Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Minffordd Hotels > The Hotel Portmeirion and Castell Deudraeth
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hotel Portmeirion and Castell Deudraeth

4AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
MINFFORDD , PENRHYNDEUDRAETH, LL48 6ER
The Hotel Portmeirion and Castell is a private village set on its own wooded peninsula on the coast of Snowdonia. It was built by visionary Welsh architect Clough Williams-Ellis in order to
show that one could develop even a very beautiful place without defiling it. Portmeirion has a total of 55 bedrooms, accommodation includes 14 rooms in the main hotel building overlooking the beautiful Dywryd Estuary, 30 rooms and suites in the surrounding village and 11 contemporary style rooms and suites in Castell Deudraeth.

Surrounding the village on three sides are 70 acres of woodland gardens and to the south the estate is bordered by sandy beaches.

Customer Notification:-

**Hotel & Castle Closures**
Hotel Portmeirion closed between 15
& 27 Nov 2015 all meals in Castle restaurant
Castell Deudraeth closed between 29 Nov & 4 th December 2015 - all meals in Hotel restaurant
Picture of The Hotel Portmeirion and Castell Deudraeth, PENRHYNDEUDRAETH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Magical stay
Always wanted to stay in this architectural masterpiece where the "Prisoner" was filmed.and the experience was no let down. The rooms are ultra modern and we stayed in a room with magnificent views over the estuary.

Reviewed by
Dennis Freeman-Wright

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay
Excellent accommodation. Very clean and comfortable.
We were amazed by the rooms at Castell Deudraeth - we will definitely be returning.
The staff were very friendly and jovial and nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
D Jones

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beutiful place to stay
Fabulous room overlooking estuary and village. Village looked great with it autumnal colours even better when the day trippers go home and then it is virtually empty. We were lucky and had sun so went on one of the longer walks, didnt see a soul for 4 hours.
Will be back in spring to stay in one of the other village rooms, they all look very different, all really interesting buildings.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Splendid room, food and service
Very pricey, but a superb location, lovely room in the hotel with views of the estuary. Welcoming jug of sherry in room plus bottled water.
Wonderful walks around the village. The wedding reception going on when we arrived had gone completely when we returned from our walk, so no disruption.
Very attentive and helpful staff, evening meal was excellent.

Reviewed by
David Woods

From Stalybridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

request
I asked for a room in the Hotel but was allocated one in the village with no notification.
There was no dressing table so my wife sat on the floor to get to a mirror with and electric plug nearby

Reviewed by
david l

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed at Portmeirion for 3 nights to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. We had a lovely room (Cliff House 1) which had a great view over the Estuary. Room & ensuite were very clean &
comfortable, with great attention to detail, such as an iron & board, bottled water & sherry plus a
great selection of beveridges, replenished daily. All staff were extremely helpful & courteous.
A great breakfast in the Hotel dining room, and a very high standard of food both in the Hotel dining room and the Castell Brasserie. The complimentary mini-bus service was a god-send, taking us to and from the Hotel & Castell, as my husband has some walking difficulties.
Everything was perfect, we couldn't have asked for more.

Reviewed by
M Barlow

From Deeside, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Portmeirion 2 night stay
Have been wanting to stay in the village for a few years now, finally made it this August. The staff were really accommodating as we had to travel up in our van and needed to park it in the main car park outside of the village but the porters were great, taking us to and from the van in hotel transport. All staff were very friendly making sure our stay was good. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and then ate in the hotel restaurant and at the castle in the evenings fantastic food and excellent service. The village is enchanting and because we stayed in the village we were able to get really good photos when the day visitors had gone home. We'll definitely visit again as it will be good to see it at different times of the year and enjoy afternoon tea and/or a spa break.

Reviewed by
C Mckenzie

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overall cant fault this hotel its the best yet

Reviewed by
w mcardle

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable in wonderful surroundings will definitely be back for further visits.The only upset was being woken at 6;15am by an false fire alarm .

Reviewed by
David Rogers

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel.
The view from our room was the icing on the cake, just beautiful. We only stayed one night but would have liked another. It's not cheap but for a special occasion it's worth every penny.

Reviewed by
Christine F

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next