No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Manor

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
26 Hendford , Yeovil, BA20 1TG
Fully refurbished in November 2011, The Manor Hotel is located in the Somerset town of Yeovil with easy access via the A303. An Ideal base if visiting Yeovilton, Sherborne. Built in 1735 by local glover and merchant banker John Daniel, the house was known as Hendford House. After he passed away the house was rented out until 1927 when it became The Manor Hotel.

A manor it may not be, but it is certainly elegant enough to be one. Today the hotel is a firm favourite with locals and travellers alike. You will be assured of a very warm welcome and great hospitality. Yeovil is the ideal spot from which to explore Hardy's Wessex. Nearby attractions include Glastonbury Abbey, Wookey Hole, Bath, Octagon Theatre, Cheddar Gorge and the Fleet Air Arm Museum of Yeovilton. The Manor has a large Car Park.
Picture of The Manor, Yeovil at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Manor Hotel review
We had an enjoyable stay at the Manor Hotel for three nights. The staff were friendly and the hotel itself clean and welcoming. If we were being picky, there were a few minor issues - when we arrived we were allocated a room, only to find on entering the room, a pair of shorts on the bed and some cases! Hence, the room had already been allocated to someone else. The desk staff quickly rectified the problem and allocated us another room, however; this could have been very embarrassing for the people in the room! The standard of the evening meal was reasonable but nothing to write home about, and the following two evenings we ate out in the town. The first morning when we went down for breakfast, there were no rooms/tables available, and we had to wait for approx. 20 - 25 minutes to be seated, which we also felt was a little disappointing - as we wouldn't normally expect to have to wait to be seated. That said, a pleasant stay and the hotel was very well located for going into the town or the nearby woodland.

Reviewed by
Christopher Morris

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy customer
Really excellent hotel with friendly and helpful staff

Reviewed by
Lorraine D

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad
Room was clean but colour scheme dismal and unfriendly. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was adequate but could have been cooked and presented better. Didn't choose to stay again on my second visit to Yeovil.

Reviewed by
Sheila D

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable hotel close to the centre of Yeovil
This was a comfortable hotel and provided good value for money. On the whole the food was a little disappointing. The fish in my dinner meal was not very crispy and looked like it have come from a packet in the freezer. Also breakfast was of a poor standard, the cooked breakfast contained a number of things that had been overcooked.
However the complete package was acceptable and if necessary would be happy to use again.

Reviewed by
Andy G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy but nice
Everything in the hotel was nice and comfortable, it felt more of a three star than a four star though. The room was small and you could hear the rooms either side. If anyone talked, walked on the floor, had the tv on etc. this was quite frustrating. Check in was quick and easy, breakfast was delicious with a lovely choice available. The evening meal was delayed however, to the extent they cancelled the starters and then brought them out with the main course, then they refunded them which was kind.

Reviewed by
Jennifer E

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very homely, staff excellent

Reviewed by
Michael Hallam

From CHESTERFIELD, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room was very spacious -had 4 poster bed!was very comfy -value for money -very clean -huge bathroom -very quiet room and slept very well

Reviewed by
tracy critchley

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The first hotel I've stayed at where parking space becomes like god dust!
I stayed here for a week with my Dad for a course. My thoughts:
It would have been nice if it was explained straight away how to use the wi-fi service without having to go to the front desk, where the receptionist had to demonstrate on his own mobile.
Parking was a joke. Waiting up to 20 minutes for a space in the evening for more than one occasion over the week was not fun. The suggested solutions of "park in the car park over the road and move it later" and "park in the disabled space" came as a surprise.
Food was disappointing. We chose not to eat there again for the remainder of our time there.
Bedding was made up, but not changed, and neither were the cups in the bathroom. It was a bit of a lottery as to what hot drink supplies were replenished and in what quantity.
We could hear when guests in the room above were going to the toilet, before they flushed.
Shower was decent.
Room was well heated.
Staff were pleasant and tried to be as helpful as they could when asked.
I'll be checking in future to see if any hotels I'm looking at are owned or operated by Greene King. I will be avoiding those that are!

Reviewed by
W Nesbitt

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service was excellent , had a lovely meal and the room was first class, highly recommend this hotel .

Reviewed by
mike kitching

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful place and great value
For the money I paid for a single room, I couldn't believe the quality of the accomodation. Had a lovely dinner and breakfast there too. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Addlestone, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next