No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Abbey House Hotel Ltd

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
118 Connaught Road , Reading, RG30 2UF
Abbey House Hotel is ideally located in Reading City, Situated just to the west of reading only 15 mins walk from the city centre. Easy Access to Rail and Road Networks,Hotel also provides Free WIFI access round the clock in all bedrooms and public areas.The licensed restaurant and bar, is open for breakfast and dinner offering evening meals.Free car parking on site.
Picture of Abbey House Hotel Ltd, Reading at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly and convenient stay
I found this privately owned city hotel to be very friendly and excellent value. Located in a quiet residential part of town, it has convenient parking at the back, and a very friendly landlord. My room was well appointed, clean and comfortable, and the wifi was good. The breakfast in the morning was excellent and served with style. Based on my recent experience, I would certainly come back again.

Reviewed by
Stefano G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great customer service
We thought the staff were very friendly providing a homely feel to the hotel and the level of cleanliness was also very good. Breakfast is good value for money. The hotel is only a short taxi ride from the station making the location ideal given room rates. The rooms are quite basic with comfy beds and a great shower! I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Liz Fernandes

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good price for a quick visit
Friendly service, good stay for the price.

Reviewed by
K George

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible
I can only comment on the room I was given, others maybe better, but this room was one of the worst I've ever stayed in, for what I paid I would expect far better, I stay in a great many hotels and this place is one of the worst, I would never go back, don't be fooled by photos or reviews it's god awful

Reviewed by
thomas m

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reliable, friendly and basic
I enjoyed my stay. the manager/ owner was very helpful and friendly and i think that made all the difference. Everything i asked for was provided quickly and without any hassle. A very friendly hotel with great service! I was upgraded to a double room which was clean and very basic. The shower room was new and to a much higher standard than the bedroom. If i am in the area again and was on a tight budget i would not hesitate to stay there again!

Reviewed by
Gary C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal
A basic, but perfectly acceptable stay. Hosts were friendly and receptive, and breakfast was cooked fresh and hot. Overall good value for money.

Reviewed by
Mark Rogers

From Ludlow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but fine except for an unlocked connecting door
When I arrived, I seemed to be the only guest as there were no cars in the carpark and everything seemed rather dark and quiet. There was a mix up in that somehow they'd thought I was coming the day before. It took a good 15 min of standing there at the desk before they sorted it out and managed to get me a room.
The room was was large, clean, warm, well enough appointed (though no hair dryer, which I could have done with) with a shower but no bath in the ensuite. The bed was a bit worn out but didn't have a big dip in it. They could have provided a few more milk sachets as I used them all up just by myself. The hotel had a sign calling itself a restaurant, but that bit seemed to be closed. There was no breakfast available.
The location was a suburban street near a pretty run down high street. The only food available on the high street seemed to be fairly low end takeaways. It was at least a short drive to the motorway.
All was going okay until just before bed when I thought I'd try to handle of the adjourning door to the room next door. I was alarmed to find there was no lock. The was no handle on the door into the other room, but I felt like a decent push would have had the guy next door into my room if he'd been so inclinded. Not ideal for a woman travelling alone! I contemplated asking to change rooms but didn't want to get dressed again and faff about so I just stacked all the furniture in the room against the door and didn't sleep very well.

Reviewed by
L W

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The new owners (who are very helpful and friendly) took over in June and are nearing the end of their rejouvanating of the hotel.
From the pictures on-line many of the rooms have been modernised very tastefully however the family room I was upgraded to (14) was on the top floor and had a very compact, caravan type modula bathroom, not what I had exected at all.
The food on offer was relatively basic but was definately enjoyable.
Comparing it with some of the other hotels in the area I'd say it was value for money.

Reviewed by
Pam H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pitstop Wedding Attendee
Great hotel, easily accessible from the train station and relatively easy to find.

Reviewed by
J Lovell

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value
Good value room and local to were i was working,owner and staff very friendly and helpfull.

Reviewed by
Ron P

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next