No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure London Bloomsbury

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
130 134 Southampton Row, LONDON, WC1B 5AF
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury.
Picture of Mercure London Bloomsbury, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's nice hotel and very kind staff I recommend for this hotel.

Reviewed by
H Alharbi

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok if your a Borrower. .
Nice but the doubles are more like singles so way overpriced.

Reviewed by
d james

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Booked this as I needed a hotel in a very specific location. Had a double room on the third floor, which was clean and well equipped, but very tight on space, particularly in the bathroom. Some road noise, but not to the point where it
Good staff, helpful at check in and check out

Reviewed by
Ed L

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

August 2nd
I stayed here for one night, Saturday 2nd August. It was £149 room only, which was expensive in general, but very good for central London on an August Saturday night. The room was small with a 3/4 size bed (as booked, so no complaint there) but very well appointed. I loved the bathroom. It had all the facilities I needed (except perhaps a small fridge would be good). Free wifi was appreciated and worked well. I heard no noise from any other guests or hotel staff. Excellent location - I walked to Soho for my night out, and to Regents Park the next day to pass time until the train, no need for taxis or tube. Recommended and would definitely book again next time I'm in London.

Reviewed by
Matthew T

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here on a reduced price so good value. Staff were friendly. Appreciated the air conditioning on a hot night. Decent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Michael H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business down south
London is expensive and I'm used to not getting much for my money, but it was pretty good here. The service was excellent and room was fine. I had air conditioning and the bed was comfortable (it was two single beds in the room).

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay in a lovely hotel
The hotel was lovely, very modern and bright with lovely seating areas and an excellent bar area. We didn't eat here as just stayed for one night but the menu was excellent and the dining area very inviting. Reception was very welcoming..we arrived early and did not want to carry bags around London but they looked after our bags and they were waiting in our room for us when we arrived later in the evening. The room was very small but it did state this on the description for a classic double however I would not have wanted to stay in such a small room for a long period of time. All amenities in the room but very lacking in milk and tea/coffee (only enough for one cup of tea) so I had to ring down for extra...small details such as this should be the norm for the price of the room. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean. The hotel is in a prime location for a city break...everything in walking distance such as Holborn tube station, covent garden, Leicester square and lots of lovely eating establishments close to the hotel. Overall and excellent stay, lovely comfortable hotel with friendly staff, fantastic location and we would definitely stay here again just in a bigger room!

Reviewed by
Helen T

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed for 2 nights over the Easter Bank Holiday, from checking in my first impression was the staff all seemed very helpful, it took only a couple of minutes to check us in, the room was brilliant and the hotel was very clean and welcoming, great value for money and I will be returning in the summer

Reviewed by
S Palmer

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous stay
Very friendly and inviting staff, stylish hotel with clean and comfortable room. Would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
Ann M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable, comfortable stay in a very good hotel in a great location and friendly helpful staff .
When booking with Laterooms.com that morning I had forgotten that I had stayed in another of the chain's hotels some time ago. On arrival on Friday evening the reception staff were friendly and helpful and they accommodated my request for a room with a larger singe bed and upgraded me to an executive single room as the double rooms were fully-occupied. My room was fully equipped with everything I needed including TV, an iron, toiletries, tea-making facilities, an expresso-making machine, a wide selection of beverages including hot chocolate. The room had also been recently refurbished and was clean and inviting. My newspapers and alarm calls arrived on time. I have stayed in several hotels in London over the years but had not not in this location and I had not realised that Russell Square was SO central. The hotel is perfectly placed on the Piccadilly Line and the tube is 3-5 minute walk away depending on your level of mobility! My only disappointment was that I did not eat at the hotel on Friday evening. I had been unsure of what if anything would be available by the time I arrived at 9pm. However the restaurant menu was appealing and extensive and room service is available for all meals including a limited but more than adequate 24-hour menu. I had forgotten about my previous stay with the chain but I shall not forget about this one and it will no doubt be my first choice when looking for hotel accommodation in London in future. My only vaguely negative comment is that my wardrobe space did not allow for my coat to hang fully straight due to the shelving at the bottom and the need to accommodate the safe. I have rated 4 out for 6 in respect of value for money because I was hoping to keep my 2-night stay under £200 for the two nights. However the Mercure is a good quality hotel in a prime location and I do feel that the Friday night rate was good value.

Reviewed by
Sharon K

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next