No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
55 Henderson Street Bridge of Allan, Stirling, FK9 4HG
Spoil yourself in the NEWLY REFURBISHED Royal Hotel. For your next romantic or short leisure breaks in Central Scotland – or for extended Scottish vacations or holidays in Scotland, stay in a great Scottish Victorian hotel. The Royal Hotel is an outstanding example of Scottish baronial architecture. A warm welcome to The Royal Hotel, Stirling’s premier leisure and business hotel. Relax and unwind in a very informal hotel, a delightful and tasteful combination of modern, professional service and comfort with a true concern for both customer care and environmental standards.

Superbly centrally situated in the delightful village of Bridge of Allan, right next door to Stirling city centre and excellent shopping, and close to local railway and bus connections. Excellent secure parking, rare in corporate hotels these days.

The hotel is a popular regular venue for the business or leisure travellers looking for a refreshing change from the standardised city centre ‘accommodation factory’. Here you are a valued guest, not a number, and a welcoming atmosphere of easy friendliness will strike you as soon as you enter. Offering FREE Wi-Fi

Picture of Royal Hotel, Stirling at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

September stay at Royal Hotel, Bridge of Allan
Enjoyed our stay at Royal Hotel and would have no hesitation in booking a return visit. Only a few minor complaints - kettle and chair at desk were dusty and kettle had old water in it. Heavy curtains at window were impossible to draw properly as some of the hooks were off and curtains were hanging down at top. Not enough vegetarian choice on lunch/dinner menus. Dining room staff were excellent - could not do enough for us and were friendly and courteous throughout our stay.

Reviewed by
Mary Grace Owens

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Stay
Thank you for the stay.
The rooms do need a refurbishment as peeling paint and wwater damage was around the room but the bathroom was clean and so was the bedding and the tea making and tv were all of a good standard.
The reception staff and catering team were very friendly. Thank you

Reviewed by
Jane P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor hotel, terrible value for money
We booked this hotel as it was near a friend's house where we were attending a party. It was expensive at £160/night inc. breakfast for a family room but we figured this was due to simple demand and supply in the local area and that the hotel would be of decent enough quality.
Check-in was quick if a little unwelcoming. There was a wedding at the hotel that day so the place was busy with wedding guests so I gave allowances for this.
The room was basic but the quality of the furnishings was a severe let down. The 'double bed' was two singles pushed together (no topper) with a duvet that wasn't big enough to cover the whole bed. The two kids beds were poor; one was a sofabed and the other an ancient z-bed that all but collapsed under the 'enormous' weight of a 5 year old girl. Only one thin pillow was provided for each guest. The curtains were threadbare with light shining through.
The bathroom had low quality fittings with mis-matched taps, loose and leaking shower head and the overall feel of a cheap hostel.
Breakfast was OK but executed without any flair. Checkout was similarly perfunctory.
I'd have been disappointed if I'd paid half the price this night at The Royal Hotel cost us. Both my wife and I travel frequently on business so know what to expect from a decent hotel and based on this stay I'm sad to say that there is no way I'd recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
Gordon M

From Amersham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

royal hotel stirling
A slightly old fashioned clean comfortable hotel. Friendly and helpful staff

Reviewed by
Marie Prentis

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

xxx
xxx

Reviewed by
J Roadknight

From Kingsbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wifi was not working and generally reception staff were unorganised.

Reviewed by
Rachel W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mostly novice staff behind the bar all night, and morning receptionist was a bit rude.

Reviewed by
h young

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Can't say enough good things about this place. Very friendly and helpful staff and the room was great. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
B Miller

From Greely, Canada
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Hotel has definitely seen better years, but it's a good value for money, and the staff is helpful and friendly, although apparently overworked. Our room was located at the very end of the floor, with a view to the garden and no noise from the road (A9). There was a bathtub, but no real shower cabin (fine for us), the windows would need new paint and BBC channels did not work on the TV (but the WiFi did). Dinner and breakfast at the restaurant were OK; note that breakfast is not available before 8 am on weekends. We would stay there again for a night, but probably not for several days.

Reviewed by
Ulrich Onken

From Germany
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very plesantly suprised
I am not one for leaving feed back when visiting hotels, but i cant miss this opportunity to speak very highly of the Royal. The approach was great to the hotel with plenty of parking. On arrival the staff were super friendly and the reception area very clean and well presented. Our stay included myself, my boyfriend and my 9 year old daughter. We booked a family room for £75.00 for one night with breakfast, to be honest I was not expecting much, but i was so surprised and the quality for this price. The room was huge, very well decorated(it looked like it had recently been decorated) a big bathroom and lots of room for all three of us.
The breakfast the next day was excellent. I cant recommend this hotel enough.

Reviewed by
M Jeffery

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next