No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Harlow International Hostel

2Visit England Assessed Hostel Ratings explained
13 SCHOOL LANE , HARLOW, CM20 2QD
Harlow International Hostel is situated in the centre of a town park. There are charming country walks in all directions, yet all amenities are only 10 minutes walk away.The hostel is the perfect place to relax for a few days or to use as a base to explore London or Cambridge, both being only 30 minutes from Harlow. Stansted Airport is close by and we are the cheapest accommodation within 30 minutes travel time to the airport.
Picture of Harlow International Hostel, HARLOW at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I feel cheated!
I booked a double standard room to find out there is no such think in this hostel. all rooms have bunk beds (narrow ones). there was no "Tea/Coffee making facilities in each room" as advertised and no "breakfast to go" or at least I don't see coffee, tea and cereals (no milk) as breakfast.
Also, I am pretty sure the pillow cases were not washed.
Definitely cheap but I am sure I could do better for the same value.
No going back!

Reviewed by
Filipa J

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient stop-over en-route to Stansted
A relatively cheap and convenient place to stay for an early morning flight from Stansted. Room is basic, but satisfactory for a one-night stay.

Reviewed by
Christopher P

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money.
Excellent value for money. A basic room for the night in a nice and quiet part of town (felt like the countryside). Would have like to have paid extra for some milk and bread to have been available to make some breakfast but otherwise no complaints.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very basic but ok
Very basic but ok, good for airport transfer. Very nice, friendly owner.Quiet, safe area.

Reviewed by
m mazepa

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming Hostel
I was warmly received and well informed of the hostel rules as well as other details regarding the city. I was very happy with my room.

Reviewed by
C Levet

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hostel
Friendly and helpful staff in great location, near town centre and public transport, set in lovely park.

Reviewed by
pam t

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pretty good accomodation
good accomodation for what you pay for the owners both introduced themselves to me and asked if everything was OK. if i did have a complaint they would have been happy to listen to it. the room could have done with a small TV. I was told thet the price i paid was due to paying on line. yet the notice baord within the complex clearly stated the price as the same.

Reviewed by
Paul Thomson

From Bedford, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value for money
Arrived at 2am and though a bit grumpy (as would anyone be!) the landlord soon perked up and let me into my room with loads of helpful advice. Room and hotel was a bit like visiting your aunt Mabels, all a bit run down but very clean and perfectly acceptable for the brilliant price. Shower's were clean (push button which you had to keep pushing otherwise it went cold) and bed was very comfortable. Not much parking would be my only gripe. in the morning i had some free cornflakes and was on my way. Would happily bring the family next time if needed to do a cheap night or two. It's in a great quiet and pretty location too. Great find.

Reviewed by
michael wray

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

backpackers' accommodation
took me back to my backpacking days. One bathroom for ladies and one for gents. No tv..

Reviewed by
T Wilkinson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst place I have ever stayed....
When your introduced to your rooms with the phrase 'welcome to the cells', you know its going to be a rough old time.
- Room smelt musty and like my grandad's bedroom when he was in his 80s.
- Showers and toilets were cramped and not clean.
- Beds small and uncomfortable.
Cheap accommodation is great, but its not difficult to keep the place clean.

Reviewed by
S Ruston

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next