No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
UPPER HARBLEDOWN , CANTERBURY, CT2 9HX
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury is a modern hotel located in leafy Upper Harbledown, a short drive from Canterbury Centre. A short distance from Canterbury Cathedral, historic sites and the commercial centre, the hotel is an ideal base for business and leisure guests to explore the area.

Rooms are modern, with; comfortable beds, tea and coffee facilities and complimentary WIFI. Guests have access to secure complimentary parking, and can enjoy buffet breakfast which is included in the room rate before exploring the city. Light dishes are available at the hotel restaurant and the 24 hour Lobby bar and terrace provides somewhere to relax. Meeting rooms and a 24 hour business centre are available for business guests.

Picture of Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, CANTERBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

n
n

Reviewed by
Philip R

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value place to stay
I can't fault it, I had a good night's sleep and a good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Robin M

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ferry stopover
Easy access to ferry for morning departure

Reviewed by
Steven E

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Didn't really get to use the room but concierge was superbly helpful , room clean and nice will def use again

Reviewed by
Kerry A

From Welling, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value accommodation

Reviewed by
D Roberts

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, helpful staff
We stayed for one night. The staff were very friendly and the 12pm check out is helpful.

Reviewed by
R Ginsberg

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second stay
This was the second time we have visited this hotel, and again it did not disappoint. The staff are very welcoming, the room was beautifully clean and the food was good, freshly cooked and very hot.
The only down side is that as the hotel is very close to the A2 it is quite noisy, this wasn't too much of a problem as we were very tired.

Reviewed by
J Hulme

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great but Poor Breakfast Offering
Excellent place to stay and staff, but, having paid more for a breakfast with this stay, we found out in the morning that they don't provide bacon, mushrooms or tomatoes, only sausages, scrambled egg and beans! Was told this is their policy. Very disappointing.

Reviewed by
Robert M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing stay
Room small cramped. Bed settee very uncomfortable. Tea making facilities not near plug? Had to relocate to be able to plug kettle in. Three staying - two mugs (one was chipped) and bare minimum tea/coffee sachets. Shower room; shower step raised approx 14" from floor very high? Shower during use went stone cold and remaining cold? Breakfast small very crowded area no seating re-directed to other side of reception to an empty conference room not appropriate! Cooked breakfast only sausages, beans and scrambled egg?? No surface space to put plate and dish up breakfast...food behind a glass flap which has to be lifted to access food (two hands needed).The coffee machine "exploded" and was then out of action with flooded coffee everywhere on surface. Tried to access hot water from adjacent machine but staff accessing cupboard situated below this machine appeared unconcerned that customers waiting with breakfast trays waiting for the only hot water point. Quality of sausages - poor and this is not English breakfast.

ManagementResponse

Dear Pearl C, Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience over some of the room amenities and over breakfast. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible. Sincerely, Karen, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Pearl C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quality overnight stay

Reviewed by
s cooper

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next