No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Highland Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
18 Academy Street , Inverness, IV1 1LG
Built in 1855 as the Station Hotel, it has been continually refurbished and upgraded to provide the best in traditional comforts and service combined with the most modern facilities
45 Minutes Free wi fi for guests (£5.00 per day thereafter)

The hotel restaurant is noted for its high quality cooking and imaginative dishes and the cocktail bar is the ideal place to relax. If your choice is for something a little more lively, Ash Restaurant & Lounge Bar, a firm favourite with the locals and visitors, is the wide awake place to be!
Picture of Royal Highland Hotel, Inverness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Value for money. Large room with everything that was needed. a bit chilly but able to turn up heating and it was a particularly
cold night.

ManagementResponse

'Thank you for the kind review and we hope to welcome you again'

Reviewed by
Brian M

From Oban, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highland visit
Although the shower cubicle was on the small side and the window was prone to draughts this was offset by the friendly yet professional attitude of the staff. The breakfast room staff in particular were very attentive, without being intrusive and were constantly topping up the buffet as well as clearing away used rockery etc. from the tables.

ManagementResponse

Thanks for the kind review - we shall pass on your comments to our breakfast team - and we hope to welcome you again.

Reviewed by
John H

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation (except for the smell)
This is an old hotel with a great deal of history and it seems to have gone through a recent tasteful refurbishment. On two occasions when we returned to our room there was a drainage/sewerage type smell coming from the bathroom. This was brought to the attention of the receptionist who immediately noted it for attention. Othjerwise - more than happy.

Reviewed by
a elsey

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two-night stop during holiday in the Highlands
This is an old historic hotel and as a consequence it has to retain most of its original charm - something which we liked. The ancient fittings and decor might not be to the liking of some but we found it agreeable, The staff were very attentive and helpful and we found our stay both comfortable and enjoyable. The food was of very good quality.

Reviewed by
a elsey

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing couple of days
excellent hotel straight out train station and straight into hotel , staff really friendly apart from one woman on reception not very welcoming , cleaner was still in room at 3pm asked for a double and got singles and had to join them together ourselves but apart from that everything else was good :)

Reviewed by
A Currie

From , England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

full of character
in the heart of the city - full of character - friendly staff - good food - an ideal base to see the highlands.

Reviewed by
v collier

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Highland City break
We had a great time at the Royal Highland Hotel, We arrived by train and the hotel is right next to the Railway Station and is very central. It is very handy for all amenities, and shopping. The bus station is just a couple of streets away and we used it most days, as my husband can only walk a short distance .

Reviewed by
C Manley

From Johnstone, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midweek break
Had a very enjoyable stay,

Reviewed by
Alasdair C

From Isle of Lewis, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice old hotel ... pity about the chef!
The hotel is old and retains a lot of character but is getting a little tired around the edges now. The room was very good and the beds extremely comfortable. We decided to eat in the restaurant and I decided that as we were in Scotland I would have a haggis dish which is served with neeps (swede) and mash, however I have an aversion to swede and cannot eat it! The chef point blank refused to accommodate me saying that the neeps were part of the dish and he wouldn't change it. I said I couldn't eat swede and would therefore have it without swede and mash, still no change it was take it or leave it! I therefore left it and would have gone elsewhere but for the fact my wife wanted to stay and eat! Whilst I appreciate many hotels have standard dishes they have in the past accommodated simple requests such as mine! Perhaps it was all frozen stuff and he didn't know how to defrost individual items? Still he gets a thumbs down from me for not putting the customer first!!!

Reviewed by
Michael D

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old building with charming characteristics. Very clean and welcoming. Would stay again'

Reviewed by
lorraine spark

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next