Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Coventry > Allesley Hotels > Best Western Plus Windmill Village Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Best Western Plus Windmill Village Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Birmingham Road, Allesley , Coventry, CV5 9AL
The Best Western Plus Windmill Village Hotel, Golf, Leisure & Spa is located in a picturesque part of the West Midlands countryside on the outskirts of Coventry. Situated just off the A45, the Hotel has a convenient location, within easy reach of Birmingham, Coventry, Solihull and the NEC. As such, you'll never be far from things to do and places to see!

The hotel is family managed and full of character, offering comfortable accommodation and top of the range facilities.
In the main hotel building, there are superior rooms with views over the golf course. Alongside the hotel, there are comfortable lodge-style rooms and in the original coaching inn, there are traditional wood-beamed rooms with unique period features.

The leisure facilities include the 20-metre indoor swimming pool, a whirlpool, a steam room, a sauna and a gym. There is also a luxury spa offering a number of treatments and an 18 hole golf course.

The candlelit Fairways Restaurant has spectacular views over the golf course, the lakes and the surrounding countryside and offers a luxurious fine dinning experience. The Cellar Bar in the original coaching inn offers a more casual option, with traditional bar food and real ales.

Free on-site parking is available & Free WiFi throughout the Hotel.
Picture of Best Western Plus Windmill Village Hotel, Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good sta5
Excellent

Reviewed by
michael b

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unhappy hotel user
During our stay the only person who had a smile was the lady on reception on arrival. The restaurant had not enough staff for the quantity of people staying, the service in the restaurant was very poor and we were kept waiting on both mornings for our breakfast having to ask twice how long our breakfast was going to be on the 1st morning only to be told that the fish takes a long time to cook and the chef had cooked the wrong fish (40 minutes to cook, I don't think so).

Reviewed by
C Aldridge

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great nights rest
The room was very welcoming and beautifully furnished and the bed was enormous! We experienced one of the best nights sleep ever...the bed was so comfortable. The view of the golf course was very pleasant and we will return without a doubt. The breakfast next day was hot, plentiful and tasty and set us up for the next day.

Reviewed by
John S

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastically helpful staff
Good hotel with a great pool. Beds were horribly soft, but to give them credit, they arranged firmer mattresses for all of us the following day. Breakfasts were good, and the bar meal fine.
Restaurant looked pricey.

Reviewed by
Clair N

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bitterly disappointing
The set up of this hotel is unusual in that it has rooms in separate blocks. This set up is fine as long as they allocate rooms reasonably close together for people travelling together. On check-in, my colleague and I found ourselves in different buildings a long way apart. On asking politely if we could be allocated rooms closer together (seeing as our booking had been made and paid for 7 months in advance) we were told in no uncertain terms that this would not be possible as the hotel was fully booked. Not a great start. Then we went to what were apparently "superior" rooms. If these are superior rooms I would hate too see the standard ones. Dated, dark but on the positive side spotlessly clean. The main problem with the room was the lighting. there was a small light in the hallway that gave barely any light and a further 3 lamps situated around the room of which only one worked! Having to work with my colleague in the room we had no report the faults to reception as the room was so dark was could not work. On reporting the fault the receptionist asked me if I had put the card in the slot! Having managed to keep my temper and explained that I was well versed with the workings of hotel rooms an engineer did turn up quickly who fixed both lights. So now I could see 30 cm in front of my face rather than the previous 10cm!
Beds are comfortable, good range of shampoo etc and tea coffee biscuits. Pub is definitely better than the restaurant. Breakfast is served in the restaurant - worst part of the whole stay. Not greeting properly and shown to a table. . . . not offered tea/coffee. .. buffet/ordering system for fish not explained, food not cooked very well and the final nail in the coffin. . loud banging form workmen all through our breakfast. Overall not worth the £85 per night each we paid for this hotel, we have had much better service from budget hotels at £30 per night. This hotel needs to look at the attitudes of their staff as I think they have forgotten they are in the hospitality industry. A real shame as this could be a lovely hotel - I will not be returning.

Reviewed by
A Macdonald

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Western
Room was a good size & comfortable. Room was very warm, the fan helped but could have done with air con in room. Swimming room was very nice & clean.

Reviewed by
S James

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was like a broom cupboard!
The hotel itself looked lovely as I drove up to it and even the reception, but once I opened the door to my room and realised there was no window, and even worse, no air conditioning I could have cried!
It was the worst hotel room I have ever stayed in .... ever.
Consequently the next morning I had a headache because the room was so hot and stuffy.
It was sad really because the breakfast and the hotel were really nice other than the room, but it has reflected in the fact I would not chose to stay at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Dawn C

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
One night stay as a stop over for a family holiday.
Hotel was an unexpected gem!! The accommodation was luxurious, the staff were superb, the setting was beautiful, the restaurant food was sublime and the price was extremely cheap. A++

Reviewed by
P Huckle

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When we booked our room is stated that the room had a double bed plus two singles, when we turned up it has a double with two spring fold out beds which were uncomfortable and my kid ended up sleeping on the matress on the floor.
Food qulaity was good but they wanted a £5 supplement on meals with steak.
Our room was next to were the hotel kept hotel machine/vehicles so at 6am we had vehicles being started outside our room. Not very nice.
Definately a Hotel to stay away from.

Reviewed by
Graham L

From Royston, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms are not suited for family on web site it states double bed plus 2 single beds this room is not available only with double bed and fold up beds not what I paid for. the staff and service in the restaurant was a disgrace. we were left for 15 min waiting on a pot of tea one morning and on another morning we were nearly not being allowed in because they said we had already been down for breakfast. They just ignored us and was not aware until the last day of a 5 night stay that there a menu of other food the chef would cook if required and not on display.

Reviewed by
J O'Connor

From Bray, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next