No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Highland Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
18 Academy Street , Inverness, IV1 1LG
Built in 1855 as the Station Hotel, it has been continually refurbished and upgraded to provide the best in traditional comforts and service combined with the most modern facilities
45 Minutes Free wi fi for guests (£5.00 per day thereafter)

The hotel restaurant is noted for its high quality cooking and imaginative dishes and the cocktail bar is the ideal place to relax. If your choice is for something a little more lively, Ash Restaurant & Lounge Bar, a firm favourite with the locals and visitors, is the wide awake place to be!
Picture of Royal Highland Hotel, Inverness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the epitome of the classic traditional old style railway hotel. It has obviously been updated and refurbished but has retained its "old world" charm. The beautiful central staircase is a particularly attractive feature. Its central position makes it ideal for access to rail and bus transport .

Reviewed by
Anne E

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Let down by reception
If you have a car do not park in either of the two right hand spaces.I parked here on the Wednesday afternoon and on the Thursday morning I was blocked in by a Honda Civic, on going to reception I was informed that there was nothing that they could do about this and they were completely disinterested.
My car was blocked in all day which would have been a disaster if I had not been staying another night. Thursday evening I moved to the multi storey car park.
Friday morning while looking out of the room window I saw the same car parking in the same position again blocking another car.To totally make the whole thing worse the driver got out of said car and entered the hotel,since it had a local registration and a local dealers name on the licence holder it is almost certain that this person is employed in the hotel so it would be interesting to find out why reception could not get it moved.
Brought the subject up again with reception on checking out on the Friday and although they appeared to be a bit more concerned I still did not get an answer even when I told them I had watched the driver entering the hotel.
Would not stay at this hotel again as car was trapped from 0900 to 1500, which could have caused me big problems if I was moving on or needed to use the car. Used public transport which cost money that I should not have had to spend.

Reviewed by
Alexandra F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really lovely time

Reviewed by
Shirley Calder

From Aberdeen, Scotland
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, poor food value
This is a charming comfortable and friendly hotel but the restaurant is very overpriced for its food quality

Reviewed by
Andrew Batty

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel
From the sweeping Gone with the Wind staircase that greets you when you arrive, the beautiful decor, ornate covings and furnishings, superbly furnished rooms and the most comfiest hotel bed I have ever slept in to the friendly and extremely helpful staff that are there for you throughout your stay I would definitely have no hesitation in recommending and staying at this beautiful hotel again.

Reviewed by
P Law

From Brechin, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable and very central
Adjacent to the railway station so extremely convenient for non drivers. Clean, excellent in room facilities and the bath as opposed to just a shower was a real bonus.

Reviewed by
S McDonald

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable room. Overall condition of hotel vastly improved from our last visit.

Reviewed by
Niall M

From Isle of Skye, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad parking
Very bad for parking only eight places ,if you can not park it's £2 for two hours from 8am till 8pm then it's free until the morning don't forget to put your ticket on at 8am

Reviewed by
Ian Robertshaw

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location,bad restuarant
Very good location right next to the train station and 2min for main bus station.
Room were old and yellow but the bathroom was band new and lovely.
Breakfast buffet was not to bad, loads of choices.
Do not eat at the adjoining Ash restuarant in the eveing, even if you are tempted by the 20% discount coupon you receive when you check in. Their staff is very rude and keep ignoring you plus the food is very bad, worse than even a bad Wetherspoons. They give the Highlands Hotel a very bad name!

Reviewed by
C Le Roux

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

:)
Enjoyed our stay at this hotel the room we had was large and very clean but was at the front of the building and was rather noisy but a trip to boots for earplugs solved this. We only had breakfast at this hotel which was ok. Overall experiance was good and we will return again.

Reviewed by
ross a

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next