No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Goodenough Club

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
23 Mecklenburgh Square , London, WC1N 2AD
Goodenough Club provides 4* guest accommodation overlooking the beautiful Mecklenburgh Square gardens in the heart of Bloomsbury. Goodenough Club is well located for all London's airports and train stations. We are a 10 minute walk from King's Cross St. Pancras - home to the Eurostar - which provides access to mainland Europe. We are also within easy walking distance of the West End, Covent Garden, Oxford Street, the British Museum, the Royal Opera House, London’s academic and legal centres, and the City.

Continental breakfast is available in our Club Guest Lounge – or you can relax here with a complimentary coffee and newspaper here in the afternoon or evening - free wi-fi is available.

A freshly cooked breakfast - and lunchtime hot meals - are available just across the Square in the College's Great Hall and Freddies Bar.

Reduced rate passes for daily membership of Nuffield Health Fitness and Wellbeing Centre can be purchased from the Club’s reception.

You are welcome to attend a comprehensive programme of free talks, lectures and concerts at Goodenough College - a vibrant community of 650 international postgraduates from over 90 countries of the world.

Due to restrictions imposed by listed building status there is no elevator, however someone is always on hand to help with luggage.
Picture of Goodenough Club, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay in the heart of the City
A row of mews type houses converted in to rooms, very nice, clean comfortable and great location

Reviewed by
G Knight

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay, very clean
Excellent stay, very clean

Reviewed by
D Lusardi

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet but small room
The club is a short walk from Kings Cross in a quiet location. I opted for the Standard Single Room which although was quiet was very small and up 3 flights of stairs. Had I known I would have opted for a double at least. Unlike most hotels in London breakfast was included and I was tempted by the cooked breakfast in the main hall in a different building over the road. However as I had an early meeting decided to opt for the continental breakfast in the basement which had a reasonable selection.

Reviewed by
Rachel M

From Newmarket, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Possibly very good - but not our experience!
Good bed, decent sized room, quiet location overall.
But...
When you can't stand up in the shower because the roof is too low and the shower head is only up to your chest, you know something is wrong.
Being put in the 'basement' (sorry, 'Lower Ground Floor') was the first sign that this wasn't going to be the best room we could have had at the price we paid (not cheap).
Damp patches in the room - near electric sockets - could explain why the vent in the bathroom was not switched on. We put it in briefly to discover it worked, but didn't want to leave it on in case the damp walls affected it.
Missing keys for window locks meant that they could not be secured or left open.
Breakfast on the Sunday was cold - what was available - and staff were hard to find to ask for anything other than what was on display (and had been for quite a while in some cases).
Disappointed from the moment the words 'Your room is on the Lower Ground Floor' would be an understatement.

Reviewed by
Karl B

From Bromyard, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding hotel and facilities in great location
I've spent many years staying in London for business and leisure and have stayed in probably dozens of hotels claiming to be 3 or 4 star, only to be disappointed upon arrival. We booked this night last minute (and was more expensive than we were hoping to pay) however everywhere was booked up and we needed somewhere central and so we forked out £225 for one night in a "suite" as there were no double rooms left. The suite was absolutely stunning with lounge, dining, work area, all beautifully decorated and overlooking the private garden across the road. Bedroom, was fabulous with all the expectations of a higher end hotel. Breakfast was buffet style in the college across the road. The Great Hall lived up to its name, reminiscent of the Grand Hall at Hogwarts in Harry Potter. The food was delicious with a wide range of choice. Overall for the standard and size of the room and facilities, the cost was quite reasonable. The hotel is also situated in a very quiet area of Bloomsbury which is much needed in the hustle and bustle of central London to get a decent nights sleep. There are plenty of bars, restaurants and local amenities close by and it's a 15 minute walk to Euston station. I would highly recommend this hotel, it really did make the trip quite memorable in an historic square of London. I can't wait to go back.

Reviewed by
S WALMSLEY

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality stay

Reviewed by
J Cole

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very friendly and welcoming

Reviewed by
David D

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great view
Fabulous top floor room/suite with terrace (actually a bit of the roof with no furniture) overlooking an amazingly quiet street and nice park.. Lack of lift and air conditioning was an issue as it was a very hot day. Had we been on a lower floor room without the balcony and no a/c I may not have been comfortable or happy.

Reviewed by
Kevin R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonably priced but below 4 star expectation
Staff on arrival were excellent as was the look and cleanliness.
The stay was marred by a few elements unfortunately.
The toilet and sink did not drain properly, the shower was tiny, there was grout missing between a number of tiles on the bathroom floor and the sink was cracked. Whilst the first item is unlucky and the second item a symptom of London the last two didn't feel very 4 star
Also again outside the hotels control but an annoyance was the noise generated by other guests from 7:30 onwards in the morning making sleep impossible past that point.
Overall it was acceptable but not stunning

Reviewed by
Alun R

From Thame, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really nice, hotel close to London transportation
The hotel is great for location. Located close to Kings Cross/St Pancras and only a ten minute walk from London Euston. It has the use of a private garden which looked lovely but I never got chance to explore.
The hotel could do with a lift, but the reception staff did offer to carry my bag upstairs.
I wasn't overkeen on the full English breakfast, so maybe next time I would opt for the continentail instead.
Had a great nights sleep though. Definitely recommend this - I travelled alone (female, 39) and I felt safe in the hotel.

Reviewed by
S Cassidy

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next