No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Coltsfoot Country Retreat

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Coltsfoot Lane,Datchworth , Datchworth, SG3 6SB
The hotel is situated in a stunning 40 acres of Hertfordshire countryside. All 15 suites are based in a courtyard setting and are the height of luxury. Complete with a very popular Retreat Restaurant & Log Burning fire in the Bar/Lounge serving fine foods and fine wines. The hotel is available for exclusive use hire for important corporate events, weddings, functions and product launches. Come and discover Coltsfoot Country Retreat, the hidden gem of Hertfordshire!
Picture of Coltsfoot Country Retreat, Datchworth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Coltsfoot Country Retreat
A fantastic country retreat. Beautiful room and excellent food. All staff were friendly.

Reviewed by
H Williams

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Coltsfoot Country Retreat
Room was lovely and being remote from the hotel was quiet and relaxing - a nice deep bath, comfy bed and seperate tv area with sofa.
A little difficult to find - follow your sat nav and keep going up the track until you find the place.
Food and drink is a little pricey (and limited menu if you simply want some 'pub food') however not too bad. Staff were friendly and pleasant
I'd stay again and recommend this place if you wanted to bring your partner for a special night away

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From West Pinchbeck, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Real Treat
Working away and staying in hotels most days of the week, its a really nice treat to be able to stay in an amazing place like this within budget.
Its quiet and tranquil, the food is lovely and the rooms are very substantial, you even have a patio overlooking a field to sit out on in the evening with a glass of vino to help chill out
lovely place, really nice food and excellent staff

Reviewed by
s robinson

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent choice, quiet, large rooms and excellent food and service.

Reviewed by
R Wintle

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All staff were fantastic! Domestic problems found hotel no 1 questioned me. :) Fab
See comments above. :)

Reviewed by
sharon neill

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Idyllic Hotel
Coltsfoot Country Retreat is a hidden gem, you wouldn't even stumble across this place unless you knew exactly where you were going but once you find it, it truly is a worthwhile visit.
I was travelling for work and it was refreshing to find a reasonably priced hotel that offered such a respite from the usual big chains.
My room was spacious and beautifully appointed with french doors that opened out onto a field with dozens of rabbits. It was a chore to leave in the morning and go back to work!
My only negative comment would be the food. Whilst the restaurant itself is lovely (again with stunning views) the food was a little disappointing - not quite in keeping with the rest of the hotel and the image it purveys.

Reviewed by
Christine S

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing food, location. ..
This place was amazing and we'll worth the money. I booked breakfast late and still was served - really good customer service. Events must be great here. The only problem was the extremely hot room, I couldn't work out the underfloor heating and a choice of pillows would've been nice. Otherwise perfect I'd recommend and will go back in future for longer.

Reviewed by
R Davison

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday night away
Very peaceful location. Room was full of character. Staff were very helpful and friendly.
The food was good. A very realxing stay

Reviewed by
M Williamson

From Ascot, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.