Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Minffordd Hotels > The Hotel Portmeirion and Castell Deudraeth
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hotel Portmeirion and Castell Deudraeth

4AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
MINFFORDD , PENRHYNDEUDRAETH, LL48 6ER
The Hotel Portmeirion and Castell is a private village set on its own wooded peninsula on the coast of Snowdonia. It was built by visionary Welsh architect Clough Williams-Ellis in order to
show that one could develop even a very beautiful place without defiling it. Portmeirion has a total of 55 bedrooms, accommodation includes 14 rooms in the main hotel building overlooking the beautiful Dywryd Estuary, 30 rooms and suites in the surrounding village and 11 contemporary style rooms and suites in Castell Deudraeth.

Surrounding the village on three sides are 70 acres of woodland gardens and to the south the estate is bordered by sandy beaches.

Customer Notification:-

**Hotel & Castle Closures**
Hotel Portmeirion closed between 23 Nov & 4th Dec 2014 all meals in Castle restaurant
Castell Deudraeth closed between 16 & 20 Nov 2014 - all meals in Hotel restaurant
Picture of The Hotel Portmeirion and Castell Deudraeth, PENRHYNDEUDRAETH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Portmeirion 2 night stay
Have been wanting to stay in the village for a few years now, finally made it this August. The staff were really accommodating as we had to travel up in our van and needed to park it in the main car park outside of the village but the porters were great, taking us to and from the van in hotel transport. All staff were very friendly making sure our stay was good. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and then ate in the hotel restaurant and at the castle in the evenings fantastic food and excellent service. The village is enchanting and because we stayed in the village we were able to get really good photos when the day visitors had gone home. We'll definitely visit again as it will be good to see it at different times of the year and enjoy afternoon tea and/or a spa break.

Reviewed by
C Mckenzie

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overall cant fault this hotel its the best yet

Reviewed by
w mcardle

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable in wonderful surroundings will definitely be back for further visits.The only upset was being woken at 6;15am by an false fire alarm .

Reviewed by
David Rogers

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel.
The view from our room was the icing on the cake, just beautiful. We only stayed one night but would have liked another. It's not cheap but for a special occasion it's worth every penny.

Reviewed by
Christine F

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A superb overnight experience. The staff were very attentive but in a quiet way. We would recommend this hotel for its grounds alone.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing, beautiful Portmeirion .We stayed in the village and we enjoyed our stay and recommend it for a visit . Reception staff and the gentleman who greeted us on our arrival were very helpful. The room was clean but the bed was uncomfortable so I didn't have much sleep. Breakfast was included it was fine.











to all travellers

Reviewed by
Diane C

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A special place to stay
This is no ordinary hotel. Only 11 bedrooms/suites in a mock castle. Great views and we had a large bedroom with quality facilities. Great staff, well motivated and friendly. Not cheap but good value. Restaurant food is excellent and good value.

Reviewed by
David Jones

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good experience
Spacious suite with fabulous panoramic views. Very prompt with showing us our room and providing transport to restaurant.

Reviewed by
Carol J

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome from friendly staff
Enjoyed the experience of living actually within this quirky, Mediterranean feel, village (shame the weather didn't match up but it is Wales in early May after all!) - hotel restaurant evening meal was excellent (save up your pennies) - room was comfortable and well thought out - the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and their friendly approach enabled us to have a very relaxed break.

Reviewed by
V Trevan

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unexpected delight
We booked our stay, without knowing about the wonder that is Portmeirion. It proved to be a delightful place, quirky and atmospheric. Although it was out of season and overcast at times, the weather gave the place a surreal quality in addition to its own aura.
The room was spacious and yet cosy. The bathroom was clean and pleasant. The service we received was excellent along with the food. Would highly recommend for a place to stay and visit with character - as was Sir Clough William Ellis himself to create such a place!

Reviewed by
Tracy Savage

From Hornsea, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next