an ideal base for exploring the local area. Banbury is a bustling town, with traditional street markets and high street chain stores.

There is a variety of night time entertainment, cinema, theatre, restaurant and clubs. The Hotel is nearby Oxford, Stratford-upon-Avon and Blenheim Palace, the birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill. You will be assured of a warm welcome and great hospitality. Car park is at the rear of the hotel.
Picture of Cromwell, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Staff, Poor room
Room was in need of a serious update, i would have been well mifted if I had paid the full charge for this room instead of the late booking price. Traffic noise was very intrusive through the night. That aside the new manager was brilliant and the staff serving breakfast were very helpful and friendly. The food was good.

Reviewed by
Steve N

From Hales, Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
very nice hotel, staff, food,bed (room 12) clean tidy,made to feel very welcome, would use this hotel again,

Reviewed by
Colin Brazier

From , UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overpriced
great pitch excellent breakfast but do think the place has become overpriced for the standard of rooms.

Reviewed by
d norris

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor standard. Tired and dingy rooms, rotten service. Wouldn't stay for free in future.
Room was not as described on Laterooms site. I booked a superior room and it wasn't. The whole experience was not to be repeated.

Reviewed by
A Dixon

From , England
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
The room smelt damp, they were short staffed which showed as service was awful. We waited ages for breakfast which we did not get in the end as has meetings to go to. Would not stay there again!

Reviewed by
J Brown

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
Richard W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good comfortable stay
We don’t stay in Hotels often so it was a nice treat.
Very nice welcome, staff were always around and very polite and accommodating.
Room was a good size.
Beds were VERY comfortable.
Room was quiet.
Good facilities in the room - such as iron, ironing board, hair dryer and tea/coffee.
TV was easy to use.
Breakfast was varied and good.
Good bar down stairs, with wood burning fire and comfortable seats.
Very clean, bedding and towels, a few splatters on tiles by the side of the loo, but minimal.
Not easy plug in phone charger by the side of bed.
Small details like the skirting board in the bathroom being different heights on the same wall, spoils what is otherwise a well decorated room.

Reviewed by
Jack L

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the deluxe certainly wasn't deluxe

Reviewed by
Michelle C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old hotel
For the price this was an absolute bargain for 2 with breakfast. Room and en suite were fine, a little tired, but had everything you need. Crisp clean cotton bedding and comfortable beds. Varied menu, I had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon for breakfast. Good choice of evening meals. Not haute cuisine, but good and very reasonably priced. And sufficient parking at the rear of the hotel.
This is a very old hotel and they have retained the feel of it in the public areas downstairs, stonework, lighting, old wood furniture. The bar has a large wood burning stove and comfortable seating. Very central, one of the 2 main shopping streets opposite the hotel and easy access to roads to Oxford and Warwick.
Faults - wifi only worked in the public areas and the whole hotel was too warm for us. You can hear the bells of the church opposite if you are in a room at the front and have the windows open as we did.
I worked here as a chambermaid in the summer of 1964 and have never been in since. Much more grand in those days, large wood panelled rooms with deep pile carpets and big en suites, but it was a pleasure to be in this hotel, still had a comfortable atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Michele W

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs TLC
We stay at Cromwell Lodge at least 3 times a year. Our visit just after Christmas was very disappointing the shower in our room dripped water all night and when someone flushed the toilet in the next room the noise was very loud. We opted for a the more expensive room than just a standard double and found it was not worth the money. Also the public areas are looking very tired and need a good clean and toilets never seem to work in the bar area. Breakfast was ok mushrooms and toms could have been fresher sausage not cooked enough

Reviewed by
Mark L

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next