No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Highland Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
18 Academy Street , Inverness, IV1 1LG
Built in 1855 as the Station Hotel, it has been continually refurbished and upgraded to provide the best in traditional comforts and service combined with the most modern facilities
45 Minutes Free wi fi for guests (£5.00 per day thereafter)

The hotel restaurant is noted for its high quality cooking and imaginative dishes and the cocktail bar is the ideal place to relax. If your choice is for something a little more lively, Ash Restaurant & Lounge Bar, a firm favourite with the locals and visitors, is the wide awake place to be!
Picture of Royal Highland Hotel, Inverness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good

Reviewed by
donald l

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice break spoiled
I quite enjoyed this hotel up to the point that they failed to give me an alarm call at 6.45 a.m. and I awoke with minutes to spare to catch my train. Thank goodness I had had the foresight to book a hotel right next to the station! In the rush to depart I inadvertently left toiletries and shaving equipment. When I rang to complain about the missed call and ask for the bag to be forwarded next day delivery I was assured by deputy manager that it would be despatched. They handed it over to a mailbox company who sat on it and it still has not been returned 5 days later. I finally managed to speak to the proper manager today and issues are being addressed.

Reviewed by
Graham Mitchell

From York, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Nice and tidy hotel close to the bus and train station and public car park.

Reviewed by
Mark D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a beautiful old hotel but in need of updating
as the best word to describe it is "tired"

Reviewed by
G Allan

From Stonehaven, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City break
Location of hotel central to all shops, staff very friendly, rooms clean & spacious, car parking limited sharing with rail station although hotel has limited spaces, parking can be had at rear of rail station.
otherwise a very enjoyable break

Reviewed by
Neil Macdiarmid

From Isle of Lewis, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old fashioned Customer Care
Good hotel would recommend it

Reviewed by
A O'Brien

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, shame about the wifi
The hotel was excellent and in a great location. The only thing that spoilt my stay was lack of internet.
The process for accessing wifi required signing up for log in details. Purchasing required card details and password storage was in plain text which is a security risk.
I would have purchased a voucher via reception as advised in the hotel information but was informed at the desk that this information was wrong and the service was not available.
I would like to stay at the hotel again as I am a frequent visitor to Inverness for leisure and business. However, for business use the wifi issue would deter me. I would have expected it to be free, even with a data limitation.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. We have noted your observations on the Wifi and we shall definitely try to improve on these. However, as our hotel has a mixed clientele composition comprising of families, leisure visitors as well as business visitors, the only way we can provide consistently good wifi is if we manage to prevent wasteful usage of the bandwidth is by offering 45 mins free usage everyday of stay and the subsequent nominal charge of £5 for 24 hours with no data limitations and a majority of our guests are satisfied with it. We hope you will understand this and we hope to welcome you again.

Reviewed by
sue R

From Isle of Skye, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
I always stay in this hotel as the accommodation & staff are first class in customer service -ideal hotel centrally situated for all the highlights of Inverness

ManagementResponse

Thank you for the kind review- we hope to welcome you again.

Reviewed by
Anita B

From Golspie, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Value for money. Large room with everything that was needed. a bit chilly but able to turn up heating and it was a particularly
cold night.

ManagementResponse

'Thank you for the kind review and we hope to welcome you again'

Reviewed by
Brian M

From Oban, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highland visit
Although the shower cubicle was on the small side and the window was prone to draughts this was offset by the friendly yet professional attitude of the staff. The breakfast room staff in particular were very attentive, without being intrusive and were constantly topping up the buffet as well as clearing away used rockery etc. from the tables.

ManagementResponse

Thanks for the kind review - we shall pass on your comments to our breakfast team - and we hope to welcome you again.

Reviewed by
John H

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next