No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Clasper Way,Swalwell, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 3BE
Enjoy easy access from the nearby A1 motorway at the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre hotel. Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre is 10 minutes' walk from the MetroCentre station with regular trains and buses into Newcastle city centre, 3.5 miles away. We're a 7-mile drive from Newcastle Airport and have ample complimentary parking . Surf the web with our free wireless Internet in the lounge area and Great Room. Invite 30 people to seminars in one of our 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms . Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre is located within 2 miles of The Watermark business park and Newburn Riverside Park . Companies such as BAE Systems and Tyne Tees Television are just a short drive away. A Breakfastis included and is available each morning in our welcoming Great Room . Under-18s stay for free on the extra sofabed in our Family rooms when sharing with parents.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Curtains in bedroom were dirty at the bottom and seriously needed a wash. The showers drainage was terrible the bason filled right up due to it not being cleaned often enough. There wad not a great selection at breakfast. I would stay again if they sorted they problems out.

ManagementResponse

Dear S Duncan, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the cleanliness of the room you received. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Krysllin, IHG Care

Reviewed by
s duncan

From Cowdenbeath, Scotland
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for shopping
Stayed here whilst on business. Free parking for the hire car and free wifi to do work, which were the main things I was looking for. As a bonus I had the chance to quickly nip into the Metro centre so if you are looking for a spot of shopping, this hotel is great. The food wasnt the best. I had the special, which was carbonara which wasn't very special at all. However, don't let this put you off as there is TGI Friday or something equivalent and another restaurant with 50m.

ManagementResponse

Dear J Newlands, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Krysllin, IHG Care

Reviewed by
j newlands

From Oyonnax, France
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A you need for a few nights stay....
Had a great two night stay in this hotel, staff are very friendly and the hotel is overall very clean. In a great location for the Metrocentre as its only a 2 minute drive or 10 minute walk. Ideal if you just want to grab something to eat as there is a KFC, TGI Friday's and a Frankie and Bennies just on the door step. Brilliant place to stay if you are hitting newcastle for a night out as the hotel is very welcoming to stags, hens and groups. Plus the hotel is just outside the city centre (10 minute drive) so good prices for a taxi there and back.
Would definitely return to this hotel if im to go for another night out in Newcastle.

Reviewed by
T Smallwood

From Hull, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible
Noisiest room ever. Dishes banging till late in night and then people roaring and shouting from 04:30 onwards (hotel staff)

ManagementResponse

Dear N Ferugson, Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the noise challenges you experienced during your stay. Your comments have been taken very seriously and have been shared with the Management Team, in order to help us improve further the service that we have to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. Sincerely, Zelyn, IHG Care

Reviewed by
N FERGUSON

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel in good location for Metro centre and Newcastle city centre.
Good value hotel in good location for Metro centre and Newcastle city centre. Rooms are clean and pretty basic but modern enough. Beds very comfortable, decent shower. We had no problems with noise apart from early morning kitchen noise which was very brief. Friendly staff. Breakfast of sausage, scrambled egg and beans with toast was decent enough. Yoghurt, tinned fruit, pastries and croissants also available. We were visiting Newcastle and drove down to Felling metro station where there are a small number of parking spaces. £2.50 for all day parking and £2:50 for an all day metro pass. Great value I thought! There is also a big park and ride a bit further out at Hewarth and the hotel doesn't mind residents leaving their car at the hotel nearby which you can get a bus into Newcastle, I think the metro centre is walkable but sadly we didn't have time to visit it.

Reviewed by
Christine R

From Frodsham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

#travelodge!!
It reminded me of a travellodge, carpet was a little dirty, clean sheets nice fella on the front desk but I could have done allot better for my $
Given the choice I would find something a little bit better.

ManagementResponse

Referenced to chain hotel.

Reviewed by
pete c

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first class
excellent value for money, would definately stay here again

Reviewed by
w ward

From Irvine, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very modern and joyful to be in. Pillows very thin, but thats just not my preferance, and with a double to myslef was easily made up. The sofa with a extendable bed made the room into obe which could easily fit a family of 4, whilst the bathroom was a fantastic place to be in. Location was excellent within the center of a major food hub with over 20 top resturants within 5 minutes walk. This made up for the only downside of the breakfast being slow to be replenished. As not much would come out at once, and it quickly went.

ManagementResponse

Dear G Anstee, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our location. We appreciate you feedback about pillows. Rest assured this will be looked into. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area. Thank you again for your review. Sincerely, Zelyn IHGCare

Reviewed by
G Anstee

From Hornchurch, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality consistent with Express by Holiday Inn brand, staff very helpful

Reviewed by
ian C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Metro Weekend
Great value for money. Breakfast choice is limited but more than adequate. Great position for trip to the Metro centre or into Newcastle. Very quiet. Placed next to a KFC, Frankie and Bennys and a TGI Fridays.

Reviewed by
Linda S

From Musselburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next